We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Spanish food”

La Cueva de Castilla
Reserve with
La Cueva de Castilla is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #195 of 3,521 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff
Belgium
Level Contributor
154 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Decent Spanish food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

there was a time when all spanish restaurants in Belgium belonged to inmigrants. Years after they all retired and new cooking generation has showed up. La Cueva de Castilla is a good example. We had razors (similar to long clams) thta were excellent and then I choose the sword fish with a preserve sauce. Decent food at good prices and good selection of wines by the glass. The restaurant is in Scharbeek, a 19 th century neibourghood not really know but by locals, and it is worth a visit to watch the old maisons de maitre build during the Belgian Congo colonial times. Be careful: they do not open during weekends.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fran07Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    64
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“continuous great quality, value and improvements of cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I have visited this restaurant ample times since I moved to Schaarbeek since 2004, and this with friends, with family, for business and in couple, and have never been disappointed. At the time already one of the most acclaimed Spanish restaurants in Brussels, I have experienced continuous high quality and an excellent price/value ratio throughout. The owner, who is also the chef, changed the menu somewhat 2 years ago and has since then further refined the dishes and his cooking. He manages to combine a clear Spanish identity with more traditional Brussels/Belgian experience (starter - main course - dessert) as well as local ingredients, so do not standard expect to be confronted to a vintage Spanish tapas-style dining experience, although this is also possible on request. Also, my girlfriend is a vegetarian and the chef continues to surprise her (do not hesitate to mention you are vegetarian at the time of reservation - preferably a day or so before - and the chef will certainly create a special starter/main course going beyond the suggestion on the menu). On top of that, unlike many chefs and restaurants in Brussels (and we visit a lot of other restaurants), vegetarian really means vegetarian so do not expect to find unexpected animal products (fish stock etc.) in the dishes! Also, there are always 3 starter and 3 main course suggestions which change every 2 weeks or so, linked to seasonal availability of products (e.g. mushroom varieties), so one does not get bored when visiting frequently. One reality is however that is remains a small-scale operation so when the restaurant is full with visitors arriving more or less at the same time, waiting times can be a bit on the higher side... but the coziness of the place and the friendliness of the staff and chef largely compensate. At least you know that the cooking will not be compromised by time pressure... and the view of the Schaarbeek town hall facing the restaurant never bores of course. La Cueva, despite being an obvious and evident choice given the proximity to our home, continues to be a place we regularly visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_070978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We are regulars for many years already; by far the best place to eat out in this part of Schaerbeek.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
190 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Good food nice atmosphere. Lot's of time to get our dishes ready.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

I've been here only once. The restaurant it's located on the square where the commune de Schaerbeek is. The restaurant it's quite small a few tables, low light, nice atmosphere and spanish music.
As we had a sit the waiter came to take our orders. Ask for the specials of the day.
Sangria was great, wine too and the plates delicious. Everything was very well presented and tasty. Flavours were mixing together very well and it might remind you to be in a nice spanish restaurant.
Service it's great waiters are willing to meet all your request in a short amount of time. On the other side we had to wait about 1 hour to get our main meal since we finish our starter.

Reservation it's a must since the place it's quite small and there's always plenty of people. Be careful with the open hours not every day and not every weekend it's open.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Far from a true Spanish”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Small, cozy place with good ambiance and friendly service. Unfortunately though the paella is not real at the promised level nor the wine list. No manager or owner on site makes service impersonal.

Helpful?
2 Thank FoxM64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Cueva de Castilla also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Saint-Gilles, Brussels
 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Cueva de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing