We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel with excellent service”
Review of Hancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hancelot
Ranked #3 of 114 Ghent B&B and Inns
Purmerend, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very good hotel with excellent service”
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We received a warm welcome and lots of good advice on Ghent. Room was very good and spacious. Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor have low ceiling / roof window
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 7 May 2011
Thank you for your kind review. You have written as "room-tip" for future guests: rooms 3rd floor low ceiling and roof windows. You are correct that the rooms located on the 3rd floor (called Charm Rooms) have lower ceilings of 2,50 metres high. Advantage is the more cosy atmosphere in these rooms. The Charme Deluxe Rooms on the 2nd floor and the Charm Superior rooms on the 1st floor have the original high ceilings of 4 metres high with the authentic ornaments and the large and high windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    67
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
162
8
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
AYR, SCOTLAND
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This hotel is beautiful and the service excellent. The deluxe rooms are very large with lovely bathrooms. The problem with this hotel is the noise. The hotel has hardwood floors throughout, which do look nice but when people walk around the hotel it is very noisy. In particular when people are returning at night the noise of people walking up the stairs woke me up each night. This in itself wouldn't be all that bad but the walls of the room were so thin that you can hear pretty much everything from the room next door, people walking around, the toilet flushing, the jacuzzi, conversations and even a light switch being flicked on and off.

There is a notice at the bottom of the stairs asking guests to step lightly, which i tried to do as much as possible but unfortunately not everyone will read the notice or pay it any attention. If the noise problem was addressed in some way the hotel would be faultless.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAMESY1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 6 January 2011
Thank you for your very usefull comments! We were not aware of this problem. We were aware of the stairs making noise and therefore a luxurious carpet on the stairs has just been installed to lower the level of noise when guest are coming home. Secondly we have put slippers in the rooms to avoid the noise of walking with leather shoes on the authentic wooden floors. And thanks to your comments we now have immediately called a professional company to put a sound-proof wall in the room you have stayed in. We are awaiting the offer and straight after, the works will be executed. Of cours in a Town House of 1840 you will always will have some sounds but we compared your room with the other rooms and you were right indeed that action needs to be taken for this room so it will have the same comfort as all the other rooms. Thank you again for letting us know and thank you for the compliment that the rest of our your stay in our Charm Hotel was faultless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I celebrated our marriage here because of Tripadvisor, so thank you. The hotel itself is a bit difficult to spot. From the outside it just looks like a big building. I rang the doorbell, and a big gate was opened for me to park. From the inside it was very pretty. Especially the lobby and breakfast area.

The room was very spacious, with an (authentic?) wooden floor. Much antique and a nice chandelier gave the room an exquisite feeling. The bathroom was modern, with a bath/jacuzzi. The jacuzzi made a lot of noise though, so we only used that for a short bit.

The service was very good. Because it's family-owned, there wasn't always anyone at the desk, but if you used the bell someone would appear. When we first arrived we received a nice map of the centre, and a list of recommendations of restaurants and shops. We only stayed for one night, but we both wished it could've been longer. It was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paleblued0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Thank you for your nice review. Indeed you are right that one day is too short to visit Ghent. To explore Ghent in a nice and relaxing way and getting to know all the city has to offer, we advise at least a minimum of three days. One day of culture for all the high quality museums like Museum of Fine Art, SMAK and House of Alijn combined with a strawl along all the autthentic and beautifully renovated buildings like Gravensteen Castle, St Baafs Cathedral and Belfort Tower. Second day of shopping and enjoying all the excellent boutiques in the lovely small streets. And third day to get to know Ghent by bike. For example you have a beautifull tour around Ghent; enjoy the rest and different landscapes and the old villages along the River De Leie. Hopefully this information may be helpfull for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We just had 3 excellent days in Ghent, made even better by staying at the charming Hancelot. Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely restored building once home to an industrial baron and excellent breakfasts. Short tram journey to historical centre, but easy to walk too. Nice bars and restaurants close by. Hotel is opposite Koning Albert-park and close by the Klein Begijnhof, (UNESCO world heritage site) both worth a stroll around with camera at the ready. A 3-day museumpass gives free entry to the most important museums and sites and free transport around town - excellent value for €20. The 22 tram to and from Sint Pieters station drops you right at the end of Vijfwindgatenstraat where the Hancelot is at Number 19. Ring the bell and step into something quite special.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lycomedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words and when you return, you will notice some new items which will make your stay even more enjoyable. Since November 2010 we offer a selection of massages in the privacy of your hotel-room (best to reserve before you come back!) Furthermore we have started renewing the bathrooms: new tiles, new shower cabins and freshly painted walls. The 3rd floor is ready, the second floor still one room to go and the first floor will be ready by January 2011. Looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennekom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at Hancelot from 23 July until 26 July 2010. Comfortable and beautifully decorated hotel in a quite part of Gent (only 10 minutes walk from medieval city centre) . Very warm and friendly welcome by the owner (glass of wine and introduction to the city of Gent). Beautiful rooms, large comfortable beds, comfortable bath room and extensive continental breakfast.

Hancelot combines the best of a comfortable small hotel and the personal touch of a B&B. Indeed a ‘charm hotel’.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoBennekom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We just returned from our annual motorbike tour, having spent our last 3 nights in this "charning" small hotel in Gent. What a welcome and pleasant surpries it was to arrive here after a long motorbike ride up France. This really is a gem of a find for anyone wanting a very comfortable, cultured and thoroughly enjoyable stay in Gent. Martin and the whole team at the Hotel Hancelot go that extra mile to make your stay exceptional. Forget your large faceless, hotels, you really must give this one a try. The building itself is stunningly decorated throughout. We had one of the smaller attric rooms (due to a late booking during the Gent Festival season), but even the smaller room had a spacious layout, large comfortable bed and lovely large bathroom. Some the other bedrooms looked truely amazing, every bit as opulent as the rest of the small hotel. There is a real feeling of splendor with this accommodation, yet extremely friendly and relaxing. Excellent breakfast, first class service, friendly, helpful - the lot. It is a long time since we had such a pleasant and relaxing stay in such a beautiful place which was completely faultless. The added benefit (for us) was that the Hotel is tucked away, slightly on the edge of the city centre, so that you can enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city day and night but retire back to the hotel and sleep in peace and quiet. Easy access to the centre of town - 10 minutes walking which we did every day, twice or hop on the trap for a few stops and you are there. Lots of local bars and restaurants five minutes walk.
Thanks to Martin and Frank for all their efforts in making the last 3 days of our holiday so lovely. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to find a place with a bit of something really special about it and a little bit different.
Emma and Andy - 25th July 2010

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMSEDEN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Thank you so much for your review and the time you have taken to share your experiences! It makes me very happy inside when I read your positive comments about our small Charme Hotel. Hope we may welcome you again. it was very nice meeting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stopped at this lovely hotel overnight whilst travelling through Belgium. Initially I was met by the receptionist who could not be more helpful, with both assistance and local knowledge providing great sight seeing and restaurant locations. The whole decor of the hotel could leave you feeling that you have stepped back into a bygone age, in a nice way, with subtle and quality decor.

The only points to note are that as this is a period property, it was not designed as a hotel, so there a many stairs and some creaky floors. Also, make sure if you are drivivng that you book parking.

Altogether, an excellent hotel, excellent location, wonderful city and brilliant staff.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your kind words! Indeed Hancelot is located in a period property: the former Townhouse of a Baron. Intensive renovations ensured that our guests can enjoy the beauty & decor of this impressive Town House from 1840 in its full glory. However all beauty has its disadvantages: there is indeed no elevator. It would have been a "waste" to remove the beautifull staircase for a modern elevator! If you are not able to do too many stairs, please keep in mind, when reservering next time, that every roomtype is located on a different floor. The Charm Rooms are on the 3rd floor, the Charm Deluxe rooms on the 2nd floor and the Charm Superior rooms on the 1st floor. This way you can decide for yourself what number of stairs is comfortable for you to walk. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.8 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancelot

Property: Hancelot
Address: Vijfwindgatenstraat 19, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 114 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hancelot 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hancelot is located in the city-centre of Ghent: 10 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral. The elegant decorated hotel is located in a former Baron’s townhouse dated 1840: high ceilings, authentic wooden floors, and beautiful chimneys. Hancelot features 12 stylish bedrooms, lobby-lounge, garden, terrace, fitness and sauna. At check-in a welcome-drink is served whilst you become many tips, city-map and elaborate information on Ghent. The personal service of a B&B combined with facilities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing