We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfull quiet location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Engelen Aan De WaterKant
Ranked #24 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Bussum, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“wonderfull quiet location”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed 2 nights at the B&B. It is lovely decorated, and you really feel like you have your own home in Gent. Downtown was just a stroll, next to the water, away.
The breakfast, served on the room, was a very nice start of the day. We loved having that on our own room with the windows open overlooking the canal.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natasjaverwoerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2011

I chose this B&B based on the recommendations I had seen and the website. It was excellent. Ann, the owner, could not have been more accommodating. The property itself sits in a quiet and peaceful position even though it might look close to main road on a map. The property itself is charming and has been finished to a high standard. The suite we used divided into two which gave our eleven year old daughter some privacy.

It is a short walk or tram ride to the City centre but there are plenty of bars, restaurants and activities close by.

My wife has wanted to go to Bruges for some time but I booked this B&B because Ghent seemed to have more to it for a 4 day stay. We never took the 20 minute train journey to Bruges.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grayjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2010

Just such an enjoyable experience. Fantastic rooms, with everything you'd want from wireless internet (for free) to piles of gorgeous soft towels. And the rooms are both stylish and lovely. I had a bacony overlooking the Scheldt river, bedroom (with huge bed and an astonishing variety of pillows and cushions), sitting room and bathroom.

The only possible downside is that you have a 10-15 minute walk from here to the town centre., but it's a lovely walk, along the canal or through interesting city streets

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_Hexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2008

This B&B is almost the most beautiful B &B of Ghent. I stayed her for a businesstrip on the second floor with a wonderful bathroom, fantastic breakfast on the room, wonderful bed and room. I returned for a weekend with my girlfriend; same experience! The view was very nice (over the canal) and Ann, the owner, is very nice and helpfull.

  • Liked — the interior, the breakfast, the kindness of the owner
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AntwerpSippi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

This is no ordinary B & B. The attention to detail makes this one of the most comfortable, well appointed places we have ever stayed in. It far surpasses any hotel we have ever been in. The owner is hospitable and has employed her obvious design skills to lay out two exceptional B&B accomodations. The double bed is at least emperor size and the decor of the room makes you want to stay in and enjoy the oppulence rather than exploring Ghent! The breakfast, served in your room, was to the same high standard. It arrives to a disreet knock on the door and your biggest problem is manhandling the laden breakfast tray into the room so you can sit and enjoy the views of the canal from the window as you work your way through a real feast. The owner, Ann Willems, has created a beautifully peaceful place to stay. If you visit Ghent - then this is the place to be.

  • Liked — The quality of everything and the welcome from the owner.
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wanderobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 116 in Ghent
251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sparrow's Nest
Sparrow's Nest
#88 of 116 in Ghent
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Jan van Ghent
Jan van Ghent
#13 of 116 in Ghent
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
DoOr10 B&B
DoOr10 B&B
#4 of 116 in Ghent
79 reviews
1.2 mi away
De Waterzooi
De Waterzooi
#9 of 116 in Ghent
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Engelen Aan De WaterKant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Engelen Aan De WaterKant

Property: Engelen Aan De WaterKant
Address: Ter Platen 30, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Engelen Aan De WaterKant 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast along the river Schelde in Gent. Two rooms (2 floors) are available for guests. Breakfast is served in the owner's livingroom overlooking the city garden. Situated in the art quarters , museums SMAK, MSK and Sint Pieters Abby at 5 minutes walk, historical center at 15 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Engelen Aan De WaterKant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing