We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Univers Hotel & Brasserie
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Reviewed 17 December 2011

Leige Guillemins rail station (Leige's main station) is just across the road, so for those coming by rail who want a reasonably priced run-of-the-mill hotel, the choice of the Best Western Univers is a no brainer! Small but clean rooms; friendly and helpful staff; good breakfasts - there's not much more that I would be looking for when stopping somewhere for just a couple of days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freischutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2011

The staff here was very friendly, especially in the bar next door. We were grateful for a nice, hot breakfast, and were pleased with the convenience to the train station and the cleanliness of the room. A very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gaminwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Had a bit trouble getting to the hotel as the access road from one of the approaches was closed.However, the sat nav eventually worked out an alternative.A typical railway hotel - rooms on the smallish side but very comfortable nevertheless. The staff were very cheerful and helpful. Parking in the multi storey just yards away from the hotel was only 7 euros for the day, a special rate for hotel guests, and it was only 3 euros for two of us to get a bus to the town centre.We didn't eat in the hotel as the place is surrounded with cafes and restaurants but for a cheap night's stay, I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funkydunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This hotel is conveniently located near the city's main train station. Rates are far cheaper than those applied in the center of the city and theater district which are only a short bus ride from the station. Parking is not disposed by the hotel, but not a problem with many free spots along the curb and a huge multi-storey car-park nearby with preferred rates for hotel customers. Food is available at the hotel, but plenty of good restaurants are to be found in the vicinity. Buffet breakfast (fruits, pastries, bread, cereals, yogurt, cheese) is available for 13 Euros.
WiFi is free and high-speed Internet is charged 4 Euros a day.
This hotel has been recently renovated to comply with Best Western standards. Rooms are well furnished and clean. Bathrooms are modern with good guest supplies. The staff is very polite and helps you get around if you want to go sightseeing.
This hotel is really a good alternative to more expensive accommodations unless one really wants to be in the very heart of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view on the new train station building which is an architectural masterpiece.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Angelo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

On my way north to the Netherlands, I decided to stay in Liege and the Best Western sounded good. I was not let down. My GPS led me right to the property and I was able to unload my bags out front, even though there was some remodeling construction taking place. Parking is about 100 meters/yards further up the street inside of a multi-level parking garage. This hotel is small and older, but well maintained. My room was beautifully finished in real wood. It also had nice view of the train station.

The breakfast was included and was quite nice. Just around the corner are numerous restaurants including Le Duc d'Anjou which came highly recommended by the hotel manager and which I have also reviewed.

I wasn't there long, but I would definitely stay there again. All of the staff, from management, to reception, housekeeping and waiters, were considerate, helpful and attentive to my needs. This property is within walking distance of the Liege train station.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GJY2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

If you're coming by train-you walk to this hotel. Nice friendly staff. We had a large room, very clean, and quiet. We only spent one night here, as we finished our business quickly. The breakfast was exceptional-our son's favorite in Europe. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glorygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We read that this is a hotel that is good for addict and located in a dangerous place, I feel that this is a melocoious report,
Near the magnificant train station (( CKaltavara archticture) Quite, safe - we are having a drink or great Cappucino on the coffe at the side walk - at 23:00 no crime no viloence
Rooms clean ; good service . AC TV hot wather , good breakfest - 5 days during aconference and we would lie to recommend the place for those who like to spend money on the essentials and not on luxary
And no need for a taxi or other transportaion to train statin

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tayarhmazoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liege hotels
0.1 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
535 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
1,020 reviews
5 mi away
Globales Post Hotel & Wellness
3.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Liege
Ibis Budget Liege
#12 of 19 in Liege
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Univers Hotel & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Univers Hotel & Brasserie

Address: Rue des Guillemins 116, Liege 4000, Belgium (Formerly BEST WESTERN Univers Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range: £50 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Univers Hotel & Brasserie 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Univers Hotel & Brasserie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Liège
Best Western Liege
Liège Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing