We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”
Review of Place 2 Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place 2 Stay
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Nicely located, and set in a newly renovated (?) building, We had everything we needed for a few days in Ghent. The kitchen area was well equipped and the studio apartment itself was spacious and furnished with good quality items. Alice the owner is very helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rawtalent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We hadn't stayed in an apartment before but this worked out very well. The building is old but has been newly converted to modern apartments. We stayed on the ground floor, actually semi basement but the location was very quiet at night so not a problem, it was a Monday so may be noiser at the weekend. Everything was shiny and new, the little kitchen area was equipped with all you needed and you had a sofa and TV, some bedside tables would have been nice. There is a very large underground car park a couple of minutes away which cost about £10 for 24 hours. The owner was very helpful with suggestions of good places to eat. Ghent is a really lovely city with lots of different things to see and do and excellent places to eat and shopping. We would love to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Excellent place - this is the first time we have stopped in an apartment on a city break but it was excellent.The penthouse apartment was luxury - everything new,modern fully fitted kitchen ,leather sofas,flat screen tv ,large bathroom,separate toilet double bedroom area,rooftop terrace decking area ,I could go on The kitchen has ample supplies of tea,coffee,sugar etc Would recommend the place to anyone ,five minutes walk from the main square and restaurants about 3 mins walk away Alice the owner is full of information and is always on hand if you need her but doesnt intrude we only stayed 2 nights but wished we had stayed longer
we were there during the annual Ghent Feste a large music fetival wih a wide range of music tastes and 100's of bars in the street but we never saw any problems . only downside was the temporary structures did hide some of the architectural points of the old buildings

Room Tip: book the penthouse apartment if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

My husband and I stayed at Place 2 Stay during our trip to Ghent earlier this month. It was wonderful. The building is new, and the apartment has a fresh, new feeling. We stayed in the penthouse for a very reasonable price and really enjoyed all of the extra space. It is up 3 flights of stairs, so keep that in mind if stairs are difficult for you to use.

The apartment had a brand new flat-screen TV and a kitchen with modern amenities. It was on a quiet residential street, so we slept very well. Most importantly, it was a close walk to the main area of Ghent and right down the street from the Vrijdagmarkt, which was full of restaurants. We really loved this.

Room Tip: The Penthouse was reasonably priced and very larg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmilyKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Raf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Betere hoofdkussens, maar dat is overal een probleem, overal veel te zacht.
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bram L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maaiked327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 39 in Ghent
1,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 39 in Ghent
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 39 in Ghent
1,025 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place 2 Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place 2 Stay

Address: Penitentenstraat 33, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place 2 Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place 2 Stay offers luxury studio's, a penthouse suite with terrace and a two-bedroom apartment for rent on short & mid-long term in the historical city center of Ghent, only 200 meters from Vrijdagsmark. The Korenmarkt and St-Braafs Square featuring the Belfort are a 5-minute walk from Place 2 stay. Alijn House Museum is 400 meters away.All accommodation is fully furnished and equipped with all modern comfort.Our studios (32-34m²) have a double bed ; dining corner & kitchen with microwave, grill fridge & freezer as well as tea and coffee making facilities; a lounge area with flat screen tv & wifi internet access; Personal bathroom with shower and a heated towel rail. There is individual central heating and videophone.On the highest, third floor there is the penthouse apartment (72m²)for 2 persons. The penthouse has a private terrace (28m²), nice to enjoy the sun on spring and summer days. The penthouse has a dining table, a seating area with a digital flatscreen-tv and free WiFi (internet hotspot). There is an open kitchen with oven, microwave, grill, fridge & freezer and dish washing machine. The bathroom has a double lavabo and bath tube. There is a separate toilet.The two-bedroom apartment (115m²)for max 4 persons has a seating area with a digital flatscreen-tv, a working area (desk) with free WiFi (internet hotspot); a dining table. There is an open kitchen with microwave, grill, fridge & freezer and dish washing machine. The bathroom has a double lavabo and bath tube. There is a separate toilet.There is a separate storage place with wash machine and dryer, iron; available for long stays or on request.There is always possibility to add an additional bed for an extra person. Extra costs apply.Baby cot available on request, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Place 2 Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing