We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food at a Reasonable Price”

Eetkaffee Multatuli
Ranked #47 of 857 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian, European, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I found this place looking at recommendations from locals on other websites. Had I looked at Trip Advisor, I probably wouldn't have considered it.

My husband and I both ordered the Flemish stew. We received a lot of food! We got a plate of salad and a big bowl of frites with homemade mayonnaise. The stew arrived in a large pot for us to share. I have had the stew in several restaurants in Belgium and this was the best I've ever had! The meat falls apart and is so flavorful.

For the price, we received a generous amount of food and we did not leave hungry in the slightest.

Like everywhere we visited in Gent, the wait staff speaks English and were very friendly. I wish I would've found this place sooner so I could've gone back and tried something else on the menu. This is definitely a gem!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bevyrage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    79
    19
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“delicious!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Good food and lovely atmosphere. we would recommand you to visit multatuli when the terras is opened.
Everything they make is home made and fresh!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank InezVh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Quality at a Fair Price”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had the traditional Flemish Fish Stew for 19 Euros. It was perfect. The sauce was delicate and tasty not overwhelming the delicious chunks of fresh fish. The portion was huge. You could share this with a friend. I will eat there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jefre O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food for an honest price”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Flemish cuisine with some oriental influence. The food is very good. The meals are prepared with fresh ingredients. Portions are rather large and the french fries are to die for. The restaurant has a large inner court used which makes it an excellent choice for diner during summer.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank charlesleflamand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not a good mains meal”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Our second visit after a lovely meal here 6 months before. This time we had fewer choices and I. Was not particularly comfortable with any of them. The service was good, and the decor pleasant. Staff were friendly and accommodating. My major disappointment was with the mains. There were few choices and I went with the most interesting-wild pigeon. The breasts were cold, tough and importantly still contained two pellets of shot. I was not happy particularly given the great meal in our previous visit.

Helpful?
Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Eetkaffee Multatuli also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Eetkaffee Multatuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing