We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice.”
Review of 2Go4 De Brouckere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
2Go4 De Brouckere
Reviewed 12 November 2009

I came to the hostel in the early afternoon. I hadn't made any reservations, but I had done my research. I was still greeted and slotted in rooms for the weekend.

I slept in the "White Room" on the first night. It's a 7-bunk mixed dorm room. Each bed has a nightlight and European electrical socket on the wall. There is no curtain for privacy in the bunks. The room has a great big window to the street and a ceiling with dark wood beams and wooden carvings. There are half-sized deep lockers where you find your duvet and pillow, and where you can store your things during your stay. The washrooms & showers for the dorm are located in the basement. Clean, white. Both are large-ish and co-ed. There are individual stalls with a tiny bench to set your things down in the showers. Is Europe so carefree that they don't believe in separate women's washrooms and showers? These showers didn't have nozzles. It was like showering under a hose. The downer for the dorm (besides 13 other roommates) is that it is accessible via the common room which closes during the day, and again after 11 p.m. To get to the White Room, you have to climb to the 2nd floor, walk across the hall, then back down to the main floor.

My last two nights, I slept in room 202. It's a 2-bunk room with its own bathroom, a fireplace mantle sans fireplace, and another big window (this time it looked out into the middle of the building, over the common room). There was very limited floor space in the room. I heard other 4-bed rooms had room for a sofa chair. No lockers in this room. Again, I heard other similar rooms had lockers. No nightlight or individual sockets. There was one reading light and there were sockets around the room (...like above the bathroom door...). The shower had a showerhead and the ability to reach as high as necessary to shower a nearly 7' tall person. There is room to turn around in the bathroom. No bathmat or floor towel. Ledges to set your toilettries down. This had to be the smallest room. But it was cozy.

The common room has sofas, tables, a kitchen and all necessary appliances. There were three computers with free-internet. The internet speed was so slow that it often timed-out. Don't bother checking your facebook account. You might get away with hotmail. There is wi-fi in the common room. If you are so rushed, there is an internet shop across the street, the shop also has phones to call home. The kitchen wasn't disgusting.

The staff speak English and French, as well as other languages that I couldn't understand. They were friendly and curteous. They could answer most of my questions or tell me where I can find more information. Cash up front for this hostel... unless your stay is over 100Euros then you can pay with your credit card. 10Euro deposit for your linens. There is also a towel rental service.

The hostel is located just North of the main tourist area. The nearest metro stop is De Brouckère, but if you're arriving at la Gare Centrale you could easily walk to the hostel. There is a huge pedestrian-only shopping street two blocks East from the hostel. The sketchiness starts a few blocks North from the hostel, across the channel. The boulevard to the hostel feels deserted. There is a bank that accepts foreign debit cards a few doors down from the hostel.

Overall a great hostel. Definitely in my top 5.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FABackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (427)
There are newer reviews for 2Go4 De Brouckere
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2009

From the start, it was a pleasure dealing with the people who ran this hostel. They were helpful with my schedule changes, my mix ups (confusing a double room with a twin), and giving me advice for Brussels. The downstairs area is very nice and has three free internet terminals, which is much appreciated.

The dorm rooms are the most comfortable I have been in at a hostel. The duvets were nice and soft, and the mattresses were fine. It can be difficult to sleep on hot nights, however, with no fans, and there is plenty of street noise.

The private rooms were spacious, airy, and very comfortable. One private room my friend and I stayed in on the top floor was a great chill out area with nice views, and our own private stairway.

My only complaint, outside of the ventilation, was that the downstairs common area closes down at 11 p.m., and without decent wi-fi, it means that going out later than thought can cost you planning time the next morning. It also means that if you are not tired at 11 p.m., and have a dorm, you either have to try to sleep or go out.

To close on a positive note, the hostel is an easy 15-minute walk from the northern Brussels train terminal, a 20-minute walk to the downtown area, and a 10-minute walk to the former dock area, which is a restaurant mecca.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gentlemanexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

I had booked 2 nights accommodation at 2GO4 but was called away unexpectedly back home to Australia to say goodbye to a dying family member. I had contacted 2GO4 to cancel this booking via email and received no response. I was then charged a night's accommodation. I have called and emailed this Hostel and received no response. Poor communication from a poor hostel. I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trave11er2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This was the first hostel we went to and set a unrealistically high standard for the rest of the trip! Pretty sociable, immaculately clean and nicely furnished. Location pretty good with all the sights within a 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas3Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

On this trip i stayed in 10 different hostels around europe and this was one of the best. The staff were very polite and helpful. As we had booked early me and my 4 friends got a dorm altogether that was ensuite, but apparently it is rare that groups are all put in the same room. the room itself was fairly large and the beds were comfortable. the ensuite bathroom was nice and cleaned thoroughly every day. the free internet and nice kitchen are big plus points for this hostel. the main downside is the location, as it is necessary to use the metro to get anywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kb1Wolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2009

We stayed there 4 nights in a private room with twin beds. The room was very small but it had everything you need and it was super clean! The only complaint I have is that it would get hot so we had to sleep with the window open and the street was very noisy... so noisy that it would wake us up!

The staff was friendly,. We had access to internet (wi-fi and computers) and the kitchen was well equiped and functionnal. The hostel was a 10 min. walk from the nord train station, 10 min. from grand place, grocery store, bank... All in all, it was a great place to stay and cheap for the quality you get.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2009

Rooms were clean and nice. House staff was super helpful and the hostel is rather centrally located. The only complaint is that the common room closed at 11PM so it was difficult to meet people or to use the computers after 11PM or during the afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NinoNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.7 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Center
MEININGER Hotel Brussels City Ce...
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jans-Molenbeek
1,908 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#70 of 198 in Brussels
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
Sleep Well Youth Hostel
#2 of 134 in Brussels
594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
Brxxl 5 City Centre Hostel
#4 of 134 in Brussels
556 reviews
2.0 mi away
Train Hostel
Train Hostel
#3 of 134 in Brussels
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 2Go4 De Brouckere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 2Go4 De Brouckere

Address: Boulevard Emile Jacqmain 99, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Brussels
Price Range: £20 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 2Go4 De Brouckere 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your 2Go4 De Brouckere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
2go4 Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing