We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience”
Review of C-Jean - CLOSED

C-Jean
Price range: US$39 - US$154
Cuisines: French, European
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
103 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My wife and I had the set lunch. An absolute delight, fantastic and attentive service from start to finish. Although the menus are available in English, they are minimalist and only list the central item of the dish. But you won't care, because all of the food is simply fantastic, a pleasure to look at and eat, right up to the last bite. Walking in during lunch without a reservation was not a problem. The 3 course meal lasted 90 delightful minutes.

Be forewarned: the restaurant is hard to spot on the outside -- there is no big sign and the exterior is bland. It is also listed in the wrong location on GoogleMaps -- it is actually across the street from the entrance to the St. Nicholas church, on the south-central side of the town center.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Smooth_Sluggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Must visit”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

I beleive that this is one of the best restaurants in Ghent, very bland exterior, looks like a shop and the C-Jean sign is hard to make out on the front door in the daytime. We went on a Friday night having booked a few days earlier. A family run concern that works really well, the ambience is excellent, service excellent and food excellent. They have a menu in english and excellent wine list, not cheap but very good. The food is well presented "alla" Michelin star style, but none of the fussyness usually associated with the gaining of and retention of a star. Again you need to book, when we went they were closing for a month for holidays and only had 2 empty covers all night. Well worth a visit.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Donkey3653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect meal!”
Reviewed 19 June 2012 via mobile

Run by a father and daughter, the sevice is personal and flawless. Even though there was a group of 12 when I dined alone, they were equally attentive to me. The food is truly gourmet, a beautiful presentation of flavors and textures (even compared to French Laundry or Per Se). Your palate and appetite will both be well satisfied! The wine pairing was quite nice and a good value. C-Jean is all the reason you need to go to Ghent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Girlsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Culinair experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2012 via mobile

Small restaurant , you would pass by without knowing it.

Inside , interior is ok but not really something special and I need to say the chairs are not that comfortable !

Nevertheless , perfect service ! They see all the little details, nice outfits ect

Food wise : great menu, im not the most easy one to eat, but I loved it!

Original presentation, nice taste, good proportions.

I can recommend this resto!
Yes I will come back as I didn't had any hunger when I left te table.

Thanks and keep ongoing .

Regards
V

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent_D_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best of Ghent”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

C-Jean is one of the best places in Ghent- if not the best if you want to go out for fine dining.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jordaanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed C-Jean also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing