We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little stop-over”
Review of Hotel Cathedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Cathedral
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very helpful staff at this hotel. The room was huge for the price but on the main road so very noisy and it shook when lorries went past. There was a garage for parking but the one way system a bit of a nightmare

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

We used this hotel as a stop over on the way home from England.
We were exceptionally pleased on arrival that the receptionist had everything prepared for us, even welcomed us by name. She was very friendly and took a few moments to explain how to get around Ghent and some the attractions we shoud see while we were there.
The room was large, as was the bathroom, very clean and well laid out.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to spend a few days in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_Mainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Clean, comfortable room right in town for 74 euros. Yes, the Marriott is nicer, but it's 300 Euros.

There's street parking for a few. Euros. There's plenty of food and drink in the hotel and on your doorstep since you're right in the centre of Gent.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ontheroadagain222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

This is a cheapish 3 star hotel and some things have a cheapish 3 star feel about them (furniture, fittings, shower gel etc). But I really liked this hotel - it was quirky and personal and was an interesting place to stay. The lady on reception went out of her way to be helpful. Breakfast was good. Ghent great place to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hmmmmmmmmmmmmm_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

Ghent is a very good place to visit, and it is important to stay near the city center. This hotel is the perfect place to stay, because it is in front of the cathedral, and allows you to have near everything. The receptionist are kind people, the breakfast should improve in quality, the rooms are too simple. Good hotel in general, but they should continue improving the facilities.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jator-C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

This hotel has potential but only if they do something about the double glazing and add a few more creature comfort type touches. I had Room 1 on the first floor overlooking the road. I had 2 nights disturbed sleep from road noise, pedestrian noise and music from a bar. The room was clean, and warm and the curtaining was OK. The twin bed was large and comfortable. I complained about the noise and was offered a smaller room at the side of the premises but traffic noise could still be heard so we stayed put. The bathroom is shower only and no bathroom products other than a wall mounted liquid soap dispenser were provided nor were any face cloths. The mini bar is a communal one in the hall and doesn't have much to offer. Breakfast was adequate, ham ,cheese rolls, fruit juice etc. No cereal and warm coffee. Staff were helpful in providing maps and routes into town. The hotel is on a bus route which was handy for getting to the station where I parked. My room cost 104 euros per night which is cheapish for Ghent. There is now a 2.50 per person per day euro mayoral visitors tax in place. I have had better value for money at cheaper rates in central Brugge. With a little bit of effort this hotel could be a lot better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigVLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We enjoyed our stay in a large, newly decorated clean room. Decor was modern; bed very comfortable; linen & towels spotless; furniture & TV adequate. Didn't have breakfast so can't comment. We did request a quiet room & were given one overlooking a side street rather than the main road. Hotel about a five minute walk from the old center of Ghent so ideally situated for us.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MickGill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.6 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#13 of 39 in Ghent
358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Erasmus
Erasmus
#21 of 39 in Ghent
163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,054 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathedral

Address: Sint-Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £69 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Cathedral 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing