We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Geertje Henckens Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this bed & breakfast visiting Ghent for a spring break in April 2014, and the place was everything we hoped for and more!
The location is perfect on a quiet street (although most streets downtown will be quiet I think), within walking distance of all downtown sights and Korelei/Graslei. It even has a splendid restaurant right on the corner (Lepelblad), so you don't even have to cross the canal for a good meal if you so wish.
We ate at the T'oud clooster too, but found the food there uninteresting and the service pretty bad.
But the best about Geertje Henckens is the atmosphere created with great care for detail by the fabulous landlady and her husband.
We had room / studio 217, which has indeed a steep staircase, but it's well worth the climb!
The breakfast room, neatly laid with old china is a true delight and the selection of marmalades, cheese and bread gave us a good start of the day before treading out to explore the town on foot or on the bikes they provided for us!
And what to say about the charming courtyard with the singing canaries! We would definitely stay there again if we were to revisit Ghent, as we very well might. A truly charming city!

Room Tip: 217 is a spacious studio, but the staircase both to the studio and to the bedroom inside the studio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstiAthens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed for a night here before travelling to Oudenaarde for de Ronde, we found the location excellent - very central and easy walking distance to the centre of town. The B&B itself was very quirky, with some very homely touches and lots of interesting trinkets on the walls and hallways. A lovely internal courtyard garden would be a great place to sit in summer.

Our room was at the top of the building and had two levels and lots of space. It was unfortunately quite noisy at night (it was a Friday) due to a lot of chatter and kitchen sounds coming from a neighbouring restaurant who had opened their rear windows...our windows were not so soundproof when shut!

The owners of the B&B were very welcoming and even laid out a breakfast for us when we got up at 6am on Saturday before our journey to Oudenaarde. Good value overall at EUR75 for a night with breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We booked 3 bedrooms for a long weekend exploring Ghent. The B&B is a stunning building 5 minutes walk from the medieval centre with an internal courtyard,overlooked by the breakfast room & lovely quirky bedrooms (lots of stairs so not great if restricted mobility). Breakfast was fresh & substantial & the welcome was warm & genuine but it was a bit unexpected that rooms weren’t serviced for the 3 nights whilst we were there. However a great place & I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mechanogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Just by chance we found this lovely B&B but we totally felt in love with everything here, from the friendly and very helpful host to the clean and cozy apartment. We stayed 13 nights and it was not just bed and breakfast that were provided, it was home. I am strongly recommended this awesome place to you guys who want to spend your time in beautiful Gent.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hihale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here last year, August 2012, it was fantastic. the house had so much character. We went for the Leonard Cohen concerts and found it very convenient. Geertje was lovely, the breakfasts were amazing, she had gone to a lot of trouble to provide really fresh food beautifully presented. We were also able to use her kitchen if we decided to eat in her little garden.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caceres, Spain
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We booked this B&B for 2 nights. We asked for a room with 2 twin beds and were given the room with 2 stories for 4 people which was great. One of the downsides is that since this room was in the upper floor, it had quite a few sets of stairs, which is a little inconvenient if you're travelling with heavy luggage but oh well.

The owner gave us a key with a number that we had to enter in an outside pannel in order to get into the B&B when we wanted which was really useful and practical.

The room had a very big bed in one of the floors and you could find 2 more twin beds walking up the little stairs in the room (be careful when using them). The room was really spacious and pretty and the toilet was also very clean. The bed was really comfortable.

The only downsides I can find are the WIFI, which was very weak and intermitent (it was free) and the TV, which is really small and it only has Belgian channels I think, although I don't care much about the TV. It doesn't have air conditioning but we didn't need even though it was quite hot during the day. Curtains however do let a lot of light in in the morning so you'll get up early.

Breakfast was good. The owner takes care of every little detail. She served us some youghurt with fresh strawberries and a piece of chocolate. There's also different types of bread, cereals, fruit, eggs, different sweet spreads, etc. I would have liked to pastries or croissants or something like that, which is the type of breakfast we're used to where I live but it was fine and the setup was beautiful.

The B&B is in a very good location, within walking distance from the main square and attractions.

The owner was very friendly and she also has a lovely little puppy! :)

I recommend it, for 75€ with breakfast it's very good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angitaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This B&B is located in a wonderful building with high ceilings, great details and a lovely garden, on walking distance from the main attractions. We booked a 3-persons room and got a room for 4 people with two floors. The room was fully equipped and nicely decorated. Like the other reviewers said before, the breakfast was superb. A chocolate to start with, fresh fruit and fruit juices, different kinds of bread, cheese, eggs, marmalade and much more.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura293950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Onderbergen
Hotel Onderbergen
#11 of 37 in Ghent
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
Schopenhauer
Schopenhauer
#16 of 115 in Ghent
35 reviews
0.2 mi away
Drabstraat 2
Drabstraat 2
#10 of 34 in Ghent
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allegra-Nova Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Puerto Patershol B&B
Puerto Patershol B&B
#22 of 34 in Ghent
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chambres D'hotes Hotel Verhaegen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geertje Henckens Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geertje Henckens Bed and Breakfast

Property: Geertje Henckens Bed and Breakfast
Address: Zwartezustersstraat 3, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Geertje Henckens Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing