We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cute b&b in Ghent”
Review of Hotel Onderbergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onderbergen
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This bed and breakfast was really worth the money spent. It is quite centrally located in Ghent. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. The staff is very kind and pleasant. I would recommend it for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dicklaurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

In a small side street in the centre of Gent the Onderbergen , Owned By and Irishman ! Run by very friendly belgium and English staff, Its a boutique hotel every room different , Like all city centres you have to think about parking but in normal belgium efficency theres plenty , right in the centre so acess to local shops , resturants and sights is all a few mins walk . I love this city its quirky , friendly , great food , Lots to do . The Hotel is fantastic , at the front is the Irish Bar and Pub grub that would challenge your mothers cooking . There is no noise from the bar to to Hotel so a goods night sleep ensured . I have stayed a many times . Ask for the room with the bath in the middle - Fill with hot soapy water and take a rubber duck - You only live once ,

Will return many times , Its got WiFi , Great Food , Good Prices , You can book a parking space .

See You soon

Andrew

Room Tip: Every One in different theres one with a free stading bath in the room - Go for it its such a laugh
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrew m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Although the location is not the most spectacular in town, it is close to everything in town (in particular the Sunday morning flower market on the Kouter). The Irish owners (yes, everything is english spoken here) made a lot of effort recently to make this place better and better, including the newly opened restaurant on the first floor where breakfast was served, and renovating the next house into another wing of this little but expanding hotel. We only used the hotel for the highly needed sleep after visiting the city of Gent, it's not the place with a big lobby to hang around during the day, unless you like the adjacent Irish pub of course. Must say, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful ; it was a true pleasure to deal with them, and every question was answered with a big smile, and never a wait or a 'no' ! Although we all live only about half an hour away, Hotel Onderbergen did give us that pleasant feeling we were 'on a big excursion' for our city trip with the whole family. Our kids stayed together in a very spacious room with eight beds and a big TV, and they loved it. Everything was very clean, very new, and very nicely decorated with vivid colours. Thank you, we enjoyed our short stay very much.
Some rooms were tiny, others are big, it's worth it to tell them exactly what you expect, not one room is alike ; I did even see one with a marvelous old fashioned bad tub on one of the top floors, for a romantic stay...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Stayed in room 3, superior double on the ground floor. Huge super king size bed, lovely modern bathroom, high ceilings, huge windows and a short walk from the centre. There was no parking available but it is very close to a secure underground multi-story carpark. Lovely nights stay in a very pretty city.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iclickhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The hotel is situated in an old classic building in a quiet street in Ghent. Although we had a standard room it was still very spacious with a separate bathroom. The rooms we recently renovated and were very clean with all luxury you'd expect from a good hotel. Breakfast was standard OK.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frederik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This is a good hotel with really nice staff.

Its location is good: in the middle of the city with all main sights within walking distance, but in quiet surroundings. The hotel is nicely styled with very colorful rooms and hallways. It looks like it has been recently renovated.

The room was clean with a large bathroom and all amenities needed. The room itself was not very big, but it looked nice. One small issue was that our bathroom wasn't supplied with toilet paper and the trash bin hadn't been emptied, but this was quickly sorted out by the staff. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They answered our prior enquiries that we sent them by e-mail quickly and were very kind upon our arrival.

The hotel has an arrangement with the attached Irish Pub Patrick Foley's where you can have breakfast for about 10 euro and also enjoy other meals or drinks in the courtyard which is a nice place to sit on a sunny afternoon.

The hotel advertises with a private parking lot but beware that there is room for only 3 cars there, so make sure to have a confirmed reservation well ahead of time if you are coming by car. In any case there are public guarded underground car parks nearby that are relatively cheap, in case you are not able to park your car at the hotel.

In short, this hotel is recommended because it is clean, friendly, and nicely styled and finds itself in an excellent location. I would go here again or recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank due_passi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We only booked here because the hotel the rest of our party was staying in was full .... phew. Steps from the city centre, down a quiet semi pedestrianised street (not an alley), huge very comfortable bed, big bathroom with great power shower and a bath you could get lost in, UK TV channels and radio, lovely helpful reception staff, secure safe parking, very reasonably priced mini bar (never seen a glass bottle of coke or a beer in a mini bar for 2 euros). Spotlessly clean hotel, everywhere. The only downside was that we only stayed for 1 night, shame. We will stay longer next time. (much better than the large chain the rest of our party was staying in by all accounts, hehe)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madrileno_Joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onderbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onderbergen

Address: Onderbergen 69, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range: £73 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Onderbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Onderbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing