We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many good points”
Review of Chalet de Maalte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet de Maalte
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I have had four or five stays here, having been severely p***** off by the management at the Holiday Inn up the road. I arrive by public transport, which is easy (tram stop Maalte on route 1), although the route through the park is a bit lonely after dark.

The rooms are all different and sensibly spacious. Beds are good. There is free internet in the rooms (they give you a cable when you check in if you ask) and wi-fi in reception. Although there is no bar, drinks can be bought on request and there is a free coffee station. Standards of maintenance are a bit, well, blokish, with a fair few cracked tiles and so on, but the welcome is good. Although quite close to main roads, the hotel is peaceful.

The breakfast is always first rate, with eggs freshly cooked to your liking.

All in all, a good deal.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrOrganist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Anybody who has stayed in the Holiday Inn Expo in Ghent and found it to large and impersonal might find this hotel a reasonable alternative. In fact you can approach it from the same exit on the motorway and it is a lot easier to find the Holiday Inn. (The website gives very clear instructions). It is located close the the next tram stop into town from Expo, and adjacent to a park. Although close to two main roads the surrounding trees absorb a lot of the sound.

Each room is different and some of them have "open bathrooms" which is not to our taste and so we requested and received a "closed bathroom". All the rooms have large windows and therefore are very light and airy. The bed was very comfortable. All rooms have a fridge - ideal for storing drinks and chocolates.

Unfortunately some of the fittings required attention. The sensors for the lights in the corridors did not work when you needed them; the television in our room had a mind of its own.

Outside there is a pleasant courtyard where you can relax and, as there is no bar, you are free to bring along you own refreshments. You can walk straight out from the courtyard into the park and it makes a pleasant stroll away from the hustle and bustle.

The breakfast room is fine as is the breakfast but matters are let down by the staff failing to keep on top of matters. The fruit juice runs out and is not replenished until somebody mentions it! Sometimes the coffee is almost cold. Against this is the fact the food is really tasty. There was always a side of salmon which you could slice for yourself, fresh fruit prepared for easy eating, ham on the bone, a form of rice pudding (home made to a grandmother's recipe) and more besides.

If you want perfection this is not an hotel for you. We got exasperated with some of the problems we encountered but we could not really dislike the place. We enjoyed our stay and will return.

One final advantage is that there is no charge for car parking.

Room Tip: Think carefully about the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Lorraine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank croblan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Kamer 18 heeft zicht op het park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc_mestreech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank kafersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
2.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#8 of 39 in Ghent
284 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
2.3 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 39 in Ghent
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet de Maalte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet de Maalte

Address: Kortrijksesteenweg 1021, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalet de Maalte 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Chalet de Maalte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing