We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal service?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hassotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hassotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hasselt
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Personal service?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

I emailed the hotel in advance to ask about a wired internet connection to log onto an external work server. I also asked about connecting my DVD player to the room TV. A lady from the hotel replied to say that this ought to be possible with my own cables. When I arrived, it appeared as though my required connections weren't possible. I didn't need to protest. The guy at check-in, Mick, upgraded me to a deluxe room. This had a panel on the wall in which one can plug in a PC, DVD, USB etc to the TV. And he called in an external technician who sorted out a wired LAN connection from my room within 24 hours! I could not have asked for more from him. Mick also checked in on a subsequent day to ensure all was in order. That episode, and Mick's genuineness, was enough to win my goodwill. I found the other reception staff also to be very friendly, and three smiling ladies from the housekeeping team would come to clean my room. Everything was always left sparkling clean. So for me the biggest selling point of this hotel is personal service and cleanliness. Next comes the food and location. Hasselt is a small town, so the latter probably isn't a unique feature. As regards food, a lot of locals come to the restaurant to eat. Ask for the local menu, as the English version only has the a la carte stuff on it, and you may get fed up of that after a while. Besides, the fixed price menu is worth trying at least once! As for decor, I understand that most of the hotel is renovated, but there are still some rooms not done. If you get a renovated deluxe room like mine, you'll have a good bed and clean bathroom with sufficient toiletries, flat screen TV, coffee machine, umbrella, a little fridge, bottle of water etc. I also had a little goldfish in a bowl, but I was convinced that it was out to attack me. It seemed very agitated and would knock against the bowl whenever I came into the room. Poor thing - I'd probably be terrified cooped up like that with strangers coming near me, especially ones that look like me. So I asked for it to be removed. Another thing that might bug some people is that the four pillows all seemed the same, extra soft. I guess that's better than all being hard, but I carry my own orthopaedic pillow so it didn't bother me. And maybe because I got the upgrade, my room was on the first floor where the hotel office is, as opposed to a higher floor. But I didn't care one bit, as the cleanliness and my ability to work was much more important. I did not try the gym, but I am told that guests can visit the nearby professional gym. So no dingy exercise room but a proper gym! All said and done, if you are one for chains as opposed to little establishments, then this one isn't for you.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms! Those overlooking the restaurant on the main road are noisier if you keep your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike11in13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    65
    18
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
72
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed here for one night in a standard room following a conference.
The room was old and worn and in need of some refurbishment (the photos of the more modern looking rooms must be the delux rooms/suites). The bathroom was also completely outdated and the toilet didn't flush well.
The room was very warm, but faced a noisy road, so opening windows wasn't an option. In addition to this the air conditioning was extremely noisy.
The mattrasses could also use an update - you could feel the springs. Tv was still a small old 'boxy' model.

On the positive side:
Location was very central.
The conference room facilities were good.

Room Tip: don't book a standard room - go for the delux or a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roeselare, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed one night in this fashionable design hotel, perfect located in the heart of this vibrating city. After the very friendly and professional check-in, we enjoyed some food & drinks served on their cosy and heated lounge terrace. The Delux-room was very bright, contemporary and with an eye for design and details. We even got our own fish, which we called 'Wanda' :-)
We met with our friends at the "Etage", a high end exclusive rooftop terrace, serving Champagne, Champagne and....Champagne. Sun, good music, nice people,... we felt like real jetsetters :-)
After a good night sleep (very good bed/pillows!!) we enjoyed a well balanced and extensive Breakfast Buffet.
There's no private car park, but there's a large underground car park just behind the hotel, so no problem there to mention. A pitty that the hotel hasn't got any wellness facilities.
Overall, we are definitely coming back as we love the city, its people and this hotel!!
Thanks,
Cédric & Phyllis

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cedric_Phyllis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, Holland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This one is very bad:

The bed's are very old.
You smell the kitchen thougout the hotel.
The normal rooms look like there from the 70's, with a old TV.
This hotel in the past a member of the best western chain but there is almost nothing "best" at all. Also it's veryvery noisy and the people are not that friendly.
To avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasperw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

We made a reservation for the penthouse for my birthday. The penthouse is beautiful decorated, very stylish and with a balcony overviewing the city. Great bathroom with a rainforest shower and television at the end of the bubblebath. Because of the glass door there was no privacy on the toilet. No hairdryer needed, there is one available in the bathroom and it's a very professional one. The bed, no complaints. A ceiling with stars makes your dreams even better! television at the end of the bed. Lots of space to put your belongings and a safe. Small living area with again a televison, mini bar - drinks were free. But in a penthouse you expect a bit more than two soft drinks.
The elevator has its own life and brings you to the level where HE wants!!!!!The doors also have their own will. I told the receptionist, and she answered the problem was going to be solved the next following day but now I see the other reviews and the lift isn't working as it should since end 2012!!!
The guest lady isn't very friendly, she had a lot of work and telephones to answer and she gave the impression stress was overwhelming her.
The breakfast isn't WOW! The usual stuff, the fruit wasn't very fresh and the way to the buffet, along th WC's , needs refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boneyardbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
124 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

This is a smallish boutique style hotel. Very welcoming staff. Our room was a good size but as with a lot of hotels a small single wardrobe which was half taken up with bedside type cabinet in so even less room to hand coats and longer items. Having said that we enjoyed our stay. The breakfasts were good and the restaurant very nice. You can also sit outside in a heated area which was a first for us in December. Although we did not eat there in the evenings lots of others did and the restauranr seemed full both nights we were there. Very handy for the centre of town. We were there in Dec and the plate tree was in the square. We thought it was really good especially lit up at night. Would return but in the summer with fewer clothes!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
397 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 430 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2012

It's part of the Best Western chain and there's nothing wrong with that but we didn't notice anything 'boutique' about it!
Our room was a typical 'voucher' room which makes us think it's maybe better to spend a little more to get better value. But you can't just throw away a voucher can you?
The room was clean and compact but very warm although freezing outside. We couldn't regulate the temperature so we had the window open all day and night. We specifically requested a quiet room but even with the window closed there was quite some noise from the ring road which might be 'green' but still is a ring road! The bathroom on the other hand was from a different era, dirty stains, flaking paint, cracked washing basin. Maybe it's waiting to be renovated or maybe this is a room they keep for 'voucher' travelers or night staff?
We had a snack in the restaurant and my wife's chicken sandwich was ok but I got deep fried frozen 'chippie' snacks for the price of a homemade decent meal. I wonder how a chef can get professional pride from serving this? Positive : nice breakfast buffet although not supplemented frequently, very nice man at reception desk,comfy beds and decent location near the small city center if you don't mind the ring road. Would we stay there again maybe but not with a voucher...

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markhebbelinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hasselt hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Hasselt
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Hasselt
Holiday Inn Hasselt
#5 of 10 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hasselt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YUP Hotel - Different Hotels
3.2 mi away
Vous Le Vous
Vous Le Vous
#2 of 10 in Hasselt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Century
The Century
#7 of 10 in Hasselt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hassotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hassotel

Property: Hassotel
Address: Sint-Jozefsstraat 2-10, Hasselt 3500, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Hasselt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Hasselt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hassotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HASSOTEL .. Loves to welcome you.. .. ... Its central location on the Green Boulevard keeps you in touch with city life and gives you that feeling of coming back home after an exciting visit to Hasselt. Unique to its surroundings, HASSOTEL is becoming the trendiest hotel in Hasselt. A balanced mix of 'trends' and 'feelings' are the perfect ingredients for a comfortable stay and a culinary experience. Unique are the Penthouses with a View on the skyline of Hasselt.. You can have a drink on your own private terrace with gasfire. The attention to detail with a personal touch gives our rooms just the right feeling of harmony. Try also our excellent cuisine. Head chef Frank Treunen and his team combine pure flavours into culinary sensations. Between the heated terrace and penthouses with a view, 'You' - our customer - become the centre of our world. The hotel with its very new apero- terrace ETAGE, the eventroom C.ROOM, the MEETING 1 ,it's marvelous restaurant en the luxurious rooms are a combination of a unique concept with an innovative character. This makes the place into a perfect location to enjoy your citytrip, businessmeeting, seminar, drink or dinner. Like its partners, THE CENTURY & C.BAR, HASSOTEL provides you with warm hospitality, symbolizing what Limburg is really all about. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HRS so you can book your Hassotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hasselt
Hasselt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing