We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good looks, lacks soul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tongeren
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at Eburon hotel for 1 night on a weekend (to visit the antique market on Sunday morning).
++
Friendly reception desk.
Spacious hotel and rooms.
Very good bed
Great location, right in center of town with public parking almost below the hotel

--
Design color pattern hurts the eyes...
Design/decoration of rooms is not of great quality, mainly focuses on "looks" (e.g. cheap washing table); too much "wannabe design"
Cleanness of rooms was an issue : our carpet felt sticky...
Overall, hotel lacks soul (e.g. breakfast area very impersonal)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fvdp02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2012

Thank you for placing a review on Trip Advisor following your stay in Hotel Eburon.

We were pleased to read you had a nice stay in our hotel, appreciated our staff and enjoyed the location of our hotel.

We sincerely appreciate your opinion and we will take your input into consideration while providing products and services in the future as it is our mission to improve the experience we offer our guests.

With Different regards
The Different-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Very nice Hotel, with freindly and helpfull staff. The rooms are modern and 100% clean every day.
The only minus is that they do not have a fitness center or a restaurent. When you stay there for a long periode, it is nice to be at a hotel, where it possible to do some sort of activity.

Despite that I can only recommend this place.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlsa85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to place a review on TripAdvisor following your stay in Hotel Eburon.

We were delighted to read you enjoyed your stay. However we would like to inform you about restaurant Tinto, next to Hotel Eburon. You can have an excellent dinner over there.

We were very pleased to have you as our guest and hope you will visit us again soon.

With 'Different' regards
The Different-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Came for the flea market and expeted a great hotel for what they charge. Place is overprice and tries to be ultra modern - fails in every way. Room was poory decorated and toilet would not stop running. view of a roof-top only and they charged 16 euro for a breakfast! There was trash around the hotel and I took the stairs and found nothing but trash and the smell of urine. took me 15min in line to ckeck out - the girl was by herself and did her best. ther is no place to park.

Room Tip: be carful where you park -some lots will tow if your car is in the way sunday morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

The whole team and I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Hotel Eburon is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality service and facilities. We deeply regret we fell short of our goal during your stay.

All of our guests’ comments are important to the success of Hotel Eburon, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have passed on your comments to the whole team.

Despite your displeasure, I hope you will still allow us to serve you in the future as we would like to take the opportunity to provide you the level of service you expect and truly deserve from Hotel Eburon.

With 'Different' regards
The Different-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during the Spa F1 race in August 2012 - a perfect location, 45 minutes from the circuit. We loved this hotel and the room - five-star quality for a two-star price. Thinking really hard, the only thing we could think to complain of was the orange juice during breakfast - compared to the smoked salmon and Parma ham, the concentrated juice was a letdown. But this only goes to show how great this hotel really is. Tongeren is also worth a visit; lots of medieval streets and historical buildings. Would definitely stay here again if we had a chance.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndoTrader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you for your recent review of the Eburon hotel Tongeren.

It was great reading your lengthy review of the hotel and we really appreciate the time and effort you put into sharing your experience with everyone. We value all reviews and it was great to see that you loved our hotel.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Tongeren.

With Different regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

All of the reviews both good and bad are accurate here. We stayed the weekend of 4-5 August. Reservations were a breeze, check in very efficient. The room was exactly as official photos represented. There were some finishing issues such as sloppy plastering in corners. The bathtub and shower certainly are a hallmark of the room and very nice. Mattresses were comfortable and air conditioning worked very well. Breakfast on the third floor included eggs, self serve crepe maker, meats and cheeses and other reasonable accoutrements for a basic meal. Parking is an adjacent parking garage and only 10 Euro/day.

My wife and I were not put off by the stark interiors....very modern and a nicely executed environment. We will come back. Yes Tongeren is not a high activity town but there were a nice selection of eating establishments in the central area of the town. Its a pleasant stop off the beaten trail.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrmdispatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your review!

The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were very pleased to have you as our guest and hope you will visit us again soon.

With different regards
The Different-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is an old hospital converted to a hotel. Very modern design. The rooms are meant for couples. The bath tub sits in the middle of the room, and the clear glass on one side of the shower make privacy tough for families. We are a family of 5 and we made it work. High ceilings and long wide hallways give the hotel a grand if a little creepy feeling. Skip the overpriced breakfast. Overall, a very good deal in the heart of this ancient city. The town itself is very interesting, lots of history, shops and restaraunts - all in easy walking distance to the hotel. Only a short drive to the Netherlands and the historic city of Maastricht.

Room Tip: Some rooms are larger than others at the same price..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunHostResorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for your review and the nice pictures. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel conveniently located and comfortable for your stay.

Thank you again for the review, we hope to welcome you back again soon.

With different regards
The Different-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

At check in we were upgraded to a select room. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Room was very large and looked trendy but was missing an iPod docking station. The A/C was not working so we had to open the Velux window to get some cooling. When we flushed the toilet we noticed that it used hot water? I don't know if that's normal... The room also needs some small repairs.
Breakfast room is very noisy and because of that we could not really enjoy our breakfast. Choice and quality of the food was OK.
Hotel will do for a short stay to visit Tongeren and its surroundings but is a bit pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank belgiantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Different H, Guest Relations Manager at Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your stay in our hotel. We will try to solve the issues you mentioned over a short period of time. It is our mission to improve the stay of our guests on a daily basis.

With different regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tongeren
0.2 mi away
Huys van Steyns
Huys van Steyns
#1 of 5 in Tongeren
236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Caelus VII
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambiotel
Hotel Ambiotel
#4 of 5 in Tongeren
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Eurotel Lanaken - Different Hotels
12.0 mi away
YUP Hotel - Different Hotels
12.8 mi away
Carbon Hotel - Different Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels

Address: de Schiervelstraat 10, Tongeren 3700, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Limburg Province > Tongeren
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tongeren
Price Range: £96 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eburon Hotel: Originally the Sint-Jacob's guesthouse, this building was established in the second half of the 12th Century as an inn for pilgrims on the road to Santiago de Compostella. Today, this monumental convent has been fully renovated and forms an integral part of the lively city centre of Tongeren: the oldest city in Belgium. Sleep: The 52 Eburon guest-rooms are original and stylish, decorated in fresh colours and using quality materials worthy of this impressive setting. Each room has a minibar, free wireless access, flatscreen tv, safe, BOSE iPod docks and a spacious rain shower unit and/or bath. Breakfast: The extensive breakfast buffet is served in our charming breakfast room under the original wooden beams. Meetings: Eburon has three multifunctional meeting rooms since 2012. Meetings can be organised à la carte with a choice of different themes: energy- healthy - tasty. The Eburon meeting rooms are fully equipped with beamer, audio equipment, airco, flipchart and wireless internet. Infirmerie: Eburon cooperates with the Infirmerie, located at walking distance from the hotel. You can enjoy lunch or dinner and relax on the cosy terrace. Bart Nicolaers and his dynamic team are pleased to welcome you in one of the finest buildings of Tongeren. Tongeren: The oldest city in Belgium has something for everyone. Travel back in time with a visit to the remodeled Gallo- Roman Museum where prehistory and the world of the Romans and Gauls comes to life. The largest antique and flea market in the Benelux takes place every Sunday morning in Tongeren. The new Julianus shopping centre offers a shopaholics paradise and the multicultural city of Liège is only a stone's throw away. Practical Information: You can park your car in the nearby public car park "Julianus Parking". Price: €13,40 per 24h. For more information, route description and to make a reservation go to eburonhotel.be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Eburon Hotel - Different Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing