We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to Frameries” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lido Mons Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lido Mons Centre
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mons
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Visit to Frameries”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Good hotel . Good central location location for excellent restaurants in the Grand Plaz. No restaurant for evening meals but hotel serves good breakfast. Staff friendly and helpful. Small bar and sitting area. Good Wifi connection and speeds. Rooms of a large size .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    135
    73
    12
    5
See reviews for
32
87
16
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

This hotel is fine, many of the staff a very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is fine and you can take lots of fresh fruit and yogurt if you like.

The rooms have always been clean though they get strangely warm at night even with all heaters turned off. There is a very busy street outside so opening a window isn't an option if you want to sleep.

A few rooms must have some mechanical plant below them and when your trying to sleep you can hear this, once you notice it it can be hard to forget about it.

This hotel is placed very close to the town square with only a 5 minute walk up the hill. Great access to the hotel via main roads and easy to travel away again.

I stay here on business a lot but I'd come here on my own if I was to stay in Mons!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend from the 4th to the 7th April. The location is very convenient for the main square and town centre.
Our room itself was comfortable enough and the bathroom and toilet adequate. The room however became hot and stuffy and having the window open let in lots of noise both from the surrounding streets and the building site opposite. I know fans are available from reception, but it seems to me that is not really what you should expect from a 4star hotel.
The underground car park is an adventure - entering through a narrow doorway and then down a very steep slope. Once down there is little room for manoeuvre or error - we have a Honda Civic so not a small car but not unusually large either.
However, these are not my main reasons to complain. When I booked our room in December, I specifically asked if there could be soya milk and spread available at breakfast time as my wife is not able to have dairy products of any type. This is a request we have made many times at hotels throughout Europe and the UK and have never had any problem with it being met.
At breakfast on Saturday (our first morning) no soya spread or milk were available. The lady running the breakfast room clearly didn't know anything about our request and was very apologetic. She went and fetched a man from reception who told us that it was not possible for everyone to have everything they wanted, a response worthy of Basil Fawlty!
I really don't feel that we had made a request of outrageous complexity. As I said earlier we have never encountered this reaction before. To make matters worse we subsequently discovered that the Delhaize supermarket virtually opposite the hotel had a large range of soya products. Consequently we bought soya milk and spread ourselves so that my wife could have a proper breakfast in the morning.
I can accept that there might have been a mistake or an oversight which could have been easily put right with an apology and a quick trip to the supermarket! What I cannot accept is the implication that we had made an outlandish demand that we could not have reasonably expected to be met! This is not what we expect from anybody supposedly in the hospitality industry and certainly not from a 4 star hotel. We won't be back!



Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, NL
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The hotel is located within walking distance from Grand Place in Mons. If you were before in the other Best Western hotels in Belgium, you should know what to expect - it's BW-standard although bit newer than e.g. nearby BW Casteau.
Breakfast - good, but bit boring if you need to stay longer than 3 days.
Hotel parking is very narrow and it's really a challenge not to scratch your car if you have something significantly bigger than smart.
During my stay internet connectivity was very poor, but it seem to be fault of service provider than hotel. My colleagues who stayed in the other hotels in Mons experienced similar problems.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel to stay in while on business. Very clean, comfortable rooms, near center of town, and absolutely fantastic breakfast. Free wifi, excellent staff that made these at very pleasant. I highly recommend this hotel. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank smithcd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Lido is a comfortable hotel in Mons. It is in a nice location to get to the Grand Place which is where everything is in town. Another plus is that there is garage parking which is a big bonus in crime-ridden (I have a co-worker that had a vehicle stolen and another with a vehicle broken in to) Mons. The staff is friendly. The only issue with is with the garage being to small for anything bigger than a mid-size sedan (Appox BMW 3 series).

I have stayed there many times

Room Tip: Executive rooms are on the first floor and have a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonesjackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

arrived a monday evening without booking, we had been lucky to have quite a big room. the bed was very comfy , the room very clean and the staff really really friendly. I shall come back , good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mons hotels
0.6 mi away
Dream
Dream
#1 of 8 in Mons
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congres Hotel Mons Van der Valk
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Casteau Resort Mons
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Infotel
Infotel
#6 of 8 in Mons
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Mons Centre Gare
0.5 mi away
Hotel St-James
Hotel St-James
#7 of 8 in Mons
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lido Mons Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lido Mons Centre

Property: Hotel Lido Mons Centre
Address: Rue des Arbalestriers 112, Mons 7000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Lido Mons Centre)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Mons
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Mons
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lido Mons Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Comfort in the heart of the city of Mons, 500 meters from the Grand-Place, and a few minutes awayfrom the E19 - E 42 Brussels - Paris motorways.The Best Western plus Hotel Lido Mons Centre is a place of color, space, pure lines and soft light.Particularly well situated, it allows to combine leisure and work in a modern and luxurious environment. Place your luggage and you are welcomed with a smile ! Express your desires, a warm and dynamic team is at your disposal.THE Hotel Lido is part of the Best Western Group, a guarantee of quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lido Mons Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mons
Mons Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing