We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bed in Gent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed in Gent
Ranked #4 of 113 Ghent B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
637 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

All those positive reviews are very true. This is a wonderful place to stay. I will try to add some information to what you already know.

If you have a car, parking is very convenient and reasonably priced. Tom was kind enough to ride with my husband around the block to show him the parking area and how to purchase the parking tickets. There is a code for the front door and Tom made sure it worked for us before he let us go out. This is the kind of consideration that makes this such a great place.

We have recently gone wheat free and Tom went out of his way to meet our needs at breakfast and with his restaurant recommendations. His recommendations are excellent and were well suited to our request for something not too far away and reasonably priced.

Our 1st floor room was very spacious as was the bathroom. I found the pillows a bit hard but not a problem. The bedside lighting, so often lacking, was outstanding. I could see what I was reading without lighting the entire room. WiFi worked very well and was easy to access. The stairs are steep but Tom will probably insist on carrying your luggage. Without a suitcase, the stairs are not a problem unless you have real mobility issues.

Bed in Gent is a place we hope to visit again. There is a lot to see and do in this city and this is the perfect home base from which to do it.

Room Tip: We were up one flight of stairs and that was fine. Two might have been a bit uncomfortable but we d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
121
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed in Tom's place in March. It is lovely - mid century furniture, stylish, warm, spotless,delicious breakfast and well located near Damport station. Tom is the perfect host - warm and informative, and loves his city. A fabulous big bath, lots of hot water, thick towels, and a record player. Very relaxing. If you like faceless hotels with all the extras, then this is not the place for you. It is quirky e.g. no TV, narrow unpainted (but in an artful way) stairs. But it had everything we wanted and needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

We spent four nights at Bed in Ghent during an unseasonably cold week in March. It was ideal. The location is perfect: just a few blocks from the Dampoort RR station and a short walk across a few bridges to the historic center. You feel in the midst of everything without feeling surrounded by tourists. The room was great: spacious and light, comfortable bed, luxurious towels, and with lots of clever touches including a turntable with albums instead of a TV. The room was also very warm despite the cold weather. Breakfast was just what one would want: fresh bread and pastries, homemade jam, interesting organic cheeses, yogurt, cereal, granola, fruit... And Tom is the perfect host: warm and engaging and full of excellent suggestions for places to eat and museums to visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laverdun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Just returned from a 6 night stay at Bed in Gent. I can only echo what the previous reviews say.
Room was clean and spacious with a large bed and a record player instead of a TV, with a selection of records to play. Large bathroom - we were on the first floor and this had a bath rather than a shower but with those shower mixer taps so it wasn't a problem. Large thick towels. No hairdryer in the room, but I just asked and Tom provided one - and a proper powerful one, not like some hotel ones that throw out a little bit of warm air.

We were there on a really cold week when several inches of snow came down overnight but the room and the bathroom both had large radiators that we could adjust ourselves so the room was always nice and cosy to come back to after being out in the cold all day.

The breakfast consisted of cereal, yogurt, egg, cheeses, bread and pastries and homemade jam, juice and of course as much tea or coffee as you wanted . There was plenty and all local fresh products. We only needed a cake and coffee during the day to keep us going until dinner.

The location is good, being close to Dampoort station for trips out of Ghent and also a short walk to the historic centre of Ghent.

Tom is a great host who instantly makes you feel welcome and points out some interesting places on the map and clearly is proud of his city. His restaurant recommendations were good (Het Gooden Hoofd and Multatuli) and also Simon Says who do a really good coffee and have a great lively atmosphere (if you can find a seat as it always busy). He mentioned the Dr Guislain museum which we found fascinating and would probably have missed otherwise.

We really enjoyed our trip to Belgium and Ghent is a great city that we didn't see enough of. Hopefully we can return soon when it is a bit warmer and when we do, it will be to Bed in Gent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

Bed in Ghent is very well situated to see Gent - a very short walk from one of the stations, in a quiet part of the city, but a short walk from the historic centre. Tom is an excellent host - very knowledgeable about the city, lots of tips of places to go and see. We had the top floor, and it was very very good. Clean, big comfy bed, big room, big bathroom, loads of hot water. And the room came with its own record player and selection of records. Tremendous. Excellent breakfast - fresh rolls, cakes from local bakery; excellent cheese, really excellent, from nearby supplier. We would definitely stay here again. As a city, we much preferred Gent to Brugges.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gforsyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

We loved our time in Ghent and a huge reason why is Tom and his B&B. The experience was absolutely perfect. We arrived on bicycles during a heat wave after a very tiring 100 km ride from Breda with all of our things and Tom immediately helped us to refreshments and made sure our bikes were brought in and kept in a secure spot. Our room was absolutely perfect. Huge charming space with a great selection of books and tastefully decorated. We had the windows open and the light glowed off of the flowers growing in planter boxes on either side of each window. A very nice way to unwind after what was the longest (and hottest) ride of our 12 days of cycling around Belgium and The Netherlands. The breakfast was perfect and Tom's advice on restaurants really improved our visit to Ghent. It was great meeting Tom and staying at this B&B. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Ghent on future visits unless this one was already booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Bed in Gent is a wonderful, slightly quirky B & B - near historic centre of Ghent but in a quiet residential area. The star of the show is Tom who is an excellent host and very interesting to talk to. The room was spacious and comfortable with a record player and vinyl records to keep you amused, plus a selection of books and radio - a peaceful way to spend the evening without intrusive TV! Breakfast was delicious with plenty of fresh baked goods and homemade jams. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.9 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#7 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed in Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed in Gent

Property: Bed in Gent
Address: Lucas Munichstraat 18, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 113 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A roomy guest-house, the bright south-oriented bathrooms and the shared dining room with a dash of modern retro - really, do not skip breakfast in that dining room.Also a friendly neighborhood, very much alive (without the rush). A fashionable quarter, if you like, with the marina nearby. It takes a five-minute walk to the railway station. Only ten minutes to my favorite coffee shop or the library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed In Gent Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing