We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Poas Volcano Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Tilajari Hotel Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas Ocotal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$81
bedfinder
View Deal
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconias Nature Lodge(Arenal Volcano National Park)
US$119
US$116
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Lavas del Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$227
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Jardines Arenal(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Las Cabanitas Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveller rating
293
124
26
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
124
26
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscosta ricadairy farmpoas volcanosan josela paz waterfall gardensmain buildingeggsa hot water bottledining roomother guestshiking trailsbreakfast and dinnerbreakfast was includedstrawberriesgames roomboth nightsreading room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
142 - 147 of 458 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The grounds and the areas outside of the rooms are spectacular. They have a library and lounging areas with fire places. It is very cozy.

However, there is not much offered by the lodge and you definitely need your own car. We did however meet 2 very nice young men who worked for the lodge. One of the young men was our guide and suggested places for us to go and was very helpful and thoughtful. We stayed for 5 days which was way too long for that area. There was nothing to do for that many days. The lodge is however trying to find more activities to make available for the guests.

Our room was large but had only one chair to sit in, no chairs on the balcony, and no where to put your clothes. The shelving for clothes was in the bathroom and you could see the moldy areas on the hangers from the moisture.

Breakfast was included, however dinner came to a whopping price of $30 per person. Children also had to pay this price.

We had to ask for wash clothes everyday and the floor did not look like it had been mopped our entire stay. A spoon that my husband had used stayed on the bathroom sink for at least 3 days.

Room Tip: look for a better value unless you have money to burn
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sndgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelcannon, Owner at Poas Volcano Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Your comments are very useful to us and all your observations have been thoroughly investigated - as you can see from our Tripadvisor reviews, most of our guests are delighted with our quality, service and attention to detail.

I'm sorry that you felt there was not much offered by the Lodge, we do have a list on our website and in the guest information books in each room which outlines over 20 different activities and attractions within an hour's drive of the Lodge. I understand that you were offered a variety of tours and places to visit by our staff and indeed you were happy to be chauffeured by our guide Will, to 3 of those places in the 5 days you were here. Many of our guests enjoy the tranquility, natural beauty and pace of life in this rural area and are very happy that we are not overbearing in trying to 'sell' tours and services, rather that we accommodate the needs and interests of our guests, but I'm sorry if we did not match your expectations.

As regards to your room, we have noted your comments and are currently making the necessary amendments - thank you for your constructive observations. I have asked housekeeping about the spoon left in the bathroom - they certainly saw it and judged that you might still be using it, so did not want to remove it in case you needed it. They were concerned with your comments about the cleanliness of the floor and it would be very out of keeping that the rooms were not impeccably clean - that is one of the things we particularly pride ourselves on and which we are highly rated on. However, we have passed your comments onto them for future reference.

We are currently reviewing the structure of our menu so that our guests can have a greater choice of both offer and price. Our price per head is $30 for a 3 course meal including 23% taxes which we are obligated to charge - that means that you are actually being charged approximately $25. I think if we were to break this down, this would mean that a main course would actually cost between $10-$15 which I don't think is out of line with other hotels of similar standards and it is always possible for our guests to choose some or all of the courses. We manage a very small and changeable menu so that we can provide our guests with the very best of fresh local and seasonal products. It is not correct that children have to pay $30 for dinner too - the most we charge for children who are likely to have no more than 2 courses is $12.

On behalf of all of us here at Poas Volcano Lodge, thank you again for reviewing us and we hope that you will come and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The high altitude and cooler weather were quite a change from the Manuel Antonio area. The grounds are beautiful, with gardens that attract all kinds of birds and a fun hiking trail that takes you into the farmland surrounding the lodge, with striking views of Poas. Our room was wonderfully cozy, and the lodge was a great place to hang out in the evening with fireplaces and wood stoves. Breakfasts were large and delicious, with a lot of home-made items from the nearby farm (run by the Lodge owners as well). The food was more European than Costa Rican, but excellent. Beware of driving in the area at night, as the clouds do roll in and it is really hard to see your way on the hilly mountain roads.

Room Tip: We loved room 9 in the garden area. And we had wifi in our room -- bonus!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Excellent location. We stayed there our first night after arriving in San Jose in late afternoon. A bit tricky to find because the highway signs are non-existent, but once there, a delightful place to stay and convenient to the volcano.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stefdoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We have just spent three nights at the Poas Volcano Lodge. Our spacious room overlooked the volcano (when it wasn't shrouded in fog!). We were thankful for the many extra blankets provided because it got very cool at night - quite a shock when you consider the lodge is 10' above the equator! The turn down service included a hot water bottle - a nice touch. The owner and staff were all very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast was very good and the optional dinner was good. Guests are welcome to use the sitting rooms and games room (that includes a pool table, chess, backgammon etc.). We hiked the trails on the property. Very rugged and challenging - great exercise and a fun way to see the countryside! The lodge is only about a 20 minute drive to the Poas Volcano. You should arrive there as close to the 8am park opening as possible. I would recommend visitors go to the La Paz Waterfall Gardens and the Doka Coffee Estate as well. We booked three nights at the lodge - two would have been better in terms of finding things to do. Bring pants and a sweater for the evening. After five days in the Manuel Antonio area with hot and sunny weather, we were shocked at the climate change.

Room Tip: We were in Room 3 which overlooked the volcano. It had a king size bed plus a twin bed.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dmwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Great food, beautiful surroundings, however not much to do. Only stay here if you need a sleeping base for going to Poas Volcano and other day trips, and do NOT stay in the cheapest rooms, the garden rooms. Sooo expensive for sleeping in what looks like they used to be the horse stables! If you need a nice but more reasonably priced room, stay at one of the 4 cabins at Chubascos Restaurant in Fraijanes, between Alajuela and Poas Volcano. For half the price of Poas Volcano, you get a nicely decorated room, AND a tv with free cable and breakfast at Chubascos.

Room Tip: Stay in the most expensive rooms, those have a direct view of the volcano and northern plains.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeronicaH928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michaelcannon, Owner at Poas Volcano Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Great food, beautiful surroundings, however not much to do. Only stay here if you need a sleeping base for going to Poas Volcano and other day trips, and do NOT stay in the cheapest rooms, the garden rooms. Sooo expensive for sleeping in what looks like they used to be the horse stables! If you need a nice but more reasonably priced room, stay at one of the 4 cabins at Chubascos Restaurant in Fraijanes, between Alajuela and Poas Volcano. For half the price of Poas Volcano, you get a nicely decorated room, AND a tv with free cable and breakfast at Chubascos.

Room Tip: Stay in the most expensive rooms, those have a direct view of the volcano and northern plains.

We are delighted you enjoyed our restaurant and the lodge. I'm sorry you felt there was not enough to do - the Lodge used to be our family home and as such we carry on that ambience of home from home rather than a more commercial venue which offers products and services to increase revenue. Most of our guests enjoy going out for part of the day if not all, so traditionally we have always provided a warm and welcoming venue to come back to after a busy day in the local area which offers an abundance of natural beauty and interest in its national parks, volcanos and waterfalls and much more. However, we welcome your comments and are also developing more hotel based activities for those guests who wish to stay on site more of the time.

We are also in the process of upgrading the last of our garden rooms - unfortunately I think you probably stayed in the one which is imminently due for refurbishment - all garden rooms are slightly different but they are obviously not comparable to the Lodge rooms and that is reflected in the price. Our prices also reflect the quality and standard of the hotel as a whole and not just the room so whilst you might find a bigger room in another venue, it will probably not have the adjunct of the main building that we have and the food that we offer in our restaurant. We are not a 'TV' in the room hotel but we do have a 'Cine Room' in the hotel where our guests can enjoy the best of cable tv as well as a library of films.

We would like to invite you to come back and sample one of our Lodge rooms at the price of our Garden room and welcome your call or email at any time. Please refer your reservation to me personally - my name is Emily.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews