We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very poor stay”
Review of Les Comtes de Mean

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Les Comtes de Mean
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

unfortunately a terrible stay with terrible service (people seemed unskilled and uninterested in service. Some could not even speak English).. Extras that were booked (club room) were refused or ignored, no refund or apology. Wrote a very detailed feedback to hotel, but was not published by hotel. Unfortunaltey cannot recommend this hotel at all. Wifi was offered in theory but did not work in the room, onliy in the lobby or in front of the room. No explanation given.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sabine1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Sabine1005,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. We sincerely apologize for the experience you had and any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. We have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details. Thank you for staying and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,007)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 1,007 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights with 2 teenage children in a junior suite. All the beds were in the same room and the "tv room" was strange and the tv did not work... The room was dark and it is unusual with plastic sheets..the spa is small and with flaws at the cost of 15 EUR. The Hamam and the showers in the ladies room did not work. The breakfast was nice. All in all a overrated hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Marianne H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I apologize for the inconvenience the room assigned to you may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The best hotel in liege it may be but it is far from the quoted 5 star. The quality of furniture, decorating and detail in the service is no more than a business hotel.

Pleasant staff and the stay pleasant enough but the current rating does not manage expectations.

Restaurants are good but service slow.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Martyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Martyn N,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed for only one night last weekend. A shame as the hotel is fantastic and the staff great. Not to mention the room we were given, which was fantastic! Our only regret was that didn't spend more time there - we will rectify that next time!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MismoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel and nice prices during july.
Nice beds and perfect rooms thinks my daughter!
Reala god food at the restaurant and always nice personal. Suits us just fine. ................................................................

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Anders N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel last weekend for our first wedding anniversary. We had booked a suite as it was a special occasion. When we arrived, the receptionist seemed confused as she said there were three reservations under our name. When this was eventually resolved, we were given the key to our room, without any information on breakfast, use of the club lounge, hotel facilities etc. when we got to our room, it stank of smoke and had two small beds instead of a king size as we had reserved. We went back to reception and were given another room with its own terrace, which was very nice.

There were two TVs in our suite, the remote controls for neither worked. We had to call reception three times for this to be resolved. Breakfast is ok but certainly not what you would expect from a 5 star hotel. The club lounge consists of an UN air conditioned room with stale snacks and soft drinks for which there is no bottle opener!

The gym and swimming pool are nice but again, having to pay €15 per person for these in a 5 star hotel is not acceptable, neither is the fact that this is mentioned nowhere on their website.

The hotel lacks atmosphere and is not the sort of place you would sit in to have a drink and relax in the evening. It is also located at the top of a very steep set of steps, which are a bit painful at night. The neighbouring buildings are mostly derelict and we watched drug deals taking place in the evening from our balcony.

When we were checking out, we noticed on our bill that we had been charged for the mini bar, although we hadn't used it. We were also charged for breakfast, which was supposed to be included in our room rate. The receptionist was rude when I showed her our reservation and reluctantly deducted it from our bill. Were were also charged €20 per day for parking, again not something you expect from a 5 star hotel.

Overall, we were really disappointed in this hotel. Having chosen it for a special occasion as the only 5 star hotel in Liege, I can conclude that it is a hotel with a lot of front and very little substance. Our disappointment was such that we have since cancelled a stay in another Crowne Plaza we were due to visit in the UK in August.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jellybabyantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Jellybabyantwerp,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I consider my self as a frequent customer of this hotel that I selected since its opening about three years ago if I am not wrong. Last time that I stayed there I was surprised and differently than than in the past charged for the fitness and pool entrance (15 euro per day) !! These services were always free since the beginning and included in the room rate. Like normal in every hotel 4 or 5 stars in the world where you normally pay only the additional services like massages. The further negative point is that I was not adviced in advance of this change. Neither during reservation, nor during check in, nor with some advise in the room or, at least, during the check in of the fitness room. The result of this sort of "customer care" is that I decided since then to change hotel (indeed this is the most expensive in the city) for my next trips to Liege, and come back no more to the Crowne Plaza.. . .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdipilato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Les Comtes de Mean, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear rdipilato,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the pricing structure of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liege
0.4 mi away
Hotel Neuvice
Hotel Neuvice
#1 of 19 in Liege
262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
970 reviews
17.0 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
1.3 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
527 reviews
17.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Balmoral Hotel, Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Comtes de Mean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Comtes de Mean

Address: Mont Saint-Martin 9-11, Liege 4000, Belgium (Formerly Crowne Plaza Liege)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range: £115 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Les Comtes de Mean 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resolutely open to the city, full of history and emotion, the "Les Comtes de Mean" is a mixture of unusual locations with different atmospheres, each run with intelligence and creativity. It is from this very multiplicity that the UrbanResort(R) concept originates, being a subtle combination of aesthetics, inventiveness, comfort and relaxation: a resolutely non-exclusive, exclusive product. With a great number of places to visit, leisure and relaxation activities (such as the 750-m² garden, a haven of peace and greenness in the middle of the complex), the hotel has eight main premises. Each of them alone is an unusual place, charged with an original atmosphere. All are worth the trip and are, in their great majority, open to non-residents. Welcome, attention, service, professionalism are bywords for the staff, whose sole aim is to make sure that the time you spend in these places is as enjoyable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Comtes de Mean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing