We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bastogne, Luxembourg Province, The Ardennes, Wallonia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lieneke92
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
1 review
“Lovely house”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This beautiful old house is so modern (electric lock on frontdoor, no wires to stumble over, dishwasher, new TV's, Wii with all the accessoires, etc).
The kitchen was super fully equiped! It's an hour walking through the woods to Houffalize. Perfect for a lunch and then walk up the hill back :) A lot to do in the surroundings: canoeing, mountain biking, hiking, climbing and ziplines. A car is kind of necessary to reach everything in time. We enjoyed the big garden, the bbq, the beautiful interior-details, and the beds. Everything was very clean by the way! And Dominiqu, the owner, is a friendly man. Since my French is not so good anymore, it was efficient that he speaks English as well :)
The only things to keep in mind:
- mind your head if you are tall! :) old houses are small
- the 3rd bedroom is a kind of passage to reach another bedroom. There is light from outside/the livingroom
Would I recommend this house to others? Uuuh yes, but only after I booked it again :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naishcomb...
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Stylish, well equipped in great location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Situated in the hamlet of Alhoumont this beautifully converted cottage affords luxury accommodation a few miles from the busy town of Bastogne. The property is situated on a large plot and is furnished to a high standard - excellent supply of crockery and good range of kitchen equipment. Flat screen TV's in lounge and bedrooms but we could not find any English speaking programmes such as BBC World News or CNN. The wifi worked well so we were able to access news that way on smart phones and laptops. Perhaps surprisingly there are no hairdryers - we did mention to the helpful owner. We also found the ceramic cooker hob a little temperamental - no idea why. There are numerous walks around the property including down to Houfflaise - a pleasant stroll of about 3 miles each way along a disused railway track. There are many lovely drives to places such as Dinant, La Roche, Luxembourg (country not city). There are many attractive villages.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanns D
1 review
“Wonderfull”
Reviewed 7 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderfull stay! Very quiet surroundings, lots of walking paths starting from the front door, close to Houffalize. The house itself was very recently renovated, and is beaautifull inside. The owners decorated the house with attention to detail for our arrival (decorated Christmas tree, a Santa Claus, decorations throughout the living room). Definitely something we can recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent cottage in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed as a family of 3 with our one year old and found the cottage to be excellent.
It has been renovated by Dominique to perfection, with a good mix of modern facilities and original features. The garden is great for children and is very private.
Dominique was very welcoming and helpful throughout our stay.
The surrounding countryside is lovely with lots to see and do within a short distance, and also very close to Luxembourg.
We would strongly recommend staying at this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully restored
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matthewc1...
Pleasanton, CA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An adorable cottage in a marvelous region”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This adorable cottage easily sleeps 5. It has an excellent roadside presence and the inside is just incredible. The amenities are top notch. The owner - Dominique - lives just next door and is very easy to deal with. He's very knowledgable about the area. He's very proud of the cottage (they would call it a Gîte) that he has mostly rebuilt himself. Staying in a house is far more comfortable than a hotel - I totally recommend this rental to anyone.

This is a very modern interior - all kinds of lighting, a refrigerator/freezer, two bathrooms with showers, a garden, a driveway for the car, etc.

We were visiting the Bastogne area to retrace the footsteps of my wife's uncle Chuck. His brother, my father-in-law, made the trip just to retrace Chuck's footsteps. This is an excellent "base of operations". We contacted a local tour guide - Roby Clam - and had a great tour. In addition, we found several battegrounds and monuments, including one well off the beating path honoring Chuck's battalion in a particularly nasty fight just nearby. (Honestly, it was just providence that we found it - feel free to drive the country roads, everyone here is very helpful).

After a long day of touring, visiting, shopping, etc., it is nice to come back to a house where you can just relax. If you want to eat out, there are two towns nearby - Houffalize is about 10 minutes and Bastogne is about 20. Bastogne is a small city now. Lots of venues to choose from.

All in all, this was a great place to stay. Modern comforts in a 600-year old stone house. It's warm, cozy, and very comfortable. It has TV, WiFi, and all the amenities for small families. It even has a dry sauna.

You can't beat the value. STAY HERE (if you can get a reservation; it seems to be popular).
For a romantic stay, yes, this is a great choice. For a family, this is an excellent choice.

I COMPLETELY RECOMMEND this rental. Ask me, and I can tell you more.

And no, I never met Dominique or his wife before.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior decor
Liked least: I liked it all. If there was a downside, I didn't find it.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasDragt
Almelo, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great cottage, great people”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in the cottage for 5 days, the first thing you will notice, when you arrive is the great detail which has been put into renovating this old house.

The welcome of the owners is in 1 word excellent, verry freindly, and if you understand and speak English (or French of course) there is no problem.
Everything is explained, and if you have any questions, the owners live next door :).

The location of the cottage is simply beautiful. If you come for some peace and quiet, its perfect, but also a good starting point for hikes, bike rides, and day trips (Luxemburg city is an hour away for example)

Travelling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilary J
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy, quirky, comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Warm friendly welcome from the owners of the property, who have painstakingly restored it to its origins. The cottage which has “olde worlde” charm, has excellent modern facilities and comfortable surroundings. The interior of the cottage has been restored to a very high standard. In addition, it has a large rear garden, patio area complete with stone built-in BBQ and internal sauna to ease you into the holiday. Set in a quiet village of Alhoumont, south of Houffalize, it is within easy reach of all the major interests within the Ardennes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing