We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!”
Review of Su'ro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Su'ro
Ranked #23 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!”
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We recently stayed for three nights at Su'ro. We were in Sylvie and were very impressed - the room is large, with more than enough space for two people, a comfortable bed, a spacious shower (what a joy after tiny hotel ones!) and lots of little extras, like mineral water and a chocolate each day! Kris is a superb host - he took the time to check out places for us to eat (we arrived the day after the festival and many places took a well-earned break!), gave us excellent advice about the town, cooked a lovely breakfast and made us feel special! Many thanks, Kris! We will certainly stay at Su'ro when we next visit Gent! The location is great - just a short walk to the museums, an easy bus ride to the town centre and a great mix of all ages! And, as an extra, Kris makes delicious ice cream in his cafe which is just a few minutes away!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamhetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    26
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
84
14
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We recently stayed for two nights at Kris' Su'ro Bed and Breakfast and found everything just as good as others had described. We were in the room called Sylvie and had a very comfortable bed, and a great en-suite bathroom. The stairs are steep but safe and quite easy to use. The room was perfectly clean and well presented - the piece of chocolate and the provision of tea, coffee as well as a bottle of sparkling water, added to the perfection. We were able to breakfast in the garden with Kris and enjoyed his company as well as the wealth of useful information he was able to provide. Kris really is the ideal host and we certainly hope to return one day to his friendly hospitality.

We enjoyed eating at a vegetarian restaurant he recommended not far away and finished off a warm evening with an excellent home-made ice cream from the Bar Italiano, also run by the very active Kris. The B&B is a good walk from the city centre but Kris also lends his travel card to visitors to reduce the cost of the bus home when you are exhausted from sight-seeing in Gent. Kris is hardworking, generous and very friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YohoBoho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pendleton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I spent 2 nights at Su'ro in Gent, Belgium with my girlfriend, we had the room Sandra, and had a fantastic experience. From the beginning Kris the owner went above and beyond expectations to provide information and stimulating conversation. From our arrival Kris provided us with tourist information, and recommendations on places to eat and tour. He even went as far as to provide a bus and tram card as long as we reimburse usage on the card. The room was great, and it was wonderful to see all of steps towards being environmentally conscious.

The B&B is on a quiet street about 1km from the train station and adjacent to busses to the city center. Rooms are on the upper levels, which can be difficult with heavy bags, but Kris is more than happy to help in this situation. Kris provides an excellent European style breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice and hot coffee, along with pastries, etc. this was a truly great way of startig the morning.

I strongly recommend Su'ro for your next stay in Gent, I plan to stay there on mine!

Room Tip: There are two rooms in this B&B, you cannot go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nyteowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have spent two nights here with my girlfriend to visit Ghent during the weekend. We were in the room "Sylvie". The place was extremely nice, perfect for a couple, with a private shower and toilet. The owner of the B&B, Kris, has been extremely helpful, always providing us with precious suggestions about places to visit or where to have dinner/buy presents and souvenirs.
He borrowed us his bicycles to reach the center and helped us getting the train tickets to Brugge. We highly recommend this place for anyone who wants to visit Ghent!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franske_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We had a very pleasant stay in this B&B. It was everything you could hope for; quiet, clean, well equipped. There is an emphasis on being environmentally sound in the house which adds an extra dimension (LED lights, recycling etc). The owner offered plentiful (and very useful) advice about places to visit, eat etc as well as buses. The morning we were there, the weather was lovely and we could have breakfast in the garden with its beautiful aspect facing the church behind. Breakfast was plentiful and the owner was discreet, not wishing to disturb us. He was, however, happy to chat when we initiated it. We chose this place because it is close to the station (10-15 mins walk) and not too far from the centre (easily walkable and even quicker by the regular bus). Overall a place to recommend wholeheartedly.

Room Tip: Only two or three rooms: One has a double bed and one has two singles. No noise issues at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

2 days before our trip I got the dreaded email saying our original b&b was closed!! The only place with space for all of us was Su'Ro. Ended up being a wonderful stroke of luck. It's a lovely, modern, and clean b&b with great amenities. It's a little out of the city centre but a very easy walk or bus ride. Our host Kris made us a lovely home cooked breakfast and went out of his way to make sure we had all of the information, maps, and recommendations we needed, even cheap bus passes! Would recommend staying in his warm and cosy b&b to everyone!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Despite having a workload that makes Alan Sugar seem like a three-toed sloth, Kris somehow found the time to be extremely helpful with info about Gent and beyond. The room was great, as was the breakfast. I'd happily stay at Su'ro again.

Room Tip: Sylvie was the room I had, I'm sure Sandra is equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel Ghent
Astoria Hotel Ghent
#9 of 37 in Ghent
233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
0.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castel
Hotel Castel
#24 of 37 in Ghent
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Lieven Bauwens
B&B Lieven Bauwens
#31 of 115 in Ghent
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Su'ro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Su'ro

Property: Su'ro
Address: Vlierstraat 57, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our totally renovated house. Our Bed and Breakfast is located in a quiet neigborhood just outside the old center. We offer 2 rooms with all comfort. Good connection with commun transport. With the Green Key recognition. Choose a holiday that's kind on the environment. In obtaining the Green Key label, we have undertaken to operate sustainably. Water, energy and waste are used carefully, without compromising on comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Su'ro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing