We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Property”
Review of Place 2 Stay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Place 2 Stay
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Was initially unsure about staying at a place that I had not heard of before (I typically stay in larger chain hotels) and was extremely pleased! The space was enormous, the room was nicely appointed, and I had no complaints. Overall, a wonderful experience.

The only downside is that credit cards are not accepted - which is difficult for a business traveler.

Room Tip: The penthouse was definitely worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JacksonvilleItalian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (115)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our first experience of Ghent was over three glorious spring sunshine days in March based in one of the first floor apartments. The place was spotless in both the public area and apartment itself.
Large comfy bed and sofa and really everything needed for a short stay at hand. It was so convenient that we ended up walking to most places of interest which were between 10-15 mins away. Closer still were a couple of good brasseries and daytime buzz of the nearby Fridaymarket square.
One thing that might be helpful though is clearer translations on the use of the electrical kitchen equiptment, which we got around by downloading the manuals in English curtsey of the free wi fi - et voila!
We had a woderful stay.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a greater sense of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Doug B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have just returned from a short break in Ghent. We booked 2 apartments, a studio and the penthouse. Both were spacious and spotlessly clean. We had driven from the uk and were able to stop right outside the apartments to drop off our luggage and then left the car in an underground just around the corner. The studio was equipped with a large fridge, microwave, hot plate and kettle. The penthouse also had a full oven. Access to the penthouse was up serval very steep flights of stairs (not for the unfit!) but was worth the effort to gain a large sitting area, table and chairs and also a roof terrace, which was great for watching the New Years Eve fireworks over the rooftops. The location was perfect for exploring Ghent, just a 5 minute walk from the centre and there were a couple of restaurants even closer (be prepared that lots are closed on New Year's Eve if visiting at this time of year). Only slight criticism was that the shower in the studio tended to flood the floor. Would definitely use this accommodation again. Would work really well for 2 couples who want their own space but also enough room to get together.

Room Tip: Penthouse with the roof terrace was lovely. Would be great in the summer for a glass of wine in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This unit was very enjoyable, spacious, very clean, quiet and top quality was evident throughout. It offers a full kitchen equipped with all essentials, fridge, microwave, there is 1-1/2 baths, a bright sunny living room, king bed and your own private roof deck. Location is 1 block to a beautiful city square and 3-4 blocks to all the shopping you need, plus 10-15 minutes from all the major sights in Ghent, a beautiful City to walk around in. Secure municipal parking 1 block away @ 10e / day
This penthouse helped make our stay memorable.

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other rooms, but if anything like ours, they would all be very clean and well...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denis-in-sudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

This property is located in the middle of Gent's tourist centre. It is easy to park in the Vrijdagmarkt garage. It is at walking distance from all the hot spots. It is clean, well equiped, quiet and big. There is wifi in the room. We had the penthouse apartment with big terrace complete with chairs and table. We stayed in Gent several times already and this is the best place to stay.

Room Tip: We like the penthouse apartment with your own rooftop terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy5611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in March. The apartment had everything we needed and was in a great location. Was lovely to have wifi and the TV (we were there during 6 nations so was perfect to catch up on the rugby scores). We were on the ground floor, no real issues with noise, I just found it a little disconcerting seeing pairs of legs walking by the window but my boyfriend didnt even notice this! The only issue we had was actually finding the place!!! We should have got a street map but didnt and ended up walking around the streets for a good hour, asking people if they knew they street and nobody seemed to. In the end I asked a bin man who got a map out, found the street, got us in the bin van and drove us there!!!

Room Tip: If you can ask to be on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmyW11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Would definitely return here when back in Ghent. Fabulous location, everything on your doorstep. Well equipped kitchen, condiments, teas/coffees and a supermarket nearby. Excellent friendly owner who was very accomodating for an early arrival. Comfortable bed, variety of channels and no noise issues at all. Great rate for the standard of facilities, location and service. A great stay, thanks Nele.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poodle007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.4 mi away
Ghent Marriott Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Harmony
Hotel Harmony
#2 of 38 in Ghent
1,035 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Ghent River Hotel
Ghent River Hotel
#11 of 38 in Ghent
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
0.4 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Place 2 Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Place 2 Stay

Address: Penitentenstraat 33, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Ghent
Price Range: £68 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Place 2 Stay 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Place 2 Stay offers luxury studio's, a penthouse suite with terrace and a two-bedroom apartment for rent on short & mid-long term in the historical city center of Ghent, only 200 meters from Vrijdagsmark. The Korenmarkt and St-Braafs Square featuring the Belfort are a 5-minute walk from Place 2 stay. Alijn House Museum is 400 meters away.All accommodation is fully furnished and equipped with all modern comfort.Our studios (32-34m²) have a double bed ; dining corner & kitchen with microwave, grill fridge & freezer as well as tea and coffee making facilities; a lounge area with flat screen tv & wifi internet access; Personal bathroom with shower and a heated towel rail. There is individual central heating and videophone.On the highest, third floor there is the penthouse apartment (72m²)for 2 persons. The penthouse has a private terrace (28m²), nice to enjoy the sun on spring and summer days. The penthouse has a dining table, a seating area with a digital flatscreen-tv and free WiFi (internet hotspot). There is an open kitchen with oven, microwave, grill, fridge & freezer and dish washing machine. The bathroom has a double lavabo and bath tube. There is a separate toilet.The two-bedroom apartment (115m²)for max 4 persons has a seating area with a digital flatscreen-tv, a working area (desk) with free WiFi (internet hotspot); a dining table. There is an open kitchen with microwave, grill, fridge & freezer and dish washing machine. The bathroom has a double lavabo and bath tube. There is a separate toilet.There is a separate storage place with wash machine and dryer, iron; available for long stays or on request.There is always possibility to add an additional bed for an extra person. Extra costs apply.Baby cot available on request, and free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Place 2 Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing