We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE PLACE TOURIST PRICING”
Review of Belga Queen

Belga Queen
Ranked #114 of 879 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$59 - US$149
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE TOURIST PRICING”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The place is very nice and well appointed,but it is very touristic,the food is ok but too epensive for a Brasserie,some waiters are ok others are totally unfriendly,I just spent some time in Thailand and in a restaurant overthere people are happy that you spend some money in their place here I have the feeling that they think I schould be happy to be there.Win is totally overpriced,we had a Belgian Chardonnay sold at 36€ sold in the wineshop at 13.50€.Conclusion not for me but a must see if you visit Ghent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KhunPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    331
    173
    126
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wachtebeke, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was ok but overpriced and service was a bit immature”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Belga Queen has a bit of a posh alure, but the service was a bit immature and did not live up to the expectations.
Food was good, but was overpriced. There are plenty of other restaurants where they serve good food for less money.
The service could be better. Friendly waiters but still very young and they didn't pick up on basic things. They keep the bottle of wine on a separate table, but forgot to fill us up.

So in general: ok place, but overpriced and expected a much more mature service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“building”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The restauration of that building is amazing.
The food and beverages are good.
The admosfere is really cool

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If we could, we'd visit Ghent just to wine and dine at Belga Queen!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

If you appreciate old architecture mixed with contemporary interior, you'll love Belga Queen. The drinks are sensational and the location is incredible. Highly recommend dinner over lunch.

The food was great but we expected better. We have since realised that Belguim food in general isn't fantastic. The service was efficient but could have been more friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Meladdy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, good food”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The building where Belga Queen is located in very medieval and has character. The views were very nice of the water and cobblestone walkways. It was a very walk from the hotels and city center. I thought the food was very good and the service was okay. I dined by myself and felt a bit neglected while the staff focused on other tables. When I was there, it was early and they were not too busy. The chocolate cake with molten chocolate was a great choice for dessert. I am uncertain if I would return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belga Queen also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belga Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing