We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stopped in Liege to spend the night on a weekend trip through Belgium. The hotel is nice enough, and in a fairly good location near where festivals are located in Liege. The breakfast is a little on the expensive side, but then again so is the hotel, but has a reasonable selection and is fairly tasty.

The rooms in the hotel are clean, have plenty of room and are comfortable. All in all, if you can afford the extra cost of the hotel (or have a free night or two), then this is definitely a nice hotel to stay at and close to many things to do in Liege.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 197stevee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights on our way to and from a holiday in Italy. The rooms are very large but both rooms we stayed in were rather dirty with lots of cobwebs around the ceiling. On our way back the room was worse as the flush didn't work properly and the toilet roll holder fell off the wall each time you pulled the toilet roll. On the positive side breakfast was very good with a good choice of food and drink.
Would hope we won't be booked in here again on a tour but luckily it was only for a few hours and we slept for most of them.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mag16_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I travelled to Belgium to see Andre Rieu in his home town of Maastricht, en route I stayed for two nights at the Alliance, on first sight I was really disappointed with the look from outside, it looked rather shabby. When I went I. It was a lot better. The bedrooms were comfortable and clean and spacious, the bathroom was ok but the bath was very slippery, I almost fell getting in and my husband nearly fell getting out.
On returning from the concert it was rather late and the approach to the entrance of the hotel is very dark I feel outside lights are necessary.
The breakfast was very good and plenty of choice available. On the whole this is quite a reasonable hotel. The is a gym and swimming pool which I didn't have time to view or use.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirls2346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Pros: comfortable mattress, tea maker, hair dryer.
Cons: location, old TV, poor maintenance, car parking at 10Eur, poor water pressure, pricey breakfast, very poor internet signal

I added two pictures to show the lack of maintenance. The stained toilet could be easily cleaned with anti-calcarium and the shower pipes need fixing, as rust took over, judging by the brown water that comes out of it.
Reception lady was not so friendly, and helpful.

There are other hotels closer to the touristic spots that are worth considering it.
The hotel has a feel of 4 stats when you get to it, but the poor maintenance makes it a 2 stars.

Room Tip: non smoking floors available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traveler4Fun_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We've been regular visitors over probably the last 15 years, albeit we only ever stay for one night (for one particular event) and this year, we thought we would go for a premium room.

Please don't bother with this option!

You get one less bed (only one double bed) with the other replaced by a fairly uncomfortable sofa. Our room (on the 8th floor) was very warm when we arrived - the river facing side is also south facing, so they can get very hot and no-one had thought to turn the air con on. We did turn it on and then realised why they hadn't bothered....

a. its really noisy and
b. it doesn't really achieve much

The room itself had very dated wooden fittings, the sort of thing that should have been removed at least 10 years ago (when this was still a Hilton hotel) and is no bigger than a standard room.

As usual breakfast was fine and the free car parking is good

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed for one night on our way too Germany. The room was a good size, the beds were comfortable and it was quiet. The hotel was a little way out from the town, but we found a good restaurant a short walk away. The hotel was good value, clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. The location is quite far from the city centre (a good 15-20min walk), although for us it was convenient as we wanted to be near a friends house. The hotel and adjacent conference venue, look rather run town on the outside. On the inside it is much better, although it obviously hasn't been refurbished for a long time. We stayed in one of the premium rooms (for 95euros a night ) which was quite roomy - with twin beds which were quite large for single beds. There was a small fridge, but no trouser press of ironing board, although it looks like it is a hotel for business and conference travellers. The room itself was clean but very hot, and although there seemed to be an air con temperature controller the radiator was always on full blast. We ended up leaving the windows open (5th floor) but the road underneath is quite busy. The staff was friendly enough, and the breakfast an average continental buffet. Being tired from long travel, we tried room service when we arrived and ended up calling for at least 30min back and forth from reception to room service to get hold of someone. The food was nothing special, but rather pricey. We paid 26euros for an omelet, a sandwich and a bottle of mineral water.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lab_rat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liege hotels
0.5 mi away
Husa de la Couronne
Husa de la Couronne
#5 of 19 in Liege
525 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pentahotel Liege
Pentahotel Liege
#2 of 19 in Liege
949 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Liege City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Liege Centre Opera
1.0 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
989 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ibis Budget Liege
Ibis Budget Liege
#11 of 19 in Liege
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres

Address: Esplanade de l'Europe 2, Liege 4020, Belgium (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Liege
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Liege
Price Range: £58 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alliance hotel Liège just two steps away form the city centre, offers a unique view over the river and the yachts marina. Ideally situated next to the International Congress Centre of Liège, the hotel also benefits from the pleasantly green setting of the Boverie Park. The hotel has 219 large and comfortable bedrooms, including 22 "Superior" rooms and 5 suites all equipped to satisfy the expectancies for guests coming for business or for leisure. The rooms are individually air-conditioned, equipped with free high speed internet and 24H/day room service.Close to the main motorways, a stone’s throw away from the TGV train station, 5km away from the Scientific Park of Liège and 8km away from Liège Airport, the hotel combines all the assets to ensure a successful stay. 10 minutes away by foot from the historical centre discover the Tchantchès Museum, the Grand Curtius and the Royal Opera. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alliance Hotel Liege - Palais des congres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Liège
Holiday Inn Liege
Liège Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing