We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location but quiet sleep! Felt like home”

Allegra-Nova Bed & Breakfast
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Allegra-Nova Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #33 of 115 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Excellent location and value for money. The b&b is located only a short walk from the Castle and Tourism office, on a side street which is also very quiet. The flat is cozy and warm, and the breakfast was just perfect! Andre was very helpful in indicating local restaurants and pubs. We would definitely go back, it truly felt like home!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ff864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2013

This place is excellent value for money, and well located if you are keen to explore the city centre. I had the upstairs apartment, which was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Free wi-fi was awesome, and the breakfast arrangement was perfect (they stock the fridge and you make your own breakfast). The owner, Andre, was really helpful and efficient, but also left me to get on with things myself, which is what I prefer. I would definitely recommend staying here over one of the more expensive hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

This b&b is in the city centre. A parking is right in front! We had the allegra suite which is in the 1st floor of a nice house. It's a small flat with a first room where you find a sofa, tv, a table for eating, a kitchen, than you have the second room with the bed and a very nice bathroom with shower. everything is exactly like the pictures you find their website. A very good place to stay even for a whole week! I highly recommend it! It's not like an impersonal hotel room! It's nicely decorated, you feel like you are home, in Gent!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caro7895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights last May. We rented the "Fatima Suite" on the ground floor; it was very spacious consisting of a bedroom, a living room/kitchenette and even a small outdoor "garden". This B&B is conveniently located on a very quiet street in the pedestrian centre of Gent about 100m from a stop for the #1 tram which connects the St Pieters railway station to the city centre. It is not a true B&B but the ingredients for breakfast are provided in the mini fridge and fresh bread/croissants are delivered daily to the door. The owner Andre is a very busy man but every time we needed something it was just a matter of leaving a note by the door and our needs were taken care off in short order. Andre had also excellent suggestions for good and reasonably priced restaurants. Another plus is the mini Carrefour on the corner which has a good selection of lunch supplies, bread, fresh fruit, beer and wine. Allegra-Nova is an ideal choice for the independent traveler to explore the beautiful town of Gent; all the major attractions are either within walking distance or just a tramstop or two away.

Note: because the owners are not always on site it is important to have Andre's cell phone number with you so you can call him to let you in when you first arrive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frits1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

It is very quite yet central, with a tram stop and a Carrefour supermarket literally round the corner - less than a minute walk. Only three appartments in this house, with the owner's on top. Very pleasant entrance area with two big lovely chairs and a side table full of maps etc.

Our aptmt on the 1st floor had a separate bedroom with lovely balconette and ensuite (shower, toilet, sink, toiletries, hair dryer and towels), separate kitchenette(microwave, egg cooker, kettle, senseo coffee machine, and a sink with wash up liquid, choice of crockery and cutlery) with a bright diner/sitting area- big sofa, flat tv, table with 4 chairs, and a writing desk.
Fridge with a supply of fresh juice, sliced ham and cheese, jam, butter, yoghurt and milk, ready for two nights. Fresh rolls and croissants delivered just outside the door every day by the nice owner, coffee, tea, and muesli available in the cupboard.

We loved the home-like comfort here so much that we spent more time in the aptmt than initially planned. In that time we had the strangest thing happen to us twice - the owner trying to open the door without knocking..
Luckily, on both occasions we had the door locked with the key in so no indecent surprises for anyone. Upon opening the door, the owner would just ask if everything was fine. We found it so strange and surreal we just didn't know what to say..

The only things you may be missing here are a blanket when snuggling op on that sofa, and a place to hang your coat, even if in the doorway outside. But these are small things which can only make your stay extra comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brummig07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

It's vey nice to have a bedroom and a small livingroom with some kitchen equipment (not for real cooking, but to make tea and coffee and there's a microwave). A clean and modern bedroom and bathroom. Location is perfect, you can walk to the old town (graslei, St Braafscathedral, Gravensteen castle, Patershol). We really enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteKoeken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

Take your own pillow. However, this holds for any trip throughout Belgium as all of their 'pillows' are couch cushion in disguise. We were in a group of 5 and were looking for a last minute place to stay that wasn't grossly overpriced. We paid 170 euro for the night (35 a head) and what we got in return was unbelievable value. Exceeded the highest of expectation. A modern, clean two room villa style apartment with an ensuite, bedding for 5, big fluffy doonas, egg boiler, coffee making machine, breakfast in the fridge (ham, cheese, eggs, juice, jam and croissants delivered to the door in the morning), towels etc. Just needed a half decent pillow.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.6 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
Holiday Inn Gent Expo
#19 of 39 in Ghent
655 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 39 in Ghent
2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Allegra-Nova Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Allegra-Nova Bed & Breakfast

Address: Ramen 24, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: £73 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Allegra-Nova Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing