We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice tucked away hotel ten minutes away from the centre of Ghent”
Review of Hancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hancelot
Ranked #3 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice tucked away hotel ten minutes away from the centre of Ghent”
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I celebrated our marriage here because of Tripadvisor, so thank you. The hotel itself is a bit difficult to spot. From the outside it just looks like a big building. I rang the doorbell, and a big gate was opened for me to park. From the inside it was very pretty. Especially the lobby and breakfast area.

The room was very spacious, with an (authentic?) wooden floor. Much antique and a nice chandelier gave the room an exquisite feeling. The bathroom was modern, with a bath/jacuzzi. The jacuzzi made a lot of noise though, so we only used that for a short bit.

The service was very good. Because it's family-owned, there wasn't always anyone at the desk, but if you used the bell someone would appear. When we first arrived we received a nice map of the centre, and a list of recommendations of restaurants and shops. We only stayed for one night, but we both wished it could've been longer. It was a really nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paleblued0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 10 December 2010
Thank you for your nice review. Indeed you are right that one day is too short to visit Ghent. To explore Ghent in a nice and relaxing way and getting to know all the city has to offer, we advise at least a minimum of three days. One day of culture for all the high quality museums like Museum of Fine Art, SMAK and House of Alijn combined with a strawl along all the autthentic and beautifully renovated buildings like Gravensteen Castle, St Baafs Cathedral and Belfort Tower. Second day of shopping and enjoying all the excellent boutiques in the lovely small streets. And third day to get to know Ghent by bike. For example you have a beautifull tour around Ghent; enjoy the rest and different landscapes and the old villages along the River De Leie. Hopefully this information may be helpfull for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    70
    10
    5
    7
See reviews for
14
164
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

We just had 3 excellent days in Ghent, made even better by staying at the charming Hancelot. Very friendly and helpful staff, lovely restored building once home to an industrial baron and excellent breakfasts. Short tram journey to historical centre, but easy to walk too. Nice bars and restaurants close by. Hotel is opposite Koning Albert-park and close by the Klein Begijnhof, (UNESCO world heritage site) both worth a stroll around with camera at the ready. A 3-day museumpass gives free entry to the most important museums and sites and free transport around town - excellent value for €20. The 22 tram to and from Sint Pieters station drops you right at the end of Vijfwindgatenstraat where the Hancelot is at Number 19. Ring the bell and step into something quite special.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lycomedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 13 November 2010
Thank you so much for your kind words and when you return, you will notice some new items which will make your stay even more enjoyable. Since November 2010 we offer a selection of massages in the privacy of your hotel-room (best to reserve before you come back!) Furthermore we have started renewing the bathrooms: new tiles, new shower cabins and freshly painted walls. The 3rd floor is ready, the second floor still one room to go and the first floor will be ready by January 2011. Looking forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennekom
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We stayed at Hancelot from 23 July until 26 July 2010. Comfortable and beautifully decorated hotel in a quite part of Gent (only 10 minutes walk from medieval city centre) . Very warm and friendly welcome by the owner (glass of wine and introduction to the city of Gent). Beautiful rooms, large comfortable beds, comfortable bath room and extensive continental breakfast.

Hancelot combines the best of a comfortable small hotel and the personal touch of a B&B. Indeed a ‘charm hotel’.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoBennekom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

We just returned from our annual motorbike tour, having spent our last 3 nights in this "charning" small hotel in Gent. What a welcome and pleasant surpries it was to arrive here after a long motorbike ride up France. This really is a gem of a find for anyone wanting a very comfortable, cultured and thoroughly enjoyable stay in Gent. Martin and the whole team at the Hotel Hancelot go that extra mile to make your stay exceptional. Forget your large faceless, hotels, you really must give this one a try. The building itself is stunningly decorated throughout. We had one of the smaller attric rooms (due to a late booking during the Gent Festival season), but even the smaller room had a spacious layout, large comfortable bed and lovely large bathroom. Some the other bedrooms looked truely amazing, every bit as opulent as the rest of the small hotel. There is a real feeling of splendor with this accommodation, yet extremely friendly and relaxing. Excellent breakfast, first class service, friendly, helpful - the lot. It is a long time since we had such a pleasant and relaxing stay in such a beautiful place which was completely faultless. The added benefit (for us) was that the Hotel is tucked away, slightly on the edge of the city centre, so that you can enjoy the hustle and bustle of the city day and night but retire back to the hotel and sleep in peace and quiet. Easy access to the centre of town - 10 minutes walking which we did every day, twice or hop on the trap for a few stops and you are there. Lots of local bars and restaurants five minutes walk.
Thanks to Martin and Frank for all their efforts in making the last 3 days of our holiday so lovely. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to find a place with a bit of something really special about it and a little bit different.
Emma and Andy - 25th July 2010

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EMSEDEN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, 14 August 2010
Thank you so much for your review and the time you have taken to share your experiences! It makes me very happy inside when I read your positive comments about our small Charme Hotel. Hope we may welcome you again. it was very nice meeting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2010

I stopped at this lovely hotel overnight whilst travelling through Belgium. Initially I was met by the receptionist who could not be more helpful, with both assistance and local knowledge providing great sight seeing and restaurant locations. The whole decor of the hotel could leave you feeling that you have stepped back into a bygone age, in a nice way, with subtle and quality decor.

The only points to note are that as this is a period property, it was not designed as a hotel, so there a many stairs and some creaky floors. Also, make sure if you are drivivng that you book parking.

Altogether, an excellent hotel, excellent location, wonderful city and brilliant staff.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mutts77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Eigenaar at Hancelot, responded to this review, 16 March 2011
Thank you for your kind words! Indeed Hancelot is located in a period property: the former Townhouse of a Baron. Intensive renovations ensured that our guests can enjoy the beauty & decor of this impressive Town House from 1840 in its full glory. However all beauty has its disadvantages: there is indeed no elevator. It would have been a "waste" to remove the beautifull staircase for a modern elevator! If you are not able to do too many stairs, please keep in mind, when reservering next time, that every roomtype is located on a different floor. The Charm Rooms are on the 3rd floor, the Charm Deluxe rooms on the 2nd floor and the Charm Superior rooms on the 1st floor. This way you can decide for yourself what number of stairs is comfortable for you to walk. Looking forward to welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
555 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2010

from the moment we were welcomed to this small hotel we felt like we had stepped back to a more gracious period the rooms are just the same as on their web site ,we had one of the large rooms on the first floor it was huge and furnished in period style,we also had tea/and coffee makeing in the room the bathroom was huge and had a whirlpool bath and a great shower,the breakfast room was again charming,but as nice as any hotel is you need great staff, well here you have them everyone was so pleasent and helpfull,the tram stops just around the corner so you have easy acess to the old town and railway station.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

Stayed for a long weekend and found the Hancelot the perfect base for sightseeing in Ghent. The room was small and up lots of stairs but very clean, nicely furnished and great value for money. The breakfast is plentiful and great quality. The surroundings are beautiful and the service and atmosphere friendly, helpful but not overbearing. Would stay again and recommend to anyone looking for hotel comfort but B&B friendliness.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hancelot, Owner at Hancelot, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed you are right that it might be quite some stairs to the Charming rooms on the third floor and these cosy rooms are a bit smaller: 25 m². Next time you might consider reservering our more spacious Charme Deluxe rooms on the second floor (size 30m² ) or our Luxurious Suites on the first floor (45 m²). Hope we may welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.8 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancelot

Property: Hancelot
Address: Vijfwindgatenstraat 19, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hancelot 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hancelot is located in the city-centre of Ghent: 10 minutes walking distance from the Cathedral. The elegant decorated hotel is located in a former Baron’s townhouse dated 1840: high ceilings, authentic wooden floors, and beautiful chimneys. Hancelot features 12 stylish bedrooms, lobby-lounge, garden, terrace, fitness and sauna. At check-in a welcome-drink is served whilst you become many tips, city-map and elaborate information on Ghent. The personal service of a B&B combined with facilities of a hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing