We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hasselt
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hasselt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

First time we have stayed in the Holiday Inn Express, the previous visit being at the Holiday Inn itself. Both are in the inner circle of the city and very convenient for accessing the town centre. Handy having an underground car park beside the Holiday Inn.
The Holiday Inn Express was having renovations done which made it a bit awkward at the Reception area and the strong smell of paint, but the bedrooms were unaffected.
We had a Family room, but have to say the room seemed small, the double bed was just that, a standard 4'6" bed, not the large King Size we've had in other Holiday Inns. The second double was a sofa bed, so even narrower, but would be fine for two young kids.
Because of the renovation work, our breakfast was in the Holiday Inn itself and that was the usual generous range of items and always well stocked.
Despite the work going on at the Holiday Inn Express, have to say the staff were exceptionally helpful and felt they were having to work in not the easiest of conditions. The gentleman who checked us in was very efficient and gave us helpful advice about the city. Clearly knew his stuff. and even in the evening, when we had a question, went out of his way to help.

Room Tip: Check what size of bed you are being offered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stanley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
All comments positive and negative are very helpful to us. They help us to improve our service there where necessary.
Sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the renovation works but you will be surprised how nice it looks now!
Thanks again for your input and mentioning that this is a very nice hote with friendly helpful staff.

Best regards
Filip Caluwaert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 225 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

SImple efficient and friendly hotel in Hasselt. They are currently renovate public areas, so I think that they will provide better service in the future. I strongly reccoment Holiday Inn Express in Hasselt.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Guest
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
Sorry for the inconvenience you experienced due to the renovation works but you will be surprised how nice it looks now!
Thanks again for your input and mentioning that this is a very nice hotel.

Best regards
Filip Caluwaert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I have stayed at this place quite a few times mostly on my work related trip. This is a nice place to stay close to the railway station. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The place is not noisy and there breakfast selection is also quite good. The bar is also well stocked and reasonable.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freakywindow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Guest
First of all thank you for your loyalty towards our hotel. It is nice to read that guests like to stay with us.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and in this way inform us that you enjoyed the service given by the hotel. Thank you as well for letting us know that you enjoyed breakfast.
We surely hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Hasselt.
.
Best regards
Filip Caluwaert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I stayed here with my wife and youngborn son (4 months) in May.

We requested a baby bed and a quiter location in the hotel. This was no problem. Room was spacious and clean.

Breakfast was ok, there was enough choice, only the juice could be better (fresher).

Location is good, nearby the city center of Hasselt with enough of free parking closeby.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom_Ottantatre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Dear Guests
thank you for taking the time to write a report on your stay with us.
It is always nice to read that our guests were satisfied with the service this hotel provides, the friendliness of our staff, location and the accomodation in particular.
Your comment will surely inspire other guests to select our hotel when looking for a hotel in Hasselt. Thanks for that!!!
We are already looking forward to welcoming you again on a next trip to Hasselt.
Kind regards.
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed one night during the weekend because we had a prom night near Hasselt.
Positive:
- Location
- Clean rooms
- Good beds (as usual with HIX)

Neutral:
- Breakfast (good variety, but nothing hot)

Negative:
- Parking closes at night (so you can't drive in or out between 1 am and 6 am) and is almost a 10 min walk from the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AaronD2303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
It is always very useful when guests write a detailed comment how they experienced all aspects in the hotel. All comments, positive as negative are very useful to us as they help us making our service beter when needed.
In every Express hotel the breakfast is complimentary. Hot items are not in the standards of a Holiday Inn Express hotel therefor that we only service cold dishes.
The parking under the Holiday Inn hotel, 150 meters from the Express hotel is indeed closed as of 1 a.m. due to security reasons. However you can always leave the parking with your car.
Tip for next time: when you want to enter the parking with your car after 1 a.m. please contact the night receptionist in Holiday Inn Hasselt, he can open the gate for you.
We surely hope this information will be useful to you on your next visit to Hasselt and hopefully in one of our hotels.
Petra Vandebriel, Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

For our Easter weekend road trip, this was the first hotel we stayed at after a day at Efteling, which is less than 2 hour drive away.

It was by far the best hotel of the 2 stars we stayed at. Excellent breakfast - FREE!! decent wifi. Good room with sofabed for the kids (3 and 6 yr old).

Excellent customer service, decent location and street parking was available for free. I only wish there were Holiday Inn Expresses in every city we stayed.

Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Guests
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on your stay with us. It is always nice to read that guests liked our hotel, the service the staff provided, the free wifi and breakfast.
It will surely inspire other guests to visit this cosy town and choose our hotel when coming back..
Thanks once again and hopefully till your next visit to Hasselt.
Filip Caluwaert
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

HI-Express goes to Belgium. Really a typical Holiday Inn Express experience minus the cinnamon rolls. Good service. Large and clean rooms. Close to the older-city of Hasselt. Parking is convenient and beneath the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoTraveler08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIHASSELT, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hasselt, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Guest
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.
It is always very interesting to read what guests like and dislike in the hotel..
All points positive and negative are of great value to us.
The point that you experienced as less will surely help us to improve our service there where needed. Thanks again for your input.

Best regards
Filip Caluwaert
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hasselt hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hasselt
Holiday Inn Hasselt
#3 of 11 in Hasselt
445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt
0.0 mi away
YUP Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn By Radisson Hasselt
0.4 mi away
Hassotel
Hassotel
#4 of 11 in Hasselt
177 reviews
3.6 mi away
Vous Le Vous
Vous Le Vous
#2 of 11 in Hasselt
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hasselt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hasselt

Address: Thonissenlaan 37, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Hasselt
Price Range: £69 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hasselt 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you are just on the move Holiday Inn Express Hasselt is just what you need !The hotel is ideally located in the city centre of Hasselt, on the Green Boulevard, within walking distance to key tourist attractions: the Fashion and Gin museum, The Versuz disco, the Flanders Nippon Golf course, the marina, the Bokrijk open-air museum and the Japanese garden.The playground Plopsa Indoor, the Ethias arena and the Grenslandhallen are situated at only 1km from the hotel. The hotel counts 89 comfortable bedrooms, equipped with work area and Free WiFi, voice mail and an flat screen TV. All rooms have en-suite bathroom with toilet, power-shower and hairdryer.The entire hotel is air-conditioned. Every morning in the Great Room of the hotel a free breakfast is served. This Great Room is linked with the bar where you will find a large screen television and a reading corner with national newspapers and magazines. At the reception you can buy all kinds of tasty snacks at democratic prices.Holiday Inn Express Hasselt offers as well professional meeting facilities for up to 40 delegates. Welcom! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hasselt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hasselt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing