We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Cathedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cathedral
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Gent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great hotel in easy walking distance of all the main attractions. Hotel has a bar and restaurant that are in line with town prices
Great rooms they are so big and clean, with bed and large sofas.
Car parking was safe and secure.
Down side was no life?

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    97
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
30
107
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Our room was clean and comfy. The decor was a little dated but room was spotless and bathroom was new. The lobby area outside room 6 really smells of smoke. There's a little sitting area there and someone's been sucking back the durries. (The room was absolutely fine though). WiFi did not work in room whichever was frustrating but not a deal breaker.

Welcome was friendly and breakfast was generous continental. Pod Coffee machine in room, extra points for that!

Close to everything in centre of town and an easy tram ride from the st Peters train station.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lajetidreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a short visit to Ghent on business, I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room for the price I paid. Well decorated, good size and very comfortable. The owner was very helpful in recommending places to go in Ghent.

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank JimmyMac88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walsall
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012

Stayed here on 10th and 11th December and when we arrived rooms were ready along with the garage parking we had pre booked. The girl on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us guide books and maps for our stay, explained breakfast routine and showed us to our rooms. We had booked a triple room which was large had a seating are (with leather settee) TV pleanty of cupboards and space to put your clothing. The bathroom was very large it was very clean and well maintained with good quality fittings. breakfast was continental style and had the usual choices. The hotel was about 300 metres from the main square and St Baaf's and took us about 3 - 5 mins to walk. The hotel is on a main road and there is a little traffic noise if you are a light sleeper (luckily i'm not). From the outside the hotel does not do itself justice but please dont be put off as on the inside it is of a good standard. If i do go to Ghent again i will have no hesitation in booking this hotel

Room Tip: A room away from the main road for light sleepers
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HonestBobWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed here for one night. Check-in was really quick (and before check-in time, which was very convenient because of an early appointment). The room we had looked recently renovated, was clean, pretty large (and had a pretty small and old tv..) and the bathroom was spacious. The shower itself was a bit smaller. The personnel was very friendly and gave us tips where to go. The hotel is in a few minutes walking distance from the old centre of Ghent. I'd recommend this hotel when you want to visit the beautiful and old city of Ghent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Very helpful staff at this hotel. The room was huge for the price but on the main road so very noisy and it shook when lorries went past. There was a garage for parking but the one way system a bit of a nightmare

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#27 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#24 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathedral

Property: Hotel Cathedral
Address: Sint-Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cathedral 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Cathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing