We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the worst hotel in the world”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Basse Sambre
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Charleroi
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life and I really wished I had read the reviews before I booked. Ok, it was cheap, so I didn't expect luxury but I did expect cleanliness. When I complained, I was told, 'what do you expect this is only a 2 star hotel.' Spent most of the time wondering about Charleroi in the rain, rather than spend a minute there.

The room was filthy and had a vile smell. We had to sleep with the windows open even though it was freezing.

Went to the airport 4 hours early just to get away.

Room Tip: I would be surprised if there are any good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mskGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

I booked this hotel when going through Belgium because of its closeness to the motorways. However I usually read Trip Advisor before booking, but this time I was in a hurry and forgot...Big mistake. This hotel is trashy, smelly and possible unhealthy to stay at. The stairway and hall smelled of urine, it was stainted and generally in a bad shape. The 3-person room was small, and has a not-recognizable smell (dirt?). The window were small, and outside there was the roof of the lower floors just below the window. Someone could (not that it happended) step out on the roof and look right into our room. And sometimes that does happend, because the roof were scattede with cigaretbutts, empty cans and and other trash. Breakfast was very scarse. Just toast (top it with cheese or jam if you like), cereal and some juice and bad coffee. Would never stay there again, and will not recommend it to anyone else!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We had an early flight and we had to return car so this was the only reason we stayed in this hotel. I read reviews on the website we booked through and did not expect much to be honest. However it was much worse what described by travelers who stayed there before. Hotel is located exactly 12km away from the airport. If you have no gps you will be looking for this hotel for hours. Even with gps was not easy. If you have no car, hotel can organise a taxi for you for €15 but you have to let them know in advance. Breakfast was included in the price but because we were leaving early (4.30am) I assumed that breakfast could not be provided at that time. Also on check-in hours breakfast hours were not advised and I forgot to ask at the end. The wifi connection was very poor, we had to go to reception as signal upstairs was not sufficient to connect to any webpage. Rooms are really awful. Horrible smell on the corridors and in the room was even worse (kinda toilet smell) . We had to keep window open all night. There are non -smoking signs on the corridors but ashtrays are provided so a bit of contradiction. Carpets did not see a hover for a number of months. There was two of us in the room but only one hand towel provided so had to go to reception to ask for extra towels. Again, only small hand towels were given to me. Bathroom was dirty and shower disgusting. It was definitely not cleaned after previous guest. No hairdryer in the room so went down to reception again. Obviously they did not have it. There is no shampoo, neither shower gel. I would recommend to bring it from home. I would not stay in this hotel again even though was cheap.

The guy at reception was polite but did not speak much English so if you speak French or Dutch (Belgian Dutch) you will be fine. - Other positive things were location of the hotel and free parking outside the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannajamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

Good points:
The bed was comfortable.
The hotel wireless internet was excellent, and included in the room price (41 euro per night)
The plumbing worked well - hot water was instant just like in your home.

Bad points:
Nobody cleaned my room during my 6 night stay.
The room was very small, and previous guests had spilled drinks against the walls - nobody had ever wiped these spills off the walls. As an experiment I cleaned off one spill - it was really easy. If they took a wet cloth and soap to clean the walls they could make them clean - but they cannot be bothered.
The floor was so badly stained that I did not recognise it as carpet at first. The floor was otherwise tolerably clean - except for a 1cm wide edge next to the walls, which was white with dust.
There was a bad smell in the corridor to my room. This was probably due to lack ventilation of the bathrooms. In the morning after my first night at the hotel, I noticed people carrying caged rabbits from the hotel to their car. A colleague thought they were cats.
To avoid the bad smell, I had to sleep with the window open at night - and so was bitten by mosquitoes every night.
Traffic noise from the Charleroi ring-road woke me most mornings at 05:00.
Breakfast was spartan - coffee, orange juice, cereal, rolls, croissants, with ham, cheese, jam, or other spreads. A good place to go if you want to lose weight, as you will not want to eat much.
You have to pay in advance - I paid two days at a time. On the Wednesday I was woken by the receptionist at midnight, who wanted me to pay for Wednesday night and Thursday night.
The "bathroom" was adequate (except for ventilation). The room had a toilet, a shower and a washbasin. The hotel provides towels, tablets of soap, but not shampoo. It does not provide a hairdrier.
The fire exit on the ground floor near my room was blocked by a larger than man-size pot plant.

I left the hotel early, and booked into a nice hotel for the last night of the trip. I wish that i had changed earlier - but this was difficult, because I was depending on the organisation I was working with to provide me with transport. If someone suggests that i stay at the Basse Sambe Hotel again, I will say no.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toddy761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

My husband, in-laws and myself were visiting a friend in Charleroi who booked us into this "hotel" for one night. We arrived around midnight, quite exhausted, and found the check-in staff member quite efficient but not overly friendly. When we got to our rooms, I was horrified by the appearance, but this was nothing compared to the shock of sitting on a bed that felt like there was a dead body in it - flat and lumpy at the same time! Being exhausted, we fell asleep quite quickly, but I was awoken around 2 am by people arriving into the lobby (6 - 8 rooms away) under the influence of alcohol. I proceeded to spend the night listening to the snorer in the room next door, and scratching at whatever it was that was nipping my legs. I dozed off again around 4 am and awoke at 7 to bites all over my legs. I'm in the travel industry and have stayed in hundreds of hotel rooms around the world, but never one this disgusting! Do yourself a favour and don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Cato05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We booked this place online needing a low-priced hotel near the Charleroi airport. It's located just off the motorway which was convenient though it was a 15-minute drive to the airport - if we hadn't had a car, I don't know what we'd have done. When we drove up, my heart was literally in my stomach wondering what we had gotten ourselves into. The place itself is quite a dump. The smoking rooms were intermixed with the non-smoking rooms, so our non-smoking room might as well have been a smoking room. The rooms are as basic as can be, quite small, with no A/C - just open the window and listen to the noise from the motorway. Or close the window and listen to the sound of the people in the next room - take your pick. The bathroom is tiny and a bit scary - but we were able to shower and brush our teeth. Our flight was so early, we didn't get to check the breakfast. For the low price, it's definitely a testament to the adage "You get what you pay for" - we paid for very little and that's exactly what we got. I WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN! Oh, there is free parking right there on site - that's a plus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nathant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018
Thank travelale15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleroi
1.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
3.7 mi away
Charleroi Airport Hotel
Charleroi Airport Hotel
#1 of 10 in Charleroi
1,380 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Charleroi Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
#4 of 10 in Charleroi
452 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Aero 44
Best Western Plus Aero 44
#3 of 10 in Charleroi
266 reviews
1.4 mi away
Novotel Charleroi Centre
Novotel Charleroi Centre
#5 of 10 in Charleroi
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Basse Sambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Basse Sambre

Address: Route de la Basse Sambre | Montignies-sur-Sambre, Charleroi 6061, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range: £41 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de la Basse Sambre 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de la Basse Sambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing