We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great accommodation with excellent beds”
Review of Hotel Onderbergen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Onderbergen
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Palmerston North
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great accommodation with excellent beds”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This hotel is in a very central location within a short walk to most of Ghents top attractions, the beds are amazing & more comfortable than my own at home !. Had breakfast the next morning at Foleys Irish pub which was delish !!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MountNod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    146
    44
    7
    8
See reviews for
79
116
14
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I was in Gent for Geenste Feest and as it is extremely busy during this time, I thought I would find it hard to get last minute accommodation but luckily I got a room here for 85 euro per night. I booked on Saturday for Sunday so I was lucky there was still accommodation available. The hotel was booked out for Monday night though as I got two 'wake up calls' the first at 11am knocking on the door to tell me that they really needed the room, the second was at 12. Geenste Feest finishes at 8am so hence my delayed reaction to the wake-up calls ;o) I was very happy with my room and the facilities. They didn't have an issue with my late arrival and check in at 10pm (caused by train delays) It is in a good location as it's slightly off the beaten track so no noise from Gentse Feest but it's still close enough to the centre of all the action to be easy walking distance. I also got 3 vouchers for free drinks in the bar even though I was only one person staying for one night, which I wasn't expecting. The 3 glasses of Leffe that I and my friends got using these didn't taste that great though (draught). Overall I'd recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again. Also I wish I had noticed that there was an air conditioning unit on the ground in the room as with 31 deg C outside I would have had a much more pleasant sleep and could have closed the window if I'd noticed it!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gracebabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed just for one night, normal sized room, very big bathroom, but no shelf space apart from the window ledge.
Friendly, helpful girl at reception.
Free Internet, only parking for three cars in the hotel, we parked at a nearby park house - €14 -
Had a nice dinner at the Irish Pub which belongs to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karin-Felixstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A lovely couple of nights in Ghent staying in a proper family room with single beds for the kids. As noted by other reviewers, the service was first class. Kristina was very welcoming and helpful (including with the arrangements prior to arrival). Our room was bright and clean, and appears to have been recently refurbished. Breakfast was fine although a little expensive and not included in the price of the room. There was a nice selection of food to choose from; the Irish fry-up was very satisfying after sampling the local beers the night before!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Charming and pleaseant hotel. Beautifull and cean rooms. The girl from the recepcion was very frrienly. We really enjoy our stay.Very nice and helpfull staff. Nice, confortable and very clean rooms. We stay in the family room, and the bathroom was very big, clean and beautifull. The breakfeast is a litle bit expensive, but good, serve in a irish pub, very tradicional. It as a small gardénia índice of the hotel. We enjoy very much of the hotel. The girl from the recepcion is very kinde. Good restaurants, very quer and safe city. In Gante centrum, The Graislei restaurant is very good and te owner was excepcional.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuraida S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seville
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2013

The staff was very kind and friendly. You can park inside the hotel for 10 euros a day. Baths are big, with an excellent shower.

On the other hand, there's no elevator, it can be a problem if you travel with a big baggage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank eduardo r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

I loved finding this Irish B&B in the middle of Gent. We ended up with the luxury suite because they were booked...but even that was a reasonable price. Large, well-appointed, clean rooms. Breakfast is served in the pub, but it is not included in the price of the B&B, which is unusual. Try the full Irish Breakfast...it's unique! The proprietors speak English and most are from Ireland.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shannonr273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
1.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 37 in Ghent
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Gent Centrum
0.3 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 37 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Onderbergen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Onderbergen

Property: Hotel Onderbergen
Address: Onderbergen 69, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Onderbergen 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Onderbergen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing