We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abdicate !”
Review of Belga Queen

Belga Queen
Ranked #92 of 859 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$59 - US$149
Cuisines: French, Belgian, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
727 reviews
567 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Abdicate !”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

We've been here several times but I really don't know why we keep going back. Probably because of the splendid building and perfect location. But the truth is the food has always been below average for the price charged. Worst of all is the service it's either arrogant or neglectful. Definitely the last time, never again.

Helpful?
2 Thank LauraDaveJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    323
    166
    121
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very poor service”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The food was quite nice, but the service really terrible. We were largely ignored by the young wait staff and had to ask to have wine and water refills. It was a great place to people watch but after many hours it got to be annoying. There are better places to eat in Ghent. If you want to go to this restaurant be prepared to be pushy about asking for what you need. You will not be 'served'. They have 12.5% added to bill for 'service'; wish we could have taken it off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bursa
Level Contributor
118 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Very nice sea food, slightly expensive”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had a very nice dinner, atmosphere was very appealing, service staff (Who served us at the ground floor) was very helping with explanations in english. Everything was ok.
Dishes are a bit small in size and if you're too hungry, pay attention what you order. however combinations were delicious and I've enjoyed much.
Prices are slightly high for a town like Gent (probably tourism effect), Toilet design was unexpected (not in negative way) with semitransparent doors, I could not stop myself commenting!
Overall we've enjoyed and I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Anubis61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
125 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“NICE PLACE TOURIST PRICING”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The place is very nice and well appointed,but it is very touristic,the food is ok but too epensive for a Brasserie,some waiters are ok others are totally unfriendly,I just spent some time in Thailand and in a restaurant overthere people are happy that you spend some money in their place here I have the feeling that they think I schould be happy to be there.Win is totally overpriced,we had a Belgian Chardonnay sold at 36€ sold in the wineshop at 13.50€.Conclusion not for me but a must see if you visit Ghent

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KhunPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wachtebeke, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was ok but overpriced and service was a bit immature”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Belga Queen has a bit of a posh alure, but the service was a bit immature and did not live up to the expectations.
Food was good, but was overpriced. There are plenty of other restaurants where they serve good food for less money.
The service could be better. Friendly waiters but still very young and they didn't pick up on basic things. They keep the bottle of wine on a separate table, but forgot to fill us up.

So in general: ok place, but overpriced and expected a much more mature service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NickDD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Belga Queen also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Belga Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing