We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay here! It's cool.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Merceny Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Merceny Motel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Certificate of Excellence
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
524 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Stay here! It's cool.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our room was large, clean, attractive, and comfortable. Lots of storage space, a coffee/tea maker, and a very kind and responsive staff. The location is great, the breakfast is good, and the gas station/store below is very convenient. Housekeeping was sketchy. One day the beds were made and we had fresh towels, but the trash cans were not emptied and the coffee supplies and used cups were not replaced. On another day everything else was done but the beds were not made. The air conditioning worked well but we had some trouble adjusting it, which may have been due to a misunderstanding on our part of how to work the appliance. Overall, however, we were very happy here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ILoveTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    57
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
103
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dacula, Georgia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed mostly in B&B's for our month stay in Europe, but took a chance on this hotel due to the great reviews and the fun alternative of staying above a gas station! We were so pleasantly surprised with The Merceny Motel. Not only is the price fantastic, the room is clean, new and fulfilled all of our needs. The girl who checked us in was wonderful and very helpful. We particularly enjoyed making our dinner selection from the food in the gas station store. That day happened to be Mother's Day and they gave me a beautiful plant in the gas station! It was a fun, funky alternative. We actually wish we had stayed for more than one night!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cstr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Surprising hotel for being connected to gas station. The room was okay and designed well. Really cool bathroom. Rated it high as is researched all the hotels in Bastogne and seemed to be best choice. Might of rated it lower if in larger city compared to other choices. Would stay here again. Beds are firm. Very basic but good breakfast for 8€. Service very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WIBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orillia, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Excellent hotel and excellent value. There's a gas station and mini mart store attached to the complex. This is a small hotel with limited rooms but the room was very modern and clean. It is very close to the center of Bastogne where there are many restaurants and stores. (2 blocks away)

Room Tip: Book in advance due to the limited rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonMes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

As we rode up to the hotel, I thought my husband had booked another lousy hotel. It is above a petrol station, which is unusual. This small hotel has 8 rooms, these room are modern, clean, comfortable and airy. Reasonably priced. We booked breakfast for 8€ each, breakfast was continental and sufficient. A bit odd having breakfast in the petrol station while ppl pay for fuel etc. but never the less a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSnow2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

This hotel is above a convenience market/gas station, but the rooms are roomy and clean. We didn't opt for the breakfast,since you can walk downstairs and get what you want. The main part of downtown is a 5 minute walk. Try the pizza restaurant right on the square. We spent 10 nights in France and Belgium and this was the best bargain we had for a room.Free Wifi worked fine and the small fridge was convenient.

Room Tip: Only have a few rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nabman11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayden Lake, ID
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was somewhat skeptical of this place as the online booking sites described it as attached to a gas station.

Fear not! It is above the station and is cleverly disguised by the design. The entire property is immaculate and even with moderate traffic in and out is very quiet.

The rooms are not the biggest but are very clean and suffice for what they are meant for, sleeping. The bed is comfortable and the bath room more than adequate. Again, it is very quiet.

Breakfast is served downstairs next to the hotel registration desk,. Space is good, food is fresh and plentiful. Staff is very helpful and though you might encounter someone who does not speak English, they will do their best to communicate with you and you will be taken care of, unlike in a country that is close by. Nes-ce pas?

This hotel is perfect for touring the Bastogne area WW2 museums, battlefields and cemetaries.

A short walking distance north of the hotel, there are enough restaurants, cafes and other eateries to keep you fed for weeks w/o repeating an establishment.

There is a reason this place is rated number one in Bastogne. It is clean, quiet, friendly and a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank affalken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bastogne
0.4 mi away
Hotel Melba
Hotel Melba
#1 of 6 in Bastogne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Leo At Home
Hotel Leo At Home
#3 of 6 in Bastogne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
Giorgi Hotel Restaurant
#4 of 6 in Bastogne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Hotel L'Amandier
Hotel L'Amandier
#1 of 1 in Libramont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 5 in Houffalize
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hotel l'Ermitage
Hotel l'Ermitage
#3 of 5 in Houffalize
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Merceny Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Merceny Motel

Property: Le Merceny Motel
Address: Chaussee d'Arlon 4, Bastogne 6600, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Luxembourg Province > Bastogne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bastogne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Merceny Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Merceny Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing