We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant restaurant”
Review of Cafe Leffe - CLOSED

Cafe Leffe
Cuisines: Belgian, European
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A good enough restaurant with a basic menu and quick service. Not a patch on what it used to be when it was "Pascalino's" years ago but worth a visit if you are not looking for a major gastronomic experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mfpcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    14
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Youlgreave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A good, old-style Flemish cafe”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A dark, rather old fashioned interior is a clue to the general traditional style of this cafe, untouched, it seems, by the passage of time. The welcome is there although restrained & Flemish in style but the food is good value and well cooked, the steak was praised by diners in our group and from my own experience, I know that the local dishes of Waterzooi, with chicken or, better still, fish and the rich, delicious carbonnade flamande were both excellent choices. The choice of beers is extensive and one waiter, rather like a slightly taller Danny DeVito, makes a minor art form of pouring it from bottles into the correct glass for each type & brand. Desserts are a little predictable but the waffles are warm and fresh and everything is well served, the portions generous and there is cream with everything!
On one group visit there, the efficient staff were very patient & helpful in letting 10 diners pay for their meals individually and we left feeling very well fed, relaxed and at peace with the world. The beer helps ... !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a godsend”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Very friendly; excellent steak and good beer. Good value too. A godsend after a long day's travelling

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MARILYN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Horrible experience: avoid!”
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What a shameful way to treat two old ladies! We were part of a group who wanted coffee or tea and a cake. The coffee was fine, but the "English Breakfast" teabag had some strange lychee flavour which was disgusting to taste. Firstly, my friend, who cannot drink coffee, complained to them quietly and respectfully. Then I pointed out that their 'thee karte' did not give the lychee flavour in its description (I understand enough Dutch to have read it correctly). It was then that the owner started shouting in such a way that I was so distressed that I was having difficulty getting the correct money to them. Eventually I did, but in the meantime two males had started shouting for us to leave - but obviously we had to pay even though the tea was vile and undrinkable. Just a horrible experience. Others in the group witnessed this and told us that they had refused to leave a tip based on experiencing this vile episode. Nasty people. Others also complained about their behaviour - they were just ignored when they said goodbye etc. What a way to treat visitors to your city. You'd have thought they would have been more inviting as their cafe was empty except for us. Our guide has said that she will no longer suggest people go there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Agapanthus10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford
Level Contributor
138 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Central location”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This is a well run bar with really good food. Very clean and despite its name does lots of other beers. Worth a visit.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank patmar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Leffe also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing