We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good thai food, but that's all”
Review of Le Baan Thai

Le Baan Thai
Ranked #108 of 879 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: US$22 - US$43
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good thai food, but that's all”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The food is good simple thai(but not amazing), but the staff could make a difference by making you feel more welcome. I had the impression every one was having a bad day. Too bad, because the setting is nice and it could be a real gem.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    80
    25
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must be ready for loooong waiting”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We went there during the famous Gent Feests. As we made a booking a day before, we received our table straight. 15 minutes after ordering, we received our starter which was beautiful and tasty at the same time. The problem was that it took more than half an hour for us to receive our main dish after the empty starter dishes were retrieved. If we do not have any plans after the meal, we will definitely dine there again. The main hostess was friendly and informative while the rest of the service staff was somewhat less knowledgeable. Good location near the ancient castle and pleasantly simple decor.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sesbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“worst welcome ever”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

When we arrived at the restaurant, after having booked a table for 4 the day before, we were shown to a table in the corner, next to the door leading to the toilets. We had explicitly asked for a table in the main room, which had been confirmed on the phone. One of the waitresses said in an extremely rude way that she only had that table left, adding aggressively that she had not taken the reservation as she only started her shift at 6 pm. We had guests from Tasmania with us and I really felt ashamed. I can't remember having been treated like that at a restaurant ever. We did not stay and went to another restaurant, of course.
This restaurant has been deleted from my list forever.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ignace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Thai restaurant”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is one of the best places outside of Thailand to experience fine Thai cuisine. Service is friendly and the food is always very fresh. I also like the interior which is not in the tacky style often favoured by Oriental restaurants. Reservation is essential on Fridays and Saturdays!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Melissaaatje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oostende, West-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonable price”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I went here with my girlfriend, we tried the menu which included a dish of starters, a variety of main courses and a dessert or coffee. The food itself was very nice. We got a little spring roll (which tasted awesome), a chicken skewer and a seasoned prawn (had a very fresh taste, yet a little spicy, very good!). The main dishes also were quite tasty, we received several prawns in a special sauce, thai veggies and a dish with pork in a coconut sauce (spicy, yet delicious!). The dessert was a mango bavarois, which was perfect to finish a good meal.
We paid 37 euros each and a few more euros for the drinks (very reasonable). This may be a little much for an average student, but there's also an option to choose separate main courses for affordable prices.
The atmosphere is quite nice. The only minor setback is that the service was a tad slow at some points, but then again it was quite crowded and it wasn't really that bothersome.

If you happen to be near the patershol in Ghent and you're feeling like having some great thai food or trying something new, I can definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Baan Thai also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Le Baan Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing