We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Indo-pakistani Curry House”
Review of Shezan

Shezan
Ranked #1,465 of 3,651 Restaurants in Brussels
Restaurant details
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Average Indo-pakistani Curry House”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Close to the EU Parliament, the Shezan is an average "Belgian" curry house - i.e. the dishes are o.k., but not really "special". Don't expect a "properly spiced" vindaloo! But - they're ok.
On the positive side: The rice is absolutely fantastic! Just order one portion of rice for two! It always came in huge portions...
Also, the service is very nice and friendly.
We go there from time to time for lunch. Worth the money ;-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“tasty food outweighs poor presentation”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

I've recently been here on a Saturday evening for dinner with a group of friends.
The restaurant offers pompadoms and tasty sauces (mango chutney & pickles) to keep you going until your meal arrives.

My partner ordered a prawn starter however when it arrived it was small shrimps and not prawns. They could improve on their plate presentation as some of the starters looked like something you'd expect from a fast food place. The taste and flavouring made up for the poor presentation. I enjoyed my meal of palak gosht (lamb with spinach) and since the food arrives on warmers the food stayed warm for a while.

Don't order coffee unless you enjoy instant.

Service was efficient and although friendly I found our waiter to be a bit bossy.
In general a clean restaurant I did notice food stains on the white tablecloth (which is a put off putting).

this place offers good value for money and I'd go back again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emily w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good food but very small quantities”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We found a groupon for this restaurant and decided to give it a try. They gave us a special groupon menu to choose from and all the dishes we chose were really good but the portions were REALLY small! My lamb dish with lentils (Dall Gosht) had a total of 3 small pieces of lamb! Now I don't know whether these are smaller portions due to our coming in with coupons, but I would never pay the menu price of 10€ per dish for such small amounts. The food was really good, but we won't return since the amounts aren't worth the price. We've had larger quantities elsewhere which are just as good. Service was good and the food came at a good, although not fast, pace.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrusselsSprouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jülich, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good , simple and Clean !”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We loved it from decor to service and food. The place looks very clean and food is simple and tasty. Try the Veg samosas :) awesome and the starters with paid and a beautiful mango chutney and pickles :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sabyadg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great food, average service, decent prices, overall good experienceand would love another visit. Loved their chicken korma, and ”
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Great food, average service, decent prices, overall good experienceand would love another visit. Loved their chicken korma, and their lamb bhouna. A taste never found in any other indian retaurant in brussels....so far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryannnnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shezan also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Shezan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing