We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed (&brekkie) in Ghent”
Review of Bed in Gent

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ghent
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bed in Gent
Ranked #8 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed at Tom's lovely B & B for 2 nights in June and it was a real treat. Tom is a great host, he gave us an excellent orientation to Ghent, prepared delicious breakfasts and gave us great ideas re places to visit and great cafe/restaurant recommendations. The room we stayed in is on the first floor is light and airy with lovely decor and a bath - a bonus after a long day cycling! We liked staying out of the main town centre where there was a village atmosphere, but we were only a 5 -10 minute walk back into town and 5 min to the nearest station. Thanks Tom!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room on the first floor and it was very comfortable. The stairs are quite steep but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McGonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

My partner, myself, and our 6 month old son on his first journey stayed 3 lovely nights with Tom at Bed in Gent. And we are so happy we were able to have this comfortable, personal, and enjoyable stay.

We stayed in the top floor room, which does (as some have mentioned) have a steep set of steps to get to; however, we were fit and careful and it afforded us a spacious, immaculately clean, and comfortable stay. The bathroom and tub/shower en suite is terrific as well, and it is in a nice quiet residential neighbourhood 5 minutes walk from Dampoort Train Station and 10-15 minutes into the centre of Gent. It's a great spot for a quiet night's sleep.

Tom was the perfect host. Great at answering questions in advance, provided a personal touch and really genuinely enjoys getting to know his guests and cater to their individual interests and needs, and he has many good recommendations for how to make the most of your stay in Gent. I think he's running a very professional and personable operation here, and his breakfasts fueled us for the day and was a lovely start with conversation - made you feel right at home.

Great value and an incredible host experience. Thank you, Tom! We'd be lucky to return and hope to one day soon!

Room Tip: If you have any young children (that you can't carefully carry yourself) or mobility issues, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geefmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Tom is the host with the most. Very homey stay. Very comfortable top room with deep soaking tub not in historic center so quiet reigns. Breakfast is sumptuous. Fee is quite reasonable. Wifi is excellent. Clean beyond clean.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay with Tom. He had great recommendations for things to do and restaurants to try. Warm welcome and wonderful host!
The B&B is a 5 minute walk to the center of town. It was great to be out of the tourist hustle and bustle so I recommend it if you are searching for something relaxing and calm but close to the action. There are quite a lot of stairs in the house so it isn't practical for small children or people who have trouble climbing stairs. We stayed in the room on the second floor which had lots of light and beautiful high valuted ceilings- plenty of space. Breakfast was good with an assortment of fresh pasteries, cereal, bread, cheese and boiled eggs. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: spacious bathroom and bedroom on the 2nd floor; highly recommended for a romantic weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller2927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Two-room B&B run by very kind and helpful Tom. The building is rather old, with all the charm this brings and only a few minor inconveniences (like noisy neighbours, which did not happen to us). The location is very convenient both for the train station and for the centre. Tom was fantastic to our six-year old daughter, trying to satisfy all her wishes. He cooked and provided a very tasty breakfast for all of us, buying local produces at local, organic shops. He helped us immensely with train schedules, museum openings, playgrounds, etc. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor more spacious, if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Federica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

SInmply outstanding. Tom was an excellent host, happy to help with reservations, directions and tips on what to see. The breakfast was more than sufficient with pastries, eggs, cereals, yoghurt and his mum's homemade jam was a great personal touch. The room was clean and well-kept.
The B&B is also in a good location - a short walk from the historical centre and close to one of the railway stations.
All in all, Ben in Gent is a good example of the personal touch and consideration that has been lost in the large hotel chains.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandlern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed at Bed in Gent the first part of December for three nights (sorry about the late review Tom). My husband and myself stayed on the first floor and my sister and her husband stayed on the second floor. Both rooms were excellent, roomy and clean. We picked Bed in Gent after reading all the wonderful reviews and we were not disappointed. The location is great, being just a few minutes walk from the Gent Dampoort Station and an easy stroll to the city centre. The breakfast was plentiful with fresh baked goods,pastries, endless coffee, eggs, a variety of cheeses and jams, etc. Tom was a delightful host and nothing was too much trouble for him. The moment you asked him a question he was immediately looking up information for you. We would certainly recommend this B & B to anyone visiting Gent. We have to say that Tom is a man who is extremely proud of his city! Thank you Tom for being so helpful!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WillowWindsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,222 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.7 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.5 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 38 in Ghent
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed in Gent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed in Gent

Address: Lucas Munichstraat 18, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: £53 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A roomy guest-house, the bright south-oriented bathrooms and the shared dining room with a dash of modern retro - really, do not skip breakfast in that dining room.Also a friendly neighborhood, very much alive (without the rush). A fashionable quarter, if you like, with the marina nearby. It takes a five-minute walk to the railway station. Only ten minutes to my favorite coffee shop or the library. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bed In Gent Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing