We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place serving huge portions”
Review of TAFEL 13 - CLOSED

TAFEL 13
Price range: US$28 - US$36
Cuisines: Grill
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Decent place serving huge portions”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is a nice place in the centre of Hasselt with friendly service. The food is perfectly fine, although not a good place for the health conscious or vegetarians. As mentioned in the title, the portions are massive. As a customer one can hardly complain about too big portions, after all they don't force you to eat it all, but it was over the top.
My main gripe about this place was the light! I had a really bright spot-light directed a my place all evening, and it is actually uncomfortable to sit in such bright light for a long time, plus it isn't particularly cosy. Maybe we just got an unlucky table, because I noticed that the bar and even the toilets had much better lighting.
Giving an overall rating of this restaurant, I was debating whether to give it average or very good, but decided on average because the price was rather high for the quality of what we had and the restaurant in general.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indiaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belsele
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very very good.”
Reviewed 14 August 2012

nothing to dislike. all good from drinks, apetizers to maindishes !
staff is very friendly and we can recommend going there.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Yirra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
399 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Excellent food but massive portions.”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Ate here one night whilst on a business trip to Hasselt. I had a spagetti Carbonara and my colleague had ribs. Both plates were groaning under the weight of the food, which was excellent. Good service from a chatty waiter and nice decor. Will eat here again, but might skip lunch before.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark&Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mechelen
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“perfect place for lunch when shopping with heated terrace”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

My girlfriend and I had lunch at brasserie "tafel 13". don't expect fine dining here, it is a brasserie, but for us it was one of the best ones in its class. Good selection of brasserie dishes (omelettes, croques, pasta's, salads, ...). we had croques wich were very nice (lot's of cheese! jummie!) but all the plates we saw passing by seemed equally lovely. Service was swift and friendly. We were able to sit outside thanks to the heated terrace.
In short a nice place for a lunch. Very good in its class. We'll go again if we need lunch in Hasselt.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve-o-bevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Excellent food. But plates are way to full.”
Reviewed 23 November 2009

Excellent food. But plates are way to full.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed TAFEL 13 also viewed

Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 
Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 
Hasselt, Limburg Province
Hasselt, Limburg Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing