We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in the Ardennes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Val De La Cascade
Ranked #2 of 14 Stavelot B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights with my parents and we had 2 separate rooms on 2 different floors which was ideal. The hotel is nicely situated along the river and in the middle of the Ardennes, so easy to go on day trips with the car to see other places and explore the Ardennes and there are lots of beautiful walking routes in the near by area that can be walked directly from the hotel. There's also some nice brasseries in the area where you can eat, but as it's a small town there's no night life at all going on and no pubs to be found either. We didn't try the hotel Restaurant for dinner as the menu was quite boring and one night we saw them stoke a BBQ with impregnated building wood (which cannot be healthy at all, so didn't give us much trust in their cooking and hygiene standards for the kitchen). We did however have breakfast every morning, which had lots of choice with fresh fruit, juice, eggs you could cook yourself at the counter and lots of different kinds of breads and stuff to put on it. The rooms where clean and cleaned perfectly every day for our stay. All in all a very nice place to stay when exploring the Ardennes.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the nice annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizardBlizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

The autumn colors made the weekend wonderful! The hotel was well situated, clean, breakfast was great. There are many doable hiking/ walking routes close to the hotel, besides the Adreneline Events which were totally (!!) too much for me and my travellers. There are several other restaurants in the area so food is definitely no problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TinaVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Clean room and bathroom. Old furniture in the room, but wel maintained.
Nice nature around with hiking routes. Wonderful place for a quiet romantic week-end.
No taxi's in the area, in case needed... :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DannaChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights (26th and 27th of April) a double room in the annex across the road from the main hotel - the room was perfect : clean, modern with everything you'd need and lovely views of the surroundings.
Friendly owners greated us with a warm smile and good English, the hotel restaurant is both traditional and modern and we had one of our best meals ever there - the steak was out of this world! Thank you so much - we will return again
Peter & Julie

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

It is true we tried to reserve a hotel the "last moment" before the "Toussaint" holidays.
We got two rooms not in the building of the hotel and restaurant but across the street!
Screws were on the walls, obviously something -undefined- was hanging on them... No night desks, questionable cleanness...
The top of the top was that at the checking out we asked for a receipt. Arriving back in Brussels we found that the receipts did not include the name of the hotel, nor its VAT number, in short: non valid!
Surely this hotel HAS to be closed by the authorities as soon as possible!

Room Tip: See the room first. It seems in the main building there are acceptable rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GreeceVang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Just to confirm the message of june 2011 of former UK visitor. We cannot understand the reason of the belgian classification (3 stars) for this kind of hotels.
The service is ZERO. We had to wait more than 25 minutes to see the waiter. We didn't
receive our order but something different and finally we had to pay 2 times.
FOOD : 2/10 ROOM 2/10

Our advise : MUST BE CLOSED FOR BELGIAN REPUTATION.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Having booked and made it clear on the booking form I required a twin room, I was allocated a double. The double I was allocated in the "Annexe" was no better that the room I was given in the main hotel after I complained. The main hotel was apparently full, although appearing deserted. The same trick was played on some other friends who booked for the same weekend. This hotel is the most scummy establishment I have stayed in in 20 years. The room was very basic, appears to be undecordated in about 20 years, smells unpleasant and the ceiling is yellow from cigarette smoke. The bathroom contained an air freshener, the element of which had mould growing on it, the tiles were so mouldy they were adrift from the wall around the taps, there was mould on the walls in places. Bed linen was from 1970's style nylon and pillows were less than 1 inch thick. Comfy? No. The room was really hot, but the staff made no effort to keep the noise down after midnight and early AM when arriving.leaving or taking deliveries. I was not alone in this whole experience, friends were also given a double room when booking a twin. We were attempted to be ripped off for breakfast at €96 for 4 days when in fact I only ate the hotel breakfast on one day. At €12 pp we had to cook it ourselves! The restaurant and bar on separate occasions also served and added items to our bill which we had not ordered.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FatArnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Stavelot hotels
2.5 mi away
Domaine Long Pre
Domaine Long Pre
#2 of 4 in Stavelot
98 reviews
2.8 mi away
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Dufays
Boutique Hotel Dufays
#4 of 4 in Stavelot
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Auberge Saint Remacle
Auberge Saint Remacle
#12 of 14 in Stavelot
13 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel la Maison
Hotel la Maison
#3 of 4 in Stavelot
110 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bel Natura
Bel Natura
#3 of 14 in Stavelot
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Val De La Cascade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Val De La Cascade

Address: Petit Coo 1, Stavelot 4970, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Stavelot
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Stavelot
Price Range: £65 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Val De La Cascade 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Val De La Cascade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing