We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Comtes de Mean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Les Comtes de Mean
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Certificate of Excellence
Portland, Connecticut
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The hotel is very nice. The rooms are modern and comfortable. Only complaint is no shampoo was provided, just soaps??? The gym looked nice especially the pool so I wish I had had a chance to use them. For the price it's a great place to stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank lmartini1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    357
    121
    65
    26
See reviews for
72
472
20
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

The venue and location of this hotel are good and the staff are friendly.
I really wonder if this hotel should be listed as a five star hotel as there are some serious issues.
We had to change rooms 3 times during a 2 days stay. Our first room was in the basement.
After paying an upgrade of 20 EUR we moved to the 7th floor (club room). In that room the heating nor the television were working. At night we found out that there is a battery of airco units on the roof of all rooms on the 7th floor. This caused a terrible noise at night.
The wireless internet was not working and in the rooms there is no explanation on how heating/airco or television work.
Quality of breakfast is poor and is certainly not worth 21 EUR/person.
On top of this we got stuck in the elevator for some time.

In short, a disappointing stay in an average quality hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Anita V,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. We are sincerely sorry to read about your negative experience particularly with the internet connection and with breakfast. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Truly enjoyed the Crowne Plaza, Liege - great location, an old building full opf character, wonderful views (from the top level bar & brasserie) and superb service.
Alicia -- at the reception was among the best I've ever had teh pleasure to get service from.
Room was spacious, modern and clean. Bathroom - efficient and nice with both a bath and a separate shower.
Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Entrance and check-in is from the top 7th floor. High floor room in the old castle should be best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Achitofel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manorbier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

A relatively new hotel offering great accommodation in good quality rooms. The building is well situated in Liege and wrapped by the façade of an interesting old castle. You enter at the top and go down to the rooms. Views from the restaurant area are great when its not raining! Staff were courteous but a little chaotic at times, but I guess that added to the charm. Only used the restaurant for breakfast and was a little disappointed. Had the sense they were trying to be a bit clever with the menu rather than delivering what people really want. Apart form that a good place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

The venue itself has plenty of charm. I visited some of the suite and some of them are really stunning and so are some corners of the historic mansion. Also, you get some views from the restaurant and some of the rooms. However, there are some issues with this hotel.
The main one is the personnel, the attitude and approach at the check-in/check-out especially. Check-in/out took ages (only one person was dealing with it). The lady of the housekeeping only got me an iron board after some serious convincing and insisting. The waiters/waitresses at the breakfast were inefficient and unsimiling. All not very professional or helpful.
The rooms are quite standard: I had a room with a view on a blind wall on two sides. The breakfast is very average: I had better in 3 stars.
The neighbourhood in which the hotel is located is not particularly good. Although the proximity of the SNCB train station 'Liege Palais' is a plus.
The worst is that weeks after my return home, I found out that the hotel kept the reservation of €150 on my credit card. My bank told me that the hotel never bothered to lift it. When I called the hotel they told me they don't deal with financial issues in the weekend. No excuses, not even the offer to call me back. So I agree with earlier reviews: "is this hotel really a five star?".

Room Tip: The rooms differ alot in size some are without view. Don't accept any room you are given.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTM_wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear RTM_wanderer ,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

I'm a frequent travelers in the crowne-plaza but also in this hotel as the average quality of hotels are very average in this city.

I want to summarise some of the issues i'm facing very often:
- Check in / check out: many mistakes in the invoicing, people are not very well training for this standing, difficulties to check-in with guarantees,...
- Quality of the room: showers not very working, water hot and warm, TV turning off and out without any command (gosts?)
- Quality of the food : food is price around 30 EUR, quality is more than average, waiting time very high
- Cleaning: cleaning very often incomplete even if cleaning ladies are knocking on your door before 8 in the morning. I found more than one time, the lady in mind room before I had the chance to say that I was still in
- SPA / sports: very small , not very well equiped

In a nutshell, this hotel doesn't deserve at all the five stars, you can sometimes benefit from booking acceptable rate which will a little bit balance your experience.

If you think that you will receive any advantage from your Platinium that you deserve, forget about it.

A platinium client

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Publicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Stephcra,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Our experience here was overall pretty average. We had just stayed at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Center and they set the bar very high-Crowne Plaza Liege did not match this unfortunately. As Gold status members, in other hotels we have always been upgraded and given "perks". Here, they did not seem to care or offer anything to loyalty members. This hotel is very different, half is the old historic side, and half is new. Our room was basic and fine, no coffee machine but clean and a neat view looking up towards the old side. We had drinks in the lounge, dinner at the hotel and apres dinner cocktails in the Cave. Dinner was expensive, nothing too life changing but good. The Cave was great to experience!
Note-the hotel was hard to find. But they did offer valet, so I don't see why people have issues with parking there?? Wear comfy shoes, you will do a lot of walking here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Calgary22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liege
0.2 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Spa
17.0 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
1.3 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#4 of 19 in Liege
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Comtes de Mean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Comtes de Mean

Property: Les Comtes de Mean
Address: Mont Saint-Martin 9-11, Liege 4000, Belgium (Formerly Crowne Plaza Liege)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Comtes de Mean 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resolutely open to the city, full of history and emotion, the "Les Comtes de Mean" is a mixture of unusual locations with different atmospheres, each run with intelligence and creativity. It is from this very multiplicity that the UrbanResort(R) concept originates, being a subtle combination of aesthetics, inventiveness, comfort and relaxation: a resolutely non-exclusive, exclusive product. With a great number of places to visit, leisure and relaxation activities (such as the 750-m² garden, a haven of peace and greenness in the middle of the complex), the hotel has eight main premises. Each of them alone is an unusual place, charged with an original atmosphere. All are worth the trip and are, in their great majority, open to non-residents. Welcome, attention, service, professionalism are bywords for the staff, whose sole aim is to make sure that the time you spend in these places is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Les Comtes de Mean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing