We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great address, surprising dishes, wonderful setting”
Review of De Kapelaan

De Kapelaan
Ranked #23 of 133 Restaurants in Aalst
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Aalst, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great address, surprising dishes, wonderful setting”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I truly can not count anymore the number of times we've been to De Kapelaan : just the two of us, with the kids, with family, with friends, etc. And EACH and EVERY TIME we enjoyed a great meal in a fantastic restaurant, surprising combinations, a fait price and a great service. Now that's why we keep on returning each time to our same favourite address !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    52
    17
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
374 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Excellent business lunch at de Kapelaan”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We've enjoyed several business lunches with customers here and were always satisfied : friendly and efficient staff taking into account our limited time frame. Good quality food, traditional disches with an imaginative twist, well done chef !

A la carte dining is possible as well, again fine dining, no royal portions though, but finely tuned and balanced plates. Creativity and innovation has its price, but - taking into account the overall quality - gladly paid.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Second time better then first experience”
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Apetiser was a Makreel and was very good: nice taste an very fresh. We had to wait +1 hour for our main course. It was waiting worth: pasta with salmon: surprising taste. Desert: the strawberry: fresh, but not very special.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCityHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice food, but expensive for the quality”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Low welcome word, not a place for your coat. Food was good. We took (Kapelaantjes choice from the chef), except the fish dish which was obviously alreay prepared in the afternoon. Not a low price, rather the maximum for this kind of service/food. We were on the second floor and it was cold (<20°). Went there two times now, but it wil stay by two.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCityHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Kapelaan also viewed

Aalst, East Flanders Province
Aalst, East Flanders Province
 
Aalst, East Flanders Province
Aalst, East Flanders Province
 

Been to De Kapelaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing