We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What do you expect? It is an Ibis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,658 helpful votes
“What do you expect? It is an Ibis!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Despite the warm remarks about the town in the review from Deantuam, Charleroi by most people's standards is a bit of a dump. And it has been since I first went there in the 1970s. So if you don't plan to spend very long there, why not make do with a cheap and shabby hotel?
Climb narrow stairs with a worn carpet to a tired corridor. I got a small bedroom with neat, clean twin beds, minimal hanging space, shaky work top that partly covered the small cushioned seat. But it also had a very good free WiFi connection. The small en-suite had shower and basin - each with soap dispenser - and a toilet.
A 2-minute walk across the pedestrian bridge that spans the canal outside the hotel and you are at the tram/bus station with the railway station adjacent. There is a direct bus service to Charleroi airport (Brussels South in Ryanair-speak). I have no idea where you would park if you arrived by car. Road outside is likely to be a working site for a while yet.
Surprisingly the Ibis offered an excellent buffet breakfast. I even had a couple of soft boiled eggs to which I was able to add olive oil in the way that I like.
If it hadn't redeemed itself with breakfast, I'm afraid I would have marked this Ibis down to 2 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Normanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear sir,

I would like to thank you for the time you took to post your comment on TripAdvisor.

We agree with you that Charleroi city is in working. But, be sure that it would be very beter in a few month.
If you come to our hotel by car, we have a prive and secure car park.

At Ibis we always work in order to provide the best service and product for the best price.

We provide to all our guest an all you can eat breakfast buffet with a wide choice of products.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    181
    134
    39
    21
See reviews for
52
148
59
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Mention Charleroi to most people and they think 'RyanAir hub en route to Brussels.' And that's a pity. Because Charleroi itself, it's upper and lower town from Place Charles II right down to Quai de Flandre has lots to offer. It's an ideal destination for a weekend break in its own right. And an excellent place to stay is Ibis Centre Gare just opposite the railway station on the banks of the Sambre River.
The hotel is an Ibis ( as the name suggests ) and so you know what you're going to get. Neat, clean, warm, no-frills but comfortable and value for money:- a weekend here won't cost a mortage! In-house services are basic but adequate. There's even a bar area in reception. But it is the location that is the key to this hotel.
Littlerally around the corner is my favourite restaurant, la Bruxelloise. This is flanked by Empire Ottoman and la Gondola, two more good eateries. A few yards from these is a small Carrefour mini market and a couple of friendly bars. There is a bank with an ATM right beside the Ibis.
For those who want to move about a bit, the railways station is just across the footbridge spanning la Sambre. From here it is a short and inexpensive trip to Brussels itself or to the battlefield of Waterloo.
The sprawling Sunday Market brings me back to Charleroi again and again. Flowers, fruit & veg, nick-nacks, clothes, pets, gifts, souvenirs....the Sunday Market has everything. And when you're dopping after shopping, take a seat outside any of the several cafés in Place Charles II ( my favourite is Taverne le Tonneau ) and treat yourself to a hot choclate.
Ibis Gare is a short taxi ride from the airport. And the taxi drivers mostly speak English. but beware! A lot of these lads drive like the devil!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deantuam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for the great and positive comment you put on the website about Charleroi City.
I agree with you that Charleroi has a lot to offer.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel location.

At Ibis, we always work in order to provide the best service and the best level of quality for a good value for money.

We hope to welcome you again at your next trip to Charleroi

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

As usual with Ibis's, the hotel was very clean, staff were courteous and I could not fault it. The location is excellent for the train station or if you want to wander into town. The road in front of the hotel is presently dug up, but that make's it quieter there with no passing traffic.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Terryglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for the time you took in order to post your comment on trip.

I'm pleased to read that you were satisfied of your stay.
It's a pleasure to read that the staff was helpfull and friendly.

We hope to see you at your next trip to Charleroi.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I last stayed here a few years back, and the free wifi tipped the choice for me this time.

Like everything else, it worked fine. I had a high-ceilinged room on the first floor overlooking the Station Square (in which a little forest has been planted) across the canal, There were dusty works going on outside the front door and the usual collection of ne'er-do-wells in the neighbourhood,

The welcome was friendly and efficient. Having eaten too much at the nearby Athena Restaurant in the evening, I skipped breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for the time you took in order to post your comment on tripadvisor.

I'm pleased to read that your was satisfied from your stay in our hotel.

It's true that there are some works in the neibourhood, but it is for a better change in the very near future.
We offer free wifi to all our guests has it is very important to keep connected.

Our team works daily in order to provide our guest the best product and the best service.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I'm well surprised from Charleroi Ibis hote. The location is more then perfect when you have to take the train early in the morning. There is great view from the rooms, you can see the night view of the station (which is really nice). The service was good, although only one person was good in english. Value is quite normal.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear Sir, Madam,

I would like to thank you for your comment.

I'm happy to read that you enjoyed the location and that it was easy for you to catch your early train.
Regarding the service we always work on it in order to improve it continually.

By Ibis you find the best value for money.

Many thanks

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Friendly receptionist and good location if you want to be near the station. Room and bathroom were basic, bit old fashioned and run down even. Have to say I expected more from an Ibis hotel. I've stayed in Ibis hotels that were a lot nicer. I got a good price through booking.com though, so I wasn't too upset.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarina29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dimitrioibis, Directeur général at Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for the time you took in order to post your comment on TripAdvisor.
I'm pleased to read that the staff was friendly and helpfull.
It's true that our hotel is very good located.

Regarding the product, I would like to inform you that some refreshing are expected.
Our lobby - bar has already been refreshed and up to dated.

We hope to see you at your next trip to Charleroi.

Best regards,

Dimitrio Virone
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Charleroi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleroi
0.3 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Charleroi City Center
4.2 mi away
Charleroi Airport Hotel
Charleroi Airport Hotel
#1 of 9 in Charleroi
1,145 reviews
5.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Charleroi Aeroport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Balladins Charleroi / Airport
3.4 mi away
Hotel South
Hotel South
#2 of 9 in Charleroi
208 reviews
4.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aero 44
Best Western Plus Aero 44
#6 of 9 in Charleroi
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare

Property: Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare
Address: Quai de Flandre 12, Charleroi 6000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Charleroi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Charleroi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare , completely renovated, has modern rooms in the center of the city, just a quarter mile from Charleroi-South Train Station. It has a 24-hour bar and free Wi-Fi throughout. Brussels South Charleroi Airport is a 15-minute bus ride ( 5 euros ). Each of the rooms at the Hotel ibis Charleroi Gare are air-conditioned and come equipped with a flat-screen TV and a work desk. The rooms also have a private bathroom with a walk-in shower. The Musee des Beaux-Arts, in the heart of the historic center, is a 18-minute walk away. References to comic book culture are scattered throughout the city in the form of murals and statues. Ibis is 10 minutes from the Centre de Culture Scientifique by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Charleroi Centre Gare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Charleroi Centre Gare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing