We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Ghent”
Review of Hotel Onderbergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Onderbergen
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a good hotel with really nice staff.

Its location is good: in the middle of the city with all main sights within walking distance, but in quiet surroundings. The hotel is nicely styled with very colorful rooms and hallways. It looks like it has been recently renovated.

The room was clean with a large bathroom and all amenities needed. The room itself was not very big, but it looked nice. One small issue was that our bathroom wasn't supplied with toilet paper and the trash bin hadn't been emptied, but this was quickly sorted out by the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They answered our prior enquiries that we sent them by e-mail quickly and were very kind upon our arrival.

The hotel has an arrangement with the attached Irish Pub Patrick Foley's where you can have breakfast for about 10 euro and also enjoy other meals or drinks in the courtyard which is a nice place to sit on a sunny afternoon.

The hotel advertises with a private parking lot but beware that there is room for only 3 cars there, so make sure to have a confirmed reservation well ahead of time if you are coming by car. In any case there are public guarded underground car parks nearby that are relatively cheap, in case you are not able to park your car at the hotel.

In short, this hotel is recommended because it is clean, friendly, and nicely styled and finds itself in an excellent location. I would go here again or recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank due_passi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (357)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

We only booked here because the hotel the rest of our party was staying in was full .... phew. Steps from the city centre, down a quiet semi pedestrianised street (not an alley), huge very comfortable bed, big bathroom with great power shower and a bath you could get lost in, UK TV channels and radio, lovely helpful reception staff, secure safe parking, very reasonably priced mini bar (never seen a glass bottle of coke or a beer in a mini bar for 2 euros). Spotlessly clean hotel, everywhere. The only downside was that we only stayed for 1 night, shame. We will stay longer next time. (much better than the large chain the rest of our party was staying in by all accounts, hehe)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madrileno_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Beautifully styled hotel with unique looking and very clean rooms.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here as the hotel is very centrally located but just off the main roads so still nice and quiet. The room we had was very spacious, the double bed was huge and the shower was wonderful. The staff in both the hotel and the pub/restaurant that it's connected to were very friendly, very helpful and work very had to make sure you're every need is met. Very nice atmosphere in the pub and very good food as well.
Couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

got to the hotel around 5.30 and found a door in an alley with a sign next to it and thought hmm... as soon as you get inside however you cannot help but be impressed.

Extremely clean and fresh with amazing rooms that are just perfect in every way.

Would definitely recommend a stay here..

Room Tip: pop through to the irish bar for a bite to eat and a nice pint of guinness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonny g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

This hotel was a little gem. great location; close enough to the historic center but far enough from the hustle and bustle (although historic ghent does not really bustle...restaurants closed at 10 on sunday!) our room was FANTASTIC. it's the room you see in the pictures where the tub is on 4 legs in the middle of the room. it's also the one with the great wooden beams supporting the roof.

I had originally booked a cheaper room but i emailed them and inquired as to the price of that particular room with the tub (room12) but also to see pictures of the room i had originally booked. they promptly replied and sent pictures of our original room, which we were satisfied enough with since we didn't want to break the bank. to our surprise when we checked in, they had upgraded us to the room we really wanted( room 12), but for the price of the cheaper room!!

NEGATIVE: we came at around 4pm (like we had emailed them we were going to arrive) it took forever for someone to open the door, and there was construction near them which made me feel a little uneasy with the construction workers. the girl who eventually opened it actually worked at the irish pub connected to the hotel and she didnt have a very friendly attitude. when we checked out, we left our bags to do last minute sightseeing with the actual hotel staff in the morning, but again in the afternoon the hotel staff was not there and it was that pub girl who again answered the door with "oh. it's you guys again." ...not very nice. otherwise, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: room 12! our room was FANTASTIC. it's the room you see in the pictures where the tub is on 4 leg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel the 5.3.2012. The reception is not always open, at around 5 pm it's closed. When checking in you have to ring and wait for somebody coming to open and it takes too long. There is no lift and the stairs are really steep. No hairdryer in the room. We asked for two keys and we could get two for the front door but only one for the room itself. Very friendly girl at the reception.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andepra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Nice modern assembled rooms in an old central located building. inside wooden stairs maintained, can be disturbing if other guests are kreeping up the same. Bars and resto's are around the corner. Very kind service, even with kids possible. Breakfast up in your room. Limited parking places inside the hotel but parking garages close by. cost about six euro per night. likely next time again

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msiotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
622 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.6 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#10 of 39 in Ghent
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onderbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onderbergen

Address: Onderbergen 69, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £72 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Onderbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Onderbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing