We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant stay at Simon Says”
Review of Simon Says

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simon Says
Ranked #7 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Simon Says, the rooms are modern, stylish and spotlessly clean. The location is great, its situated in Patershol, a cosmopolitan area full of places to eat and quirky shops, just a five minute walk from the main square.

Christopher, Simon and the team at Simon Says are all great, they're very friendly, helpful and interesting - they were fab for restaurant tips, transport info and ideas of things to see and do.

Breakfast was great - tasty, freshly prepared juice, coffee, pastries, ham, cheese, eggs etc.

If you're looking for a boutique stay with a personal touch, fab food and great location then don't hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkmoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed here for an anniversary weekend in November 2011. I booked and travelled in the same week, so it was imperative that my e-mails were answered quickly, and Christopher answered first thing in the morning on both occasions when I had e-mailed late at night. We were assured that we could drop our cases off early, and although we arrived at 10 in the morning for a 3pm check in, taking our cases off us was no problem. Simon even greeted me by name before I had told him who I was! The room was great - comfy bed, nice bathroom etc. As well as the usual tourist blurb there was a map of vegetarian places to eat in the city which was great for us as my partner is a veggie. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We also ate in the cafe just before going home and can recommend the individual quiches from the bakery across the road which the cafe serves with salad. At least you know it hasn't got too many food miles on it.... Lots to do in Gent and will definitely return to see more of it since our move to The Netherlands has made this really easy!

Room Tip: Only two rooms here and both overlook a street which has a lot of passing traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nettyporthole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

I had the pleasure of staying as a guest this past week, for 2 nights, after which I moved on to Utrecht and Brussels. The only negative thing I have to say is that after the high quality, charm, attention to detail and outstanding staff at Simon Says, all other accommodations for the rest of my trip paled in comparison.

The room was fantastic with a huge window overlooking the square below and providing a viaduct for the delicious scents of freshly baked pastries and fresh brewed coffee each morning. The cafe was splendid with outstanding coffee, and fresh options for breakfast and lunch each day.

The staff who seem to love working here, made it feel more like staying with family than staying at a typical B&B.

This is the 1st place I'll look to upon returning to Ghent (and maybe even worth the commute to Brussels) and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this to anyone.

A huge thank you to Simon, Christopher and all of the Simon Says staff. It was an absolute pleasure to stay with you.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boomer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

There are only two rooms here above the coffee shop. You could not fault the room, other than it being a bit hot, but then it was very warm for October. It was clean and comfortable and the wi fi worked too. The bed was super comfy. The staff are great, very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was really good on both days that we stayed. Simon says is in a central location and its easy to walk most places in Ghent, or if you want to go further, say to the station or museum district you can take a tram. Only downside is there is no car parking, but there was an underground one a short walk away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkTrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed there for just the Saturday night on a family trip to Gent, and had a great time. It's close to all the important things (we wandered down by the canals, the markets, went to the design museum etc), and also right by loads of cute old streets with great restaurants on.

The coffee shop itself is great, with delicious drinks and great breakfast and lunch, and the rooms are amazingly designed, really thoughtful little touches like a radio with an ipod attachment to play music while you get ready. Best thing about it though is the hosts, Chris and Simon, who are great fun, really friendly and most importantly know everything there is to know about what's happening in Gent.

Would massively recommend to for friends, family trips, couple, everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielAkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Simon and Christopher were delightful hosts. Picked us up at the train
station and were always happy and willing to answer questions and make
suggestions for dinner or sights to see. The room was lovely, modern and
clean and the all you can eat breakfast in the upscale coffee shop they run
was wonderful. Location in Patershol, the old district of Ghent, was in walking
distance to all the sights. Would highly recommend this 2 room B & B to all.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ottawa149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

What a superb B & B, excellent location, friendly and helpful hosts and quality service. Simon says is set apart by the attention to detail, the room was spotlessly clean and everything provided that you need. Huge comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom, large opening windows all in a lovingly restored Belgian house. Simon gave us free tickets to the river boat tour and breakfast was included.
Breakfast is taken in the charming café on the ground floor and cannot be faulted for atmosphere or the quality of the food. It is a shame all B & Bs are not as good as this one we would definitely stay again if in Ghent.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serpico651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
1898 The Post
1898 The Post
#15 of 39 in Ghent
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.3 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon Says? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon Says

Address: Sluizeken 8, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: £98 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon Says, a boutique Bed & Breakfast and coffee bar, is situated in the heart of the historic center Patershol, housed in a beautiful art nouveau building. The two luxury en-suite rooms have a minibar, flatscreen tv, free wifi connection and beautiful views over the historic area. Continental breakfast is served in the coffee bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simon Says Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing