We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place away from the bustle”
Review of Garden in the City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Garden in the City
Ranked #11 of 116 Ghent B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in the "Loft" apartment whilst visiting Ghent over the festival period. Kurt was very helpful during our stay, providing advice on local transport and the like. The apartment itself is spacious and has a lovely roof terrace, although as expected being a loft space it did get a bit warm during the recent heatwave so prepare appropriately! The apartment is around 25-30 minutes walk from the historic centre (or a short tram or bus ride), close to the train station and the student area of town. It's not the prettiest of areas, but is perfectly safe (we can attest to that having stumbled back from the festival at 3am). Parking is cheap on street in local roads, which makes it ideal if you are driving compared to pricier hotels near the centre.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Nice apartment and fab breakfast (really fab) - close to art museum and walk to station. Bit of a walk to town but not that far. Couple who run this place are friendly and helpful. I oiked the fact that this was in the student area. Supermarket next door as you can cook in the apartment.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CCCCDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a nice, clean, well-equipped apartment in a good location, and should have been perfect. Unfortunately, our experience was similar to that of a couple of other reviewers here - when things go wrong, the owners cannot be relied upon to be reasonable. On our arrival, one of the owners informed us there would be no water on the morning of our departure. I very politely asked for a discount if this happened - after all, you don't pay for a place to stay and then find you can't easily use the bathroom, shower, or kitchen in the morning! He became very upset by my request, and took it as a personal insult to his hospitality, rather than the business transaction it was. At one point he attempted to shut the door in my face. He and his husband then both suggested we leave because they didn't want their saturday night spoiled. The daft thing is that they did eventually agree to knock a perfectly reasonably 50% off the night's stay - the issue seemed to be that we'd asked on arrival rather than just wait for them to offer on the morning of our departure. They were so unpleasant initially that it really soured our stay in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

You would never know it from the outside, but this place is very modern and expansive with a studio room on the top floor and a summer house/detached garden room available for rent. We stayed in the garden room, which was spotless, very well apportioned and modern in style - and very quiet...we had a great night's sleep after a long journey to get to Ghent.

The owners were very welcoming and friendly, even after we arrived late due to miscalculating the time it would take to get there and find somehwere to park!

Breakfast was very high quality in the well equipped and very stylish kitchen! Lots of choice and good quality ingredients. Would certainly look to stay here again (indeed would have stayed longer if it wasn't fully booked).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Just moved in for a 4 night stay in Ghent. The place is spotless, the owners , who live on site are wonderful. The apartment is close to everything , supermarket next door and buses to anywhere run at frequent intervals . love the decor and comfort. Couldn't not ask for more . thanks Guys.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melbourne-girls-shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed at Garden in the City in Oct 2013. The B&B was an easy walk from the station, although as other people have pointed out, you need to keep your eyes open as from the front it doesn't look like much! The B&B is essentially a townhouse. We stayed in the Loft Room - a large room with a terrace, kitchenette and en suite. We were only in town for one night so didn't get to use the kitchenette so I can't really comment on the facilities! The en suite was adequate although as others have mentioned, the toilet is very high! There were also no toiletries (including soap) provided so you'll need to bring your own. Despite being on the main road, we slept very well as the room is well insulated so there's no traffic noise. Breakfast was provided by Kurt in the main part of the house downstairs and was very nice. The B&B is not in the centre of town so don't let this be a surprise to you! However, we found that it was easy to get the number 5 bus to the centre, and even if you want to walk, it's not too far. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel_in_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Beautifully decorated house. he apartmant are new, well equipped and clean. The bed was comfortable. Wi-Fi for free. Boys very friendly and helpful. Breakfasts very good and tasty. Shop next door. Value for money. Highly recommend staying here. Great weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonjaCroatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ghent hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
1.4 mi away
Ganda Rooms & Suites
Ganda Rooms & Suites
#1 of 116 in Ghent
144 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hancelot
Hancelot
#2 of 116 in Ghent
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
DoOr10 B&B
DoOr10 B&B
#4 of 116 in Ghent
85 reviews
1.7 mi away
Snooz Inn
Snooz Inn
#3 of 116 in Ghent
166 reviews
1.5 mi away
De Waterzooi
De Waterzooi
#5 of 116 in Ghent
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden in the City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden in the City

Address: Zwijnaardsesteenweg 66, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Ghent
Price Range: £75 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Garden in the City 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit the wonderful historic city of Ghent, we are situated in the Art's quarters and short walking distance to the city center. We offer 3 rooms. Garden Room: The room is situated at the end of the quiet city garden; the room has Air-co, satellite TV, private terrace, Wi-Fi Internet (free of charge) modern bathroom with big shower and toilet, micro wave and mini fridge. Loft Studio: is situated on the second and last floor, this large fully equipped studio (45 m²) has its own private sun terrace (22 m²), bathroom with shower (height 1m90) and toilet, fully equipped kitchen, seating area flat screen HD satellite TV and free WIFI internet. And our 3th room is the large city app'art with fully equipped kitchen, separate bathroom, toilet, living room with dinning area, and bedroom. All our rooms have double beds 1m60 x 200 ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing