We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveller rating
90
194
90
16
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
194
90
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coach trip greek restaurant degrees celsius reception personnel small bathroom the usual amenities close proximity couple of nights rooms are clean english breakfast wifi works definitely stay here again short stay an evening meal living area hotel bar free wifi
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 405 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel, comfortable rooms with everything you need including hairdryer, ironing board, iron and fridge. Flat screen tv with English channels. Very pleasant staff both on reception and in the dining room. Lovely evening meal (3 courses) and continental and/or English breakfast. Highly recommended
.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank karencStoke_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear karencStoke_on_trent

we get quiet a lot of reviews every day but when we get a score of 5/5 and such a nice feedback, you cannot image the good feeling this gives to our staff and I

Thank you !

Best Regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel was very clean and the style was very modern and up to date. The bathroom didn't have a lock on which was a bit annoying, but the bathroom was actually really big and also very clean. The beds were comfy and soft but the actual duvet was on top of the wardrobe and not in a bed sheet. I think this was because it was summer and it gets quite hot. There was also a fridge with a free water in, and there were things like body lotion, shower gel, a shower cap etc. There was also free wifi and the food was great, and so was the breakfast. Perfect for an overnight stop, but I don't think it's suited for more than a few nights.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bibianaasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear bibianaasia

thanks for your nice feedback.

Do not hesitate to visit us again when you are back in Mons !

Best Regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

In summary I can say : If you pay peanuts you get monkeys.
The hotel is quite good, maybe it can use a refreshment, but it is really ok.
But I think the staff can do better. But I really think the management don't pay enough so all the staff is a bit "simple". Or the staff can't do about it, but there are just too few people around.
At the breakfast there was only one guy and he had to do it all. No wonder that the tables were not cleaned up fast, and people had no place to sit.
And was that the reason too that the bread was baked too hard?
The chocolade spread was in a dirty bowl instead of individual portions.
At the reception, I think the guy never heard of a receipt before. At other hotels, it is standard that you get one when you leave.
So, a lot of small things that they can do better with little effort I think.

Room tip: standard room is really small
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karolien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear Miss Karolien D

thank you for your large review and especially the score of 4/5

About staff, everybody is well paid for sure. We have persons working for the hotel since more than 30 years... I do not know what happened exactly, maybe a period of great rush, but in normal circumstances, we have everywhere staff enough...

On our buffet breakfast, as you have seen, we have more than 80 products. For environmental reasons, we do not use individual portions. But we will check to keep the chocolate spread a better way !

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact directly our manager Pino Lattuca at +32 (0)65 320 400

Best Regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Best Regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed as a family (kids are 3 and 5).
Room (apartment) was spacious. A recently installed airco provided decent cooling (outside >30 degrees Celsius).
Breakfast is ok, good enough for the 2 days spent (coffee could be better though).
WiFi was unreliable however.
(For short stays,) definitely recommended.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ersof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear ersof

thank you for your nice review

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The rooms have no airconditioning and ventilators are mostly out of order. The appartments are much better
Very much understaffed, when we checked in the reception was staffed by a student who also had to take care of the bar as well
Braekfast buffet was almost empty at 09:00 AM
No elevator, so disabled people have to use stairs
Disabled parking spots were taken by trucks of Qucik Step (see photos)

Room tip: Don't stay there, Plenty alternatives in Mons. Target audience is visitors to NATO, nearby
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ytb0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DDeWeerdt, Propriétaire at Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear ytb0805

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

We have indeed only 50% of our rooms with aircon but it will be 100% for next summer

We are also renovating our bathrooms and refreshing a lot of other things, although I presume we have a very good value-for-money !

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
If we can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact directly our manager Pino Lattuca at +32 (0)65 320 400

Best Regards,

Didier De Weerdt
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews