We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you can not trust them”
Review of Garden in the City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden in the City
Ranked #11 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 June 2012

I book one month in advance this b&b and they confirmed the reservation, three days before arrival i wrote them an email confirming the arrival time and they reply ok. the day of arrival they called me at 10 am and said that I haven't room because they made a mistake, they thought it was for July instead of June, despite having written several mail confirmed the date. I was travelling with my wife and our one year old daughter and they ruined our holidays.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
9  Thank llaranes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here in the garden room for 4 nights in May during our trip to Europe.

The location was very nice and quiet. Only a 15 minute walk or so to all the attractions in downtown Gent, but far enough away at night so you can sleep without hearing anyone. Also, it is right on the bus line so if you don't want to walk you can hop on the bus. I believe they are free as well on Friday/Saturday nights after 11:30pm.

The breakfast was always generous, we were full every time, and Kurt was a very nice host. If we go back to Belgium we will definitely say here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We booked this B&B a month before we arrived along with a 10% deposit. We confirmed our booking 2.5 weeks before our arrival. The day of our arrival, we found out our reservation was canceled from Kurt.

Kurt could not do anything about the situation, we were left stranded and eventually found a solution of our own after hours of frustration along with a hefty price.

This is a review of this property in their customer service, their incompetence of handling their customer's reservations. Although I did not experience the actual property, I wish I did with all these positive reviews. I experienced the incompetency of the owners. Which has a direct relation to the property.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
11  Thank Frank L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights while on business in Ghent in November 2011. The accommodation consists of two rooms- one in a self contained unit at the bottom of the garden the other upstairs. Breakfast is provided at a time of your convenience (even very early in the morning ! ) and is both substantial and beautifully presented. The rooms are spacious, clean and the overall atmosphere and ambience is one of rest and relaxation. Congratulations to Laurent for such a wonderful place. I will be back again.

Room Tip: For a group of four book the whole place !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M_Galway_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Have just returned from three nights at The Garden in the City.

There are two rooms available, the quiet Garden Room, situated at the end of the garden and the larger Loft Room, situated (you guessed it) upstairs.

The house is very clean and cosy and within walking distance from the central station (about 10-15 minutes) and the centre of Gent (about 800 metres).

The hosts are very warm and welcoming and breakfast is fresh and served at a time that suits you. On their website you can choose additional breakfast requests such as English or Belgian breakfasts, though we stuck with the continental version, which was ample enough. There is a small supermarket next door which is convenient.

The rooms have air-con/heating and TV with International channels.

There are a few bars/pubs/cafes within walking distance that serve a host of Belgian and international beers, for restaurants its best to head towards the centre.

The hosts Kurt and Laurent have some good recommendations and are always available and helpful.

Would definately stay again if we were to return to Gent!

Room Tip: The Loft Room has its own small kitchen and terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escape23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I stayed several times at "Garden in the city" for a couple of days and I was always very well welcomed, the house is cosy and very very clean, the owners are very friendly and helpfull and great cooks!

I stayed at the roof studio where you have a huge terrace, and a well equiped kitchen so I could cook when I wanted too I really felt home! And for the winter there is central heating that you can arange at your best convenience, cosy and warm!

This B&B is very well situated near the city center, the cinema and the university, parking available around the street or at the St Pietersplein for 2,50euro's/24hours.

I warmly recommend this place for anyone staying in Gent,

Nathalie H.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

I've been there few days ago and the place is fantastic!! it looks like a dream. wonderful place, quite, nice and clean room, excellent breakfast. Please, let me tell you the owner is a wonderful guy. Very nice, smart, friendly. this trip has been a dream that has come true. Thank you so much. i truly reccomd this b&b to all the people that really want to make a fantasric stay in belgium. EXCELLENT!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREA T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Chamade
1.5 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
1.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#1 of 38 in Ghent
597 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#7 of 38 in Ghent
310 reviews
1.4 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#6 of 38 in Ghent
2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden in the City

Address: Zwijnaardsesteenweg 66, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: £75 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Garden in the City 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the wonderful historic city of Ghent, we are situated in the Art's quarters and short walking distance to the city center. We offer 3 rooms. Garden Room: The room is situated at the end of the quiet city garden; the room has Air-co, satellite TV, private terrace, Wi-Fi Internet (free of charge) modern bathroom with big shower and toilet, micro wave and mini fridge. Loft Studio: is situated on the second and last floor, this large fully equipped studio (45 m²) has its own private sun terrace (22 m²), bathroom with shower (height 1m90) and toilet, fully equipped kitchen, seating area flat screen HD satellite TV and free WIFI internet. And our 3th room is the large city app'art with fully equipped kitchen, separate bathroom, toilet, living room with dinning area, and bedroom. All our rooms have double beds 1m60 x 200 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing