We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ghent”
Review of Simon Says

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Simon Says
Ranked #8 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Simon Says. A lovely room overlooking the street with all mod cons and a nice breakfast in the cafe.
Friendly hosts.

Nice neighbourhood with some cafés and a bakery and laundrette. Short walk to old town. Only suggestion is to take earplugs to block out some streetnoise especially on weekends.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Simon Says
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Spent four nights in this wonderful B&B in August. Simon and Christopher (and all their staff) could not have been more welcoming. The breakfast was perfect, the room was spacious (crazy spacious by most European B&B standards!!), and even Vache was quite friendly -- well after a while! There is no doubt that this will be our go-to place next time we're in Ghent!

Room Tip: there are only two rooms --- I think #2 is what we stayed in (the larger of the two). Be sure and as...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

On the recommendation of our host we visited Simon Says to have a coffee and something light to eat around 11:30am. When we arrived the cafe was full inside. The staff member who attended us at the doorway was not particularly helpful and indicated we could have a table outside. The outdoor area is uninspiring - one high table with 2 stools and 2 tables with umbrellas and typical outdoor chairs which were quite uninspiring or inviting. There was no offer to take a seat outside and to be seated inside once a table becomes available. We waited outside by the doorway for 15 minutes without any further acknowledgement from the staff and decided that their attitude was not aligned with our service expectations. While we waited we took the opportunity to watch the staff in action and suspect that the staff have got a little ahead of themselves. Our experience is that this is not a warm and inviting cafe that encourages you to become a client. Instead the impression is that this is a popular cafe and you should be so lucky to get a table and service. While the food and coffee may be good, the way that staff engage with customers is just as important. Our experience is that there are many other cafes in Ghent that are more deserving of a tourist's hard earned euros.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank avidtraveller195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonSaysGent, Owner at Simon Says, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2014

Dear Sir,

First of all we'd like to apologise that our service did not meet your obviously high expectations. It upsets me that this situation even arrises, as we strive to give good service at all times. It is also our opinion that good service is equally as important as a good product.

The period you visited the café was particularly busy, and while you correctly observed that the terrace was uninspiring and only had two tables, you do fail to mention that the reason for this was probably due to the fact that the weather that day was unusually cold and wet. I can totally understand why you wouldn't want to sit outdoors, I wouldn't either.

On such days our indoor seating is limited (to +/- 25 pers) and we are often completely full especially at weekends. We normally seat up to around 50 people outdoors so you can imagine that the atomosphere outside is then a little different.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review for our little café, which does struggle to keep up with demand sometimes. We strive to serve an honest product with good service but sometimes we do fail to keep up.

It is unfortunate that you didn't actually sit down and sample what we have on offer. If this wasn't a warm an inviting café we wouldn't be full almost every day and have outstanding reviews from actual customers.

Regards,

Christopher

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Upon arrival me and my mom were made to feel very welcome. The breakfasts were perfect and high quality food. Our room was lovely, super clean and very tasteful. Hosts were always helpful and totally willing to answer our questions about Ghent or other day trips we planned. We would highly recommend Simon Says!

Room Tip: The steps are steep and narrow by USA standards but my mom (84 years) was able to master them. Ther...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I'm a regular at this cozy coffeehouse, the staff is really friendly and the food is great.
Prices are reasonable and the interior is beautiful.
If you're looking for a relaxing Sunday brunch, this is definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank sara e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at Simon Says just before Easter in 2014 and had a fantastic stay. When we arrived we were given a free drink each (which was delicious!) and one of the staff sat down with us and showed us a map and gave us advice on where was good to eat and drinks etc. Simon and his staff were fantastic the whole time, very hospitable, very helpful and welcoming, and gave you the personal touch, we didn't feel like just another guest - it's rare to find this. The room was beautiful, really lovely design, big window over the square, very comfortable bed, lovely bathroom, incredibly clean, all the things we needed were in the room including a radio with an i-pod doc. Couldn't have picked fault with it. Breakfast was included and was fantastic, it was huge, they gave us fresh pastries and juice and then offered us a whole host of things as well, we chose granola and yogurt and fruit, it was yummy! Oh and don't miss out on their coffee, it's excellent! Plus it was a beautiful building, lovely cafe and atmosphere downstairs and overall very good value for money. One of the best stays I've had in a B&B, will be coming back again for sure!

Room Tip: We slept in the smaller, slightly cheaper room, and it was a great size with a gorgeous big window o...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This place was recommended by our Airbnb host in Ghent. We stopped off from a bike ride and had a lovely lunch here. Soups, salads, and sandwiches. Friendly service and quite busy with locals. We only ate at the restaurant so I can't speak to the accommodations.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emiliahija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 37 in Ghent
1,008 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 37 in Ghent
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.3 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
2,206 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simon Says? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simon Says

Address: Sluizeken 8, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: £97 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Simon Says, a boutique Bed & Breakfast and coffee bar, is situated in the heart of the historic center Patershol, housed in a beautiful art nouveau building. The two luxury en-suite rooms have a minibar, flatscreen tv, free wifi connection and beautiful views over the historic area. Continental breakfast is served in the coffee bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Simon Says Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing