We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous!”
Review of Hotel Onderbergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Onderbergen
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

A last minute trip to the beautiful city of Ghent furnished my friend and I with a chance to stay at this fantastic hotel. A motorcycle tour on a very hot week, led to a stop over and a last minute booking with the help of Amy (an absolute star). A hotel very near to the centre of town but far enough from the noise, in the perfect location adjoined to Patrick Foley's irish bar (what a wonderful breakfast). In short, great rooms, great service, and great price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 254graeme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in May 2011 and had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful with modern/quirky furnisings and a comfortable homely atmosphere. I especially loved how the hotel was joined on to Patrick Foley's Irish bar with lovely staff (I belive the same staff own the hotel), good food and a eer garden/courtyard area. Would highly recommend!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

The most amazing hotel I think I've ever stayed in...great value for money. Immaculate styling, cleanliness and absolute romance!

The double bed was huge, showers powerful and hot, bath deep and luxurious. Beautiful chandellier. Could not fault the hotel or room in the slightest.

Brilliant value for money. So, so pleased with this choice (felt like we'd won the hotel lottery jackpot!!!)

Only one piece of advice for future travellers...bring your own toiletries as the ones provided are adequate, but the bath deserves something special (no moisturiser or conditioner provided)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LeicesterLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

I stayed at Hotel Onderbergen with my mother, as I was recovering from surgery and she was caring for me. The staff could not be more hospitable and kind (particularly Aimee) as they went above and beyond to help myself and mother if we needed anything. The Irish pub/restaurant below served excellent food with a friendly and attentive Irish waitstaff.

The rooms are modern and lovely and bathrooms are immaculate. There is even SKY TV with all the UK stations, which is great if you find yourself wanting to curl up in your room on a cold night in Belgium.

The only small negative I would say is that the staircase on the top floor is quite steep, so beware if you have children or elderly parents traveling with you.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukvisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

enjoyed my stay in this hotel. friendly staff. good location near everything. recommend the bar in front of the hotel. will come back

Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank discopig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

The only thing i could mention, is that - as a dutch traveller - you could be talking to an english-only person at the phone - desk. And no elevator. Be prepared for a steep stair.
The room was great. Big bed, nice shower, even a bath next to your bed!
Tv with satelite, allthough the reception for dutch channels was not great.
Near the center, but still very quiet. Parking is only 5min walk.

Room Tip: I was in room 12: a steep stair, but worthwhile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter_Maasmechelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2011

Perfect beds, beautiful rooms, enjoyable showerdouche, clean, silent and close to the city center! And free wi-fi as well...!

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cocume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.6 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onderbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onderbergen

Address: Onderbergen 69, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £71 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Onderbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onderbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing