We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Hotel Cathedral

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Cathedral
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Postojna
Level Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

All in all I think this hotel for being 'family' owned, could not be better, especially for this prices.

When we came to the hotel, we met the owner, who is a nice lady, very helpful and polite.

The rooms are much bigger then I expected, the bathroom is big as a room in some other hotels. We reserved a garage also which was perfect because you can go in the hotel directly from the garage and we just felt better with having our car off the street.

The rooms are very nice and clean. I personally love that the floors are wooden, I feel that is a kind of floor you can clean, you cannot properly clean a textile floor.

The stairs to the rooms are steep, but that is normal in Belgium also in homes where people live. That is their way of building stairs.

The hotel is next to the main street and very close to the centre, a few minute walk.

The dinning area where we had breakfast is very nice, tipical continental breakfast and even nice music.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inloveandtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    97
    39
    16
    5
See reviews for
30
107
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Not a huge amount wrong with this hotel, but for me at least this a 3 or at a push 4 rated hotel.

Well located, helpful staff and a nice breakfast. Huge rooms, let down by some poorly fitted and maintained fixtures and fittings. Note that the stairs to the accommodation are very steep - not a problem for us, but not great for kids or people with a lot of luggage.

It's worth noting that the hotel is located on a fairly busy street and because of this you might want to bring earplugs.

Overall not too bad, but I'm sure you could find better hotels in Gent, in the same price range.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve345uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice location and good service, but our room was average.
Very nice staff helped us make a reservation at an excellent restaurant. Further on she helped us finding the touristic centre and helped and advised us to find a parking spot as theirs was full and we forgot to make a reservation. The Cathedral is a 5 minutes walk, literally 300m away, which is ideal when walking to your hotel at night. Decent neighbourhood. The room itself was average and as there were stains in the carpet and some electricity cables loose coming out of the walls, this is a point where the hotel could improve. No Airco which was a little too warm in the summer. We had to close the window because of the traffic noise. Overall decent value for money and a great location plus good service, but do not expect too much of the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thijsvk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
232 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We stayed in room number 1 and it was great! A very spacious room, silent, perfect bed, nice shower and really close to the city center. And we didn't pay much, we got a promotional price. Breakfast was awesome! Attention: no elevator.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulaEstrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My other half booked the hotel for our two night stay so I hadn't seen any reviews, and was a little apprehensive when we first arrived. The decor is a little outdated but the room was spotlessly clean, with a great shower, and breakfast was just the continental style we needed before two meals out each day ! The manageress was very helpful and friendly, happy to provide us with any information we needed and book a taxi when we left.
The hotel is perfectly situated for the historic quarter and we spent a very happy two days wandering about with no need for taxis or trams at any point.
We would certainly stay here again on our next visit to Ghent.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Binty12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A fairly short walk from Dampoort station and from the old town, this hotel is ideally situated. My room was quiet. I had requested a room at the back of the hotel and this was given. It does mean that there was nothing to see out of the window but I was happy with that. The room was clean and comfortable with a big shower room. Breakfast very good. The stairs up were steep and narrow but not that much of a problem. I would stay here again, certainly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyP53
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a 2 night break in Ghent and stayed at the Hotel Cathedral. We were greeted by An and after a very simple check in she gave us maps and tourist info to get us started. The receptions closes at 10.00pm but no problem as tgere are plenty of bars around is you fancy a drink. Hotel very small but rooms large clean and comfortable. Would have bben nice if rooms had T&C making facilities.
Rooms quite noisey with traffic if you are on the front but didn't stop us sleeping soundly.
All in all not the luxury hotel but fantastic value for money and we will certainly be returning

Room Tip: Room 6 is a great room if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyP53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flandria Hotel
Flandria Hotel
#27 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel
Parkhotel
#24 of 37 in Ghent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cathedral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cathedral

Property: Hotel Cathedral
Address: Sint-Jacobsnieuwstraat 87, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Cathedral 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Cathedral reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing