We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lot to complain about”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #42 of 113 Ghent B&B and Inns
Raisio, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lot to complain about”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

When I arrived I was informed that my booking for six days was not written down, so I could only get a room for two nights, even though I had a printed copy of the email confirming my arrival. Therefore I had to switch hotels twice, which caused a lot of stress and ruined a good part of my stay. My room was on the highest floor, which meant that I had to use multiple sets of steep stairs to get down, which I quite often had to. The internet connection was bad up that high, and disappeared sometimes completely. The private bathroom isn't really a room, just a cut-off section with a wall, so if you're sharing the room with someone, prepare for awkward moments if you're not close enough to listen to each other pee.
The location was very good though, the breakfast was decent and bed was very soft.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterbearK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    25
    7
    8
    7
See reviews for
6
33
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Quaint and quirky little b&b only 15 minute walk from city centre. Made to feel really welcome. Only here for one night but very good. Bed really comfy, clean, good breakfast provided. Excellent value for money. Would come again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I have stayed in a number of B&B's in Ghent - and this is the best. A cross between a hotel and a B&B, it is an old 3 storey building (stairs are steep!), renovated, but not in a modern way. The furnishings are old - sort of art deco in my room. The photos, by the way, are very truthful.
Staff are very welcoming - and I also met John, the owner. Get him to tell you about his projects in Africa - he is doing a great job helping people to help themselves to improve their lives.
Back to the B&B - comfortable and spacious room, even a Sony docking station, so I could re-charge my iPhone, having forgotten the cable. Wifi was good as well. Breakfast is from 8am, but they made mine ready for 7.30, as I have to leave early - and it was a great choice of breakfast items.
Also - try the restaurant in the Centre - with Creole food - excellent chicken satay, the best I have had - they make it themselves.
I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Hi, this is just to leave my impressions about Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast (Tarbotstraat 31), where I stayed for 6 nights last week, as I think this place deserves my recommendation. I was staying in a 4-people room with my friends. It was really cheap (110 EUR per night for the whole room), so we were afraid of the quality. Instead of that we spent a great time in one of the nicest places I've ever stayed in. There are several highlights:

- delicious breakfast with breadrolls and cakes right from the oven, home-made jam, several kinds of cheese and jam, eggs, orange juice, corn flakes and fruits, eat as much as you can!
- pretty, spacious dining room with a big window on a garden and a big wooden table, AND all the stuff is available to use and cook on Your own!
- the highest level of cleanliness in the kitchen and dining room, I have never seen anything like this in a hostel
- the nicest and very helpful lady serving breakfast, so was the owner of Faja Lobi, Jurgen!
- separate and clean bathroom
- spacious and nice room

As for the drawbacks:
- it was quite cold in the evening
- one night there were some mosquitos in out room (but we had a special insect repellent)
- the are isn't the nicest, but It was around 20min walk to the old town, by bike it was super quick

So, if You have a chance do stay there-don't hesitate:) I really regret I haven't tried the Surinam restaurant in the other Faja Lobi location.

best, Monika

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DucInAltum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

I stayed at the Faja Lobi B&B in the center of town. For a February visit, it turned out to be a very pleasant stay. The room wasn't fancy, but it was adequately furnished and inviting. The staff at the cafe were friendly and accommodating. And, I managed to sleep very comfortably.

Pros:

Comfortable bed
WiFi works as expected
Great breakfast
Good cafe downstairs
Fantastic location
Friendly, easy going staff

Cons:

No shampoo/shower gel provided (seriously?!)
Room not cleaned daily

Other:

The rooms are above the ground floor in an old building -- the stairs are not designed for hauling modern luggage. Be careful.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moravec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

We stayed in Tarbotstraat 31, and found it to be clean, simple, elegant and a little bit rustic. We liked the friendly and relaxed attitude of our hosts and and overgrown back garden. I would recommend some mosquito repellent, however.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serioussquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

Me and my wife, along with another couple, stayed at Faja Lobi in august 2011. We wanted show them the lovely city of Ghent which we were already very aquainted with. Ghent was lovely as ever but our stay at this BnB left a lot to be desired. As soon as we got to our room we were greeted by a welcoming commitee consisiting of a few dozen mosquitos waiting for us to go asleep and feast on our blood.
Or maybe they were just moarning their dead family members splattered on the walls by the previous guests. We were at least expecting that the removal of bug- carcasses would be included in the cleaning of the room.
Also apparently not included in the price of the room was the cleaning of any dust. We were able to write our name on some of the furniture and before we could drink the coffee that is standard in most BnB rooms, we had to get rid of a finger-thick layer of dust.
The garden that is so lovingly shown in the pictures here on the website did seem nice, although we weren't compelled to go in there since we had to travel through a few cobwebs to get there.
We tried to contact the owners by going to their cafe that they have in the centre of ghent, but both were too busy to talk to us about the issues. In the end we e-mailed them about the cleanliness in the bnb which did result in the cleaninglady redoing our rooms.
In closing, we have stayed at a number of bnb's already and Faja Lobi is simply not worth it's price category.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brecht D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ghent hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chambreplus
Chambreplus
#34 of 113 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
13 O'Clock Hostel Gent
0.4 mi away
Schopenhauer
Schopenhauer
#13 of 113 in Ghent
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast

Property: Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast
Address: Vlaanderenstraat 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Faja Lobi Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing