We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bread, wine and atmosphere were good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saint Boniface

Saint Boniface
Ranked #437 of 3,490 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$44 - US$74
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bread, wine and atmosphere were good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Second rate food.

The cadre was cute French bistro style. Service pleasant. Prime location. Lots of atmosphere.

My starter :ecrevisse and French bean salad : uncertain freshness of crustacea and beans virtually uncooked so that they couldn't be cut.

Tête préssé main dish was TOTALLY DEVOID OF SALT. Now we eat organic food at home. This doesn't require much salt, as organic food is bred/grown differently. We are quite accustomed to eating little salt. This dish however has a weird soapy quality as a result of the total absence of said condiment. Boiled potatoes that went with were nice. The dish was floating about in quantities of butter and the served with sauce gribiche: HEAVY!

My partner took brain with sauce gribiche, it was served chilled (should be chambré) but was ok. His main was Sandre au vin blanc; it was okay, but frozen.

The vin blanc des landes was very pleasant, the bread good. Service was pleasant. The bill not dear;

We won't go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Troothyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    49
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good food and nice ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Food is a very good interpretation of mostly rustic dishes (the cassoulet is excellent), the wine list is good, and the service good but with room for improvement - hence the rating "very good" rather than "excellent"; rather too often there was no one in the room, or no one paying attention to the customers.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank GreatProphetZarquon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“French gastronomy in the heart of Brussels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

A tiny little place it is this nice restaurant. I have been going to this place for 14 years now and it never let down the reasons why I returned - good to great food with a menu taking you through the corners of great rural French cuisine. Brave plates with one of the only places in Brussels that will proudly serve you a 5A andouillete. Wine choice is there and on offer you have the best of both known and not so known French wines. The lady owner of the place is always there to serve you and guide through the choices and she is running the place with a lot of efficiency yet friendly touch. The sweet end of the meal is the best example of how a desert list should look in every restaurant that understand its importance. Prices are on the upper side but well justified for the food quality/location/ambiance. There is a small terrace on the back for those warm days in Brussels and, should you enjoy being in the crowd, there are few tables on the pedestrian walk in front of the restaurant. One should try the place for a quiet, excellent quality dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ghita_f_frica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Having a good time in Brussels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I Liked the fact that you could order a drink at an outside Cafe accommodated with a Cannabis cigarette, to be smoked in a legal, relaxed atmosphere...great!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AMY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An Excellent Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The restaurant is situated in a small square surrounded by other restaurants. It looked so appealing...The food is classic French and there are many specialities from different regions of France.

The service was excellent and the menu so extensive that it took ten minutes to decide from all the options. I shared a goose rillette with my colleague (which was excellent and served with toast, onion cnfit and cornichon). I followed with a rib eye steak and my colleague had the Basque blood sausage. Both were heavenly.... All washed down with beer and wine. Prices were very reasonable for Brussels.

Overall, would I go back.... Absolutely!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gosport_Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saint Boniface also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Ixelles, Brussels
 

Been to Saint Boniface? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing